Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Letters (correspondence)

 Subject
Subject Source: Art & Architecture Thesaurus

Found in 208 Collections and/or Records:

Craig Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00292
Scope and Contents Collection consists mostly of letters from Albert Clifton Craig, while a private during the Civil War in the 2nd Illinois Light Artillery, to his parents, Robert and Sarah Craig in Canton, Illinois. The company is composed of men from the area of Canton and Peoria, Illinois, including Albert’s uncle, William J. Gardner.  Albert is a postilion and takes care of the horses. The company travels from Peoria, Illinois through Missouri to Pea Ridge, Arkansas where Albert is injured in battle....

Daisy Crisler Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00931
Scope and Contents This collection consists of letters written to and received by Daisy Crisler of Canton, Georgia for the years 1904 and 1914. The letters were written for the most part during ship voyages to Europe. Letters addressed to Daisy Crisler in 1904 were sent by her friend 'Fannie.' Daisy's letters from 1914 describe her own travel experience in great detail. One of the letters is written in a different handwriting and mailed from Georgia. Most letters are written on letterhead of ships and...

George A. Cunningham Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00245
Scope and Contents Marriage announcement between George A. Cunningham of Alabama and Emma Branch of Virginia at the Washington St. M.E. Church in [Petersburg, Virginia].  Undated.  Membership certificate for George A. Cunningham in the Virginia State Agricultural Society.  October 22, 1875. Two incomplete notary drafts for George A. Cunningham and Emily Cunningham concerning a corporation in Georgia and Virginia, dated 1889. Letter to Emma Cunningham in Richmond, Virginia from her husband, George A. Cunningham,...

Harold R. Cunningham Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.408
Scope and Contents Letters, 1943-1946, of Harold R. Cunningham, a Navy chaplain from California.  Includes letters written while at the Chaplain's School at the College of William & Mary and while on subsequent duty assignments in Wales, at the Sampson Naval Training Center in New York and aboard the USS Arkansas.  Most of the letters are addressed to his mother in California.  All others are addressed to  his wife.

Robert L. Curtin Scrapbook, 1941-1949

 Collection — Box 1, Bound Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.023
Scope and Contents Scrapbook of Robert L. Curtin, covering the years 1941-1949, including his years served in the U.S. Navy, 1943-1945. Included are letters of both private and military nature, photographs, newspaper clippings, military orders, wedding announcements, telegrams, invitations, and currency. Places mentioned in the scrapbook are Connecticut; Massachusetts; Camp Peary, Williamsburg, Virginia; California; and the Philippines.

Daingerfield Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00246
Scope and Contents Transcript of an obituary written for Allen Daingerfield by Washington Parke Custis, published in the Alexandria Gazette in 1821.  Allen Daingerfield was born in 1770 in Spotsylvania County, Virginia and died 1821 in Prince George County, Maryland. Letters from Leroy Parker Daingerfield and William Parker Daingerfield to their parents, brother Richard and sisters, Juliet and Sarah, in Bath County, Virginia.  An 1850 letter was written in Harper’s Ferry, Virginia about visiting...

Dale Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01137
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters, 1915-1916, primarily from Carson Dale to his sister, Carrie Dale, detailing his time serving in the English Army during World War I. Additional letters were sent to Carrie  from Britsh soldiers who served with Carson detailing his well-being and his death. Other materials include military records and published sources relating to the service of both Carson J. Dale and his brother Jarvis Dale (1888-1952), who served with the 1st Mississippi Infantry.  Among them...

Agnes Dawson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00795
Scope and Contents Letters written by Agnes Balloch Dawson from the American Embassy in Montevideo, Uruguay to her father and 'Omie' (mother?) from 1941-1946.  Agnes Balloch talks in detail about her and her husband William Dawson Jr.'s (1885-1972) life in Uruguay, describing their social and professional interactions, and commenting on politics and events. Some of the people she met and mentions in her letters are Walt Disney, Aaron Copland and Orson Wells. For a more detailed...

Henry Alexander Scammel Dearborn Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00978
Scope and Contents March 23, 1822 letter from J.B. Davis of Boston to H.A. S. Dearborn, October 10, 1850 letter from H.A.S. Dearborn to Hon. David A. Linman of Massachusetts, undated letter from John L. Kerr to General Dearborn and an undated invitation written by someone else from General [Richard] Mason to General Dearborn.

Topics are legal matters and personal matters.

Yvonne E. DeJean Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01185
Scope and Contents Letters including V-mail, 1943-1946, written to Yvonne E. DeJean of Opelousa, Louisiana from Joseph D. Prince (boyfriend) and other soldiers. Other writers are Joseph Minix, Sgt. B.J. Lewis, Pfc. Frank Brown, Raymond Stout, Harry Tyler, Killroy Car and Eddis Tyler. Most letters are personal with some mention of the war, their surroundings, and training/duties.