Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Newspapers

 Subject
Subject Source: Art & Architecture Thesaurus

Found in 44 Collections and/or Records:

Channing M. Hall III Williamsburg, Virginia Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1999.19a and Additions
Scope and Contents The collection includes personal as well as offical papers of Channing M. Hall III of Williamsburg. Hall was a member of the Williamsburg City Council and most of the collection concerns the government of the Williamsburg, Virginia.

Mildred Jackson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2000.67
Scope and Contents Papers of Mildred Jackson of Williamsburg, Virginia. She was a private piano instructor in Williamsburg, a performer with the William and Mary Music Department, and the wife of Dr. Jess Jackson, a professor of English at William and Mary. Includes lesson plans, music books, financial records, correspondence, newspaper articles, photographs, programs, and address books.

James G. Driver 1936 Berlin Olympics Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.044
Scope and Contents Printed ephemera, newspapers, and other publications, related to the 1936 Olympic games in Berlin, Germany, collected by James G. Driver, one of the trainers with the US team. Also included is a photo album, individually assembled with commercially produced photo prints and several postcards. This photo album includes pictures of Olympic village, the torch relay, the opening ceremony, and athletes (including Jesse Owens and Luz Long, among others). Other items included are: a pamphlet...

Jamestown 400th Anniversary Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.23
Scope and Contents Publications, photographs, CD's and ephemera related to the 400th Anniversary celebration of the founding of Jamestown, Virginia:  US News and World Report, January 29 - February 8, 2007, Colonial Williamsburg Magazine (2 copies), a wigglepicture of three ships.

Jefferson H. Clark Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00107
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of Jefferson H. Clark, a Philadelphia, Pennsylvania physician, who was a field surgeon in France during World War I, and of the research papers of his daughter Mary Clark Shade (1928-2009), who was working on a book documenting her father's WWI duty. Jefferson H. Clark's papers include diaries, an officer's record book, correspondence, military orders and records, maps (one of which is labeled 'trench map'), photographs, dictionary, his helmet...

John Tyler, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 78 T97

A. Edwin Kendrew Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01234
Scope and Contents Pamphlets and brochures from Colonial Williamsburg, plus various invitations and programs for Williamsburg area events.

Lee Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children.  An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee.  Mrs....

Lexington Gazette Advertising Index

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV I2 Oversize
Scope and Contents Advertising index, [ca. 1900?] of the [Lexington Gazette, Lexington, Va.]

Maakestad Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01244
Scope and Contents Items related to the history of Norge, Virginia. "The Beginning of Norse Immigration to America" a reading by Mrs. Hilds Hove Dunn of a composition by H.A. Maakestad on October 19, 1975 at Our Saviors Lutheran Church. Daily Press "Your Neighbors" article on Norge, October 24, 1984. Copy of an article on Riverview Plantation. Copy of a paper, "The Norge Virginia Post Colonial Colony." Copy of 1972 translation from Norwegian of pamphlet,...