College of William and Mary--History--20th century
Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings
Found in 3 Collections and/or Records:
Mills E. Godwin, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G54
Scope and Contents
The personal papers of Mills E. Godwin, Jr., dating from 1947 to 1978, consist of 24 boxes of correspondence, 1,100 copies of speeches, schedules and appointments. Also included are 40 scrapbooks of news clippings and photographs, 159 citations and plaques, and one box of audiovisual materials, all of which pertain largely to Godwin's personal involvement in the government, political life, activities, organizations and institutions of Virginia during the 30-year period. The majority of the...
Dates:
1712-1989; Majority of material found in 1947-1989
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard Lee Morton Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents
Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...
Dates:
1756-2006; Majority of material found in 1930-1969
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Garland Pollard Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 70 P76
Scope and Contents
Letters, clippings, manuscript volumes, business papers, pamphlets, genealogical material, family papers, reports, memos, campaign literature, photographs of John G. Pollard (1871-1937), lawyer, educator, statesman, humanitarian, and governor of Virginia, 1930-1934. Prominent correspondents include Henry Watkins Anderson, Lady Astor, Frederic W. Boatwright, David K. E. Bruce, John Stewart Bryan, William Jennings Bryan, Harry F. Byrd, James Cannon, J. A. C. Chandler, Calvin Coolidge,...
Dates:
1683-1968; Majority of material found in 1856-1937
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center