Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Legal documents

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 203 Collections and/or Records:

Charles Triplett O'Ferrall Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 Of2
Scope and Contents Papers (including business and personal correspondence and accounts), chiefly 1867-1893, of Charles T. O'Ferrall, member of the Democratic Party, lawyer, judge, Congressman and governor. His papers include a daybook, 1865-1866, of the American Hotel, Staunton, Va.; his fee book, 1869-1873; and papers concerning legal cases. Collection includes letters, 11 December 1868-18 February 1869 and 1877, of O'Ferrall's first wife, Annie McLain Hand O'Ferrall ; his brothers, R.H. O'Ferrall, and I. Frank...

Overton Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Ov2
Scope and Contents Papers, 1727-1918, chiefly 1781-1875, of members of the related Overton, Ragland, Claybrooke and Hart families of Louisa County, Va. and Haywood Co., Tenn. The early papers are primarily legal documents, accounts and account books of John Ragland and Samuel Ragland and correspondence of the children of Samuel Ragland. After 1797, the collection concerns the legal and business papers of Samuel Overton, Thomas Overton, Waller Overton and Sally Overton Claybrooke. After 1810, the collection...

Otho O. Owens Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Ow2
Scope and Contents Papers, 1888-1908, of Otho O. Owens of Richmond, Va. and his estate. Includes deeds, deeds of trust, agreements and a copy of Owen's will.

Page-Saunders Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 P15
Scope and Contents Correspondence and papers of members of the Page and Saunders families. Includes correspondence of Margaret Lowther Page of "Rosewell," Gloucester County, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. with her daughter Lucy Burwell Page Saunders and her son-in-law Robert Saunders. The collection includes a diary, 1826, of Robert Saunders while on a trip from New York to Le Havre; published stories of Lucy Burwell Page Saunders; manuscript stories by Roberta Saunders; and correspondence of Robert Page Saunders....

Fay Parr Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.50
Scope and Contents Family papers and a collection of Williamsburg ephemera and memorabilia of Fay Parr.  Includes family photograph albums, press photographs of Williamsburg residents and buildings, newspaper clippings of events and people in Williamsburg, Virginia and publications from Williamsburg and other places.

Samuel Paul Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P28
Scope and Contents Papers, 1828-1886, of Samuel Paul, merchants of Mt. Solon, Va. and who served as Augusta County, Va. Sheriff, 1866-1869, and Treasurer, 1870-1882. Includes correspondence with merchants in Richmond and Staunton, Va., Baltimore, Md. and Philadelphia, Pa.; receipts; legal agreements; tax records; business and animal licenses; and instructions given to county officials from state officials. Collection also includes scrapbooks, [post 1850]-1886, kept by Araminta G. Paul and Blanche Paul.

Peebles-Watson-Arrington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 P34
Scope and Contents Papers and photographs, 1871-1913, bulk 1873-1904, of the Peebles, Watson and Arrington families of Norfolk and Petersburg, Va. Includes letters, primarily from Joseph Littleton Peebles to Kate S. Watson during their courtship and marriage. Also includes genealogical notes. The Peebles farm is a part of the Petersburg National Battlefield Park.

John Tayloe Perrin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 P42
Scope and Contents Papers, 1770-1931, of the Perrin family of Gloucester County, Va. Chiefly the diaries and writings of John Tayloe Perrin. Includes farm books, scrapbooks, accounts, wills, and articles by Perrin.

William K. Perrin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 95 P42
Scope and Contents Business letters, 1833-1839, to Major William K. Perrin and 1855, 1860, to his son-in-law Wyndham Kemp, both of Gloucester County, Virginia from Perrin's step-son Robert W. Nicolson in Uniontown, Perry County, Alabama, about the management of a cotton plantation. Letters mention purchasing land, growing and selling cotton management of slaves, legal and banking matters and uprising of the Creek Indians. Papers, 1800-1855 and n.d., relating to the hiring out and management of slaves of...

Overton B. Pettit Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 P45
Scope and Contents Deed, 1834, from John Duffield, wife Amanda A. Duffield, John Duffield, Jr., wife Frances Duffield, Henry M. Myers, wife Caroline M. Myers and William H. Duffield transferring their rights as heirs of David Ross (to the estate, "Cobbham," Cumberland County, Va.) to Frederick A. Ross, trustee; deed of trust, 1844, from Overton B. Pettit and wife Mary E. Pettit to William Fontaine and Abraham Shepherd, trustees for money owed to Samuel Pettit (includes "Cobbham," slaves, equipment and crops); and...