Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.)

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 22 Collections and/or Records:

James Taylor Drawing of the Wren Building and Yorktown

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00437
Scope and Contents This collection consists of a two-sided drawing of the rear view of the Sir Christopher Wren Building at the College of William and Mary on one side and a drawing of the fortifications at Yorktown on the other.

Jas. F. Murray Color Sketch of Wren Building

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00448
Content Description Color sketch west side of the Wren building of the College of William and Mary, signed by Jas. Murray, copyright and undated. In the forefront of the sketch is a cannon and the statue of Lord Botetourt.

David A. Keeling Print of Wren Building

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01617
Scope and Contents One color print of the Wren Building at the College of William and Mary created by David A. Keeling. The print was published and made available from University Artworks, Lexington, Va, signed by the artist, and numbered 318.

Thomas Millington Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00306
Scope and Contents Twelve pieces of oversized artwork, including originals and reproduction copies, by Thomas C. Millington, son of John Millington, William & Mary professor of Chemistry and Natural Philosophy. This collection is divided into two series. Series 1 compiles lithographic prints (one original and seven reproductions) of the "Millington print," a lithograph based off of Millington's illustrations of William & Mary's Historic Campus. Series 2 compiles drawings and watercolor...

Charles H. Overly prints of Colonial Williamsburg and the Wren Building

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01616
Scope and Contents Collection of four black and white prints created by Charles H. Overly. They are sketches of various buildings in Colonial Williamsburg. They include the Governor's Palace, the Capital, Bruton Parish Church and the Wren Building which is part of the campus of the College of William and Mary.

Pictures of the Present Booklet

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00394
Scope and Contents This collection is a booklet of anti-Union cartoons drawn by an indentified "quodam Virginian". The drawings include the following titles: The Flight from Harrisburg, Lincoln at Dinner meditating on the division of the spoils, Gen Winfield shooting off the big guns of the government with the recent inaugural for a porte-fire, "The Virginia Dare -(not)" Ship of the line, and "Last scene of all that ends this strange Pictorial History. Virginia's degradation". A schematic on the back of the...

President Gene Nichol Caricatures

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01310
Content Description Collection of five cartoons of Gene Nichol, President of William and Mary, drawn by Gary Brookins for the Richmond Times Dispatch between 2006 and 2008. The caricatures were drawn as part of the negative response to Nichol’s decision to remove the cross from permanent display in the Wren Chapel. This action evoked criticism from alumni, students, and donors, causing one to revoke a 12 million dollar pledge. Nichol’s controversy continued and he eventually resigned as president in 2008. Two...

Office of the President. Thomas A. Graves, Jr. Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/UA 2.16
Scope and Contents The collection includes subject files, speeches, and other material from the administration of College of William and Mary President Thomas Ashley Graves with some overlap with his predecessor Davis Y. Paschall and his successor Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.

In addition, there are two unprocessed boxes. Consult a staff member for assistance.

Scrapbook of Campus Life

 Collection
Identifier: UA 78
Scope and Contents A soft black leather album with a stylized "W&M" on the cover containing pictures of William and Mary students, faculty, buildings, and events.

S. Louise Seymour Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.051
Scope and Contents Acc. 1983.028: Loose pages of an unbound scrapbook that include newspaper clippings, theater programs and tickets, convocation programs, a ticket to a lecture given at Phi Beta Kappa Hall by Robert Frost, a handbook of the Women Students' Cooperative Government Association, a registration card for spring 1940 classes, a program from the 1943 inauguration of John E. Pomfret as President of the College, and other materials. Acc. 1994.079: Scrapbook containing news clippings, a...