Subject Source: Art & Architecture Thesaurus
Found in 54 Collections and/or Records:
Identifier: UA 79
Scope and Contents Acc. 1982.007: Statistical Profile of Incoming Freshmen, 1976-1977. This accession includes the high school class rank, SAT scores, and achievement scores for every matriculating William and Mary freshman in September, 1976. Also included are statistical measurements of language proficiency and a list of students from this class who declared a foreign language concentration. Students are not identified. This information was compiled for statistical purposes only. Acc. 1985.011:...
Identifier: UA 5.109
Scope and Contents This collection consists of an "extract" from the faculty minutes of the College of William & Mary, granting a master's degree in 1866 to Frank H. Alfriend. The extract includes a green, embossed Temple seal used by the College at that time and was signed by William and Mary President Benjamin Ewell and Professor and Acting Secretary of the Faculty Thomas P. McCandlish. Also in the collection is a 41-page address titled "Alexander Hamilton: An address by Frank H. Alfriend before the...
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2004.24, 2006.54
Scope and Contents Papers from the household of Dora Travis Armistead (1890-1979) and Rowland Cara Armistead, sisters of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes letters, personal, financial and business papers of Cary Peyton Armistead (1856-1901), father of Dora and Cara, Steward of Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), and prominent local Episcopal Church and school leader; Eudora Ester Armistead (d. 1940), mother; Cary Champion Armistead (d. 1944), brother, and lawyer for a time in Detroit, Michigan;...
Identifier: UA 5.001
Scope and Contents
Papers of William and Mary student Edward Ashby Armstrong, including poems, essays and homilies; certificates of distinction; letters of recommendation from Thomas Jefferson Stubbs and Lyon Gardiner Tyler; and grade reports.
Identifier: UA 5.111
Identifier: SC 01197
Identifier: MS 00006
Scope and Contents The collection contains correspondence, photographs and other material related to three Franklin, West Virginia brothers who served in the United States military during World War II. The bulk of the collection consists of nearly 200 letters of outgoing correspondence penned by three brothers, Arlie, Arthur, and W. Russell Blizzard to their mother and sisters in Franklin, West Virginia. Some of the topics discussed in the correspondence include army training, work, Arlie's visit to Japan and...
Identifier: Mss. 99 B73
Scope and Contents The Christopher Bram papers largely encompass Bram's career as a novelist and writer but also include personal papers, audiovisual material, and artifacts. The first 12 series comprise materials relating to each of the major book length works Bram has produced during his career. Series 1 contains materials relating to Bram's first novel, which remains unpublished. Subsequent series are organized chronologically by publication date. Series 13 and 14 contain Bram's shorter works, including...
Identifier: MS 00017
Scope and Contents These papers contain correspondence, photographs, business papers, artifacts, certificates, and other materials related to Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Mr. Gary was a prominent African American business owner in Williamsburg, operating for decades the West End Valet Shop off Prince George Street. The collection comprises business ledgers and other West End Valet Shop records over several years, as well as legal documents pertaining to the Valet Shop and Gary family estates such as leases and...
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C72
Scope and Contents Papers of the Coleman, Davis and Pannill families of Orange and Culpeper counties, Va. Includes correspondence, 1827-1838, of William Davis with Peter F. Armstead, Linn Banks and William B. Wallace concerning the collection of money owed by Wallace. The papers include Davis's accounts and papers relating to his estate. There are also land records concerning Orange County, Va. and leases from Alexander Spotswood (1676-1740) and Alexander Spotswood (ca. 1746-1818.) Collection includes Sale...