Medicine--History--19th century
Subject
Subject Source: Local sources
Found in 4 Collections and/or Records:
Cabaniss Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C11
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and financial papers of George Cabaniss, Dr. John Cabaniss, and James Cabaniss. They were the children of George and Sarah Jennings Cabaniss of Amelia County, Virginia. James Cabaniss lived in Williamsburg, Virginia and was the Clerk of Court for James City County, Virginia in 1831. He also was a merchant in Richmond until 1831. Dr. John Cabaniss was a medical doctor who practiced in Dinwiddie County, Virginia. George Cabaniss lived in Rutherford County, North Carolina. Many...
Dates:
1800-1837
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
James Lawrence Cabell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C13
Scope and Contents
Letters to James Lawrence Cabell, professor of anatomy and surgery at the University of Virginia from John A. Cabell and Joseph C. Cabell; and Russell Murdock (discussing the optic nerve.)
Dates:
1841-1884
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Campbell Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C16
Scope and Contents
Papers of four generations of the Campbell family of Orange Co., Va. including correspondence of William Campbell (1755-1823). His papers pertain to Revolutionary pensions, bounty land claims, the War of 1812, his superintendency of the Virginia State Penitentary, and his estate and includes a diary of a trip to Kentucky in 1798. There are also papers (correspondence and accounts) of his wife, Mrs. Susan Campbell and their children. The collection includes papers of the Graves family and...
Dates:
1726-1920
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Dr. Nathan Colgate Whitehead Letter
Collection
Identifier: SC 00095
Scope and Contents
One page letter from Dr. Nathan Colgate Whitehead in Norfolk dated 19 February 1836. It is an order from Dr. Whitehead for various elixirs and compounds presumably to be used for administration to his patients. Included in his requests is sarsaparilla, li[qu]orice, French Chloride Lime, French Chloride Soda, Jujube paste, and Chloride Lime among other requests.
Dates:
1836 February 19
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center