Diary, 1794-1795, of Andrew Robinson Giddinge, a farmer from Beach Hill, Massachusetts. Concerns his planting of crops, including tobacco; his extensive lumber operations; his raising, purchase, and sale of cattle and sheep; his construction of his own house; and his attention to local religious observances. There is also information about sermons to which he listened, court sessions he attended, and places to which he travels.

Diary, 1880-1882, of an unidentified farmer in Gloucester County, Va. It includes weather data and writings concerning religion.

Diary, 1946-1950, of Madge Goodrich, an author and librarian at St. Catherine's School in Richmond, Virginia. Includes information about her daily life, her work at St. Catherine's School, and the books that she wrote. Also includes information on attending a library seminar for 9 weeks during the summer at the College of William & Mary.

Includes manuscripts of poetry written by Julia Selden Grandy who lived in Norfolk, Va. and Baltimore, Md. as well as short stories by Grandy; translations by Grandy of French poetry written by Stephen Mallarme (1842-1898); diaries kept while in school in New York and on trips to Paris and London; published books by Grandy; and scrapbooks.  Includes a biography, poem and her obituary.

Diary, 1868, of Andrew Graves, a Civil War veteran from Walpole, New Hampshire. Entries describe Native Americans hunting deer, buildings burning down in Winona, town meetings, making cider, working in a field, and other aspects of daily life. At the beginning of the diary, there is a printed calendar that includes major events from the Civil War.

Account, 1837, by Robert Greenhow, Jr., of a journey from Washington, D.C. to Mexico City, Mexico.

Diary (25 pages), 1862 June 2-25, of Robert Gaines Haile, kept while he was serving in the 55th Virginia Regiment, Confederate Army, during the Seven Days Battle near Richmond, Virginia. Mentions the death of William Latane.

Papers pertaining to the Hamilton Family of Norge, James City County, Virginia and related families. Among the formats included are diaries, scrapbooks,  correspondence, Norge High School records, church records, photographs, slides, CD-Roms, certificates, financial records, a Langley Air Force base photo album, and news clippings and ephemera. Mss. Acc. 2009.139 and 2011.520.

Diary, 1890-1897, of Katherine Hamilton of Shreveport, Louisiana. The first part of the diary details a trip that Hamilton took to Europe aboard the steamship Scythia, from June 1890 to September 1890. The next part of her diary details a trip that Hamilton took to New Orleans in December 1892. The rest of the diary includes very brief entries about particular days, including when she visited Chicago for the World's Fair in 1893.

Source material collected and compiled by Herbert H. Vreeland relating to the activities of the French in the American Revolution. Includes typescript copies (and translations) of diaries of French officers, material on pertinent collections in various libraries, maps, and notes on Revolutionary War campaigns. Consists of 84 volumes and 19 boxes of material. Typed inventory and processing notes are in box 1.

Diary, 1862, of M.L. Higgins of Connecticut. She was born on 11 March 1813 and her occupation seems to include teaching women how to make bouquets and wreathes out of hair. Entries relate to her daily activities, which primarily concern her daughter Alice and Alice's husband Frederick. Also includes stories about injured and dead soldiers coming back from the Civil War.

Diary, 1855-1862, of a child in Norfolk, Va. (apparently dictated to or copied over by her mother) and of her mother. Concerns trips to North Carolina and New York City and to springs in Virginia and records the family's move to a plantation near Richmond, Texas. Includes reports of friends dying in Norfolk during the yellow fever epidemic of 1855 and records the mothers ill health (possibly tuberculosis).

Papers, 1795-1835, of the Holland family of Nansemond County, Va. and Jasper County, Ga. Includes a manuscript volume, ca. 1795-1800, used by George Washington Holland for arithmetic exercises; diary, 1832- 1835, kept by William S. Holland to record farming activities, descriptions of Fourth of July celebrations, a meeting concerning states' rights, and the sighting of a comet. Also includes genealogical information of the Holland family.