Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Spanish-American War, 1898

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 14 Collections and/or Records:

Spanish American War Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00382
Content Description Two letters from Fred to his brother Charles from Camp Young in Guahajay, Cuba dated February 5 and 23 1899. Fred was assigned to the 202nd Regiment of the New York Volunteers. He describes his hope that the Cuban fighters will not put up a fight and his hope that he will be able to soon come home.

Spanish War Veterans. Colonel Kuert Command No. 122 Minute Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01022
Scope and Contents Minute book, 1902-1918, of the Colonel Kuert Command No. 122 of the Spanish War Veterns, located in Tiffin, Ohio. Primarily concerns the election of officers, the chapter's celebration of Decoration Day, attendance at state and national encampments, selection of committee members, membership recruitment, member's dismissla, payment of dues, and expenditures on membership ribbons, lapel buttons, and flags for graves, among other items.

Bert Ward Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Tr7
Scope and Contents Diary, 1899, of Bert Ward, an enlisted soldier in the Spanish- American War which concerns his trip from Plattsburg, New York to San Francisco, California and the Philippines. The volume describes skirmishes and the "civilization" of the Filipino people.

John Womack Wright Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.056
Scope and Contents This collection contains 68 buttons, 2 belt buckles, and 2 cockades taken from Spanish prisoners of war or from sunken ships off of Cuba. It also contains a commemorative medal from the World's Columbian Exposition in 1893.