Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 70 Collections and/or Records:

Herbert George Bond Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00018
Scope and Contents The collection consists of one letter written by a Union soldier named Herbert George Bond at Union Mills, Virginia to his brother in Dummerston, Vermont. It describes the illness and death of a fellow soldier, the arrival of a slave fleeing from Richmond at their camp, and Bond's expectation that his troop will travel to Fredericksburg.

D. H. Hill Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01072
Scope and Contents Letters written by D. H. Hill of the 46th North Carolina Infantry Regiment to an unidentified addressee and to Nancy C[aroline?] Nance expressing affection and describing the Battle of Bristoe Station.

Daniel Harvey Hill Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01064
Scope and Contents Letters, 28 May 1861 and 15 April and 11 May 1862, written by Daniel Harvey Hill to his wife Isabella (Morrison) Hill, describing preparations for battle at Yorktown, Va. and building fortifications over Lord Cornwallis' earthworks; the Peninsular Campaign; morale of his soldiers; and his children. Includes a printed circular, 19 April 1865, to Hill, urging soldiers not to desert during truce negotiations.

James City County Oral History Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/MS 00241
Scope and Contents The James City County Oral History Collection holds two copies of transcripts and one corresponding cassette tapes of the Oral History Project directed by Robinette Fitzsimmon of the James City County Historical Commission. The collections includes interviews of residents of James City County, the City of Williamsburg, and York County, Virginia.  Topics range from education to farming to Eastern State Hospital.  Time periods covered begin with family memories from the Revolutionary War to the...

James Estes Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00119
Scope and Contents Letter written from James Estes to his parents on July 11, 1863 from Yorktown, Virginia.  Estes describes in great detail the events of driving off Confederate troops and batteries around White House Landing and Hanover Junction.  He writes about members from his company (118th New York Infantry) and the 99th New York Infantry sending off skirmishers, advancing on the enemy, and ultimately catching 10 prisoners.  He reported that Company "A" suffered one casualty and 4 wounded, with another...

John G. James to Samuel Y. Ferguson Letter

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1992.25
Scope and Contents Copy of an April 7, 1927 letter from John G. James to Samuel Y. Ferguson about Andrew Jackson and the VMI (Virginia Military Institute) Cadets in the Civil War and about Charles A. James, a student at the University of Virginia, who served with Robert E. Lee.

The John G. James papers were given to the Virginia Military Institute by an ancestor in 1992.

WHRA.

William S. Jefferys Letters

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2013.306
Scope and Contents Contains the letters of William S. Jefferys, a Union soldier from West Virginia, during the American Civil War. Based on his letters he probably was in the 7th Regiment, West Virginia Infantry. The bulk of the letters consist of Jefferys writing home to his father from the battle front describing the conditions of his fellow officers, asking about the condition of his relatives back home, and stories from the front lines including the occupation of Winchester in 1861. He also describes his...

John Jenkins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01081
Scope and Contents Letters, 1862 March 16-June 5, of John H. B. Jenkins (of the 40th New York Infantry) to Mary A. Benjamin, Smyrna, Del., describing camp life and the progress of the war especially in the battle of Fair Oaks and conditions in Hampton, Va.

3 items.

Edward R. Jones, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01262
Scope and Contents Letters, 1861-1898, bulk, 1861-1864, of Edward R. Jones, Jr. of Co. K, 95th Penn. Vols. (Col. John M. Gosline's Penn. Zouaves) written to his mother, aunt, cousin, and William Butt, Jr. Letters were written from Virginia, Maryland, and Washington, D.C. and describe camp-life, battle, express his views on the war, and discuss family affairs. Includes a description of John S. Mosby's Partisan Rangers and Jones' part at the Battle of Fredericksburg (1862). He also discusses battle conditions at...

Thomas Landers Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00025
Scope and Contents This collection consists of a letter written by Thomas Landers, a private in the 16th Massachusetts Volunteers during the American Civil War, to his parents. In the letter, Landers comments on camp life during the war and the rescuing of escaped slaves in Virginia near Fortress Monroe. The partial transcription of the letter can be found in the finding aid/box list section below.