Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775

 Subject
Subject Source: Local sources

Found in 34 Collections and/or Records:

Wood-Waller Typescripts

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01236
Scope and Contents Typescripts of letters; 1745-1754, from Henry Wood to Benjamin Waller. Concerns death of Joshua Fry. Letters are in verse form. Letters mention Williamsburg, VA. 12 items.

C. L. Worthington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 W89
Scope and Contents The collection also contains miscellaneous manuscripts and account books. Included in this material are: land grants, 1761 and 1766, for land in Fairfax and Frederick counties, Va.; eighty-five survey maps of Frederick, Fauquier, and Loudoun counties, Va. and Berkeley and Hampshire counties, W. Va.; road petitions, 1743-1828, for Frederick County; affidavits for Revolutionary War service; correspondence, 1923-1930, of the Improved Order of Redmen, Great Council of Virginia; letters written to...

George Wythe Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 W99
Scope and Contents Copies of letters, 1781-1783, from George Wythe, Williamsburg, Va. , one to John Adams and another to Thomas Jefferson concerning the use of the College of William and Mary as a hospital. Also includes a magazine article about Wythe; newspaper copy of William Munford's oration at Wythe's funeral; correspondence, 1921, of Robert M. Hughes concerning a monument for Wythe's grave; a form book of Peter Tinsley, clerk of the High Court of Chancery which gives "Forms of Injunctions," Forms of...

Samuel H. Yonge Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 Y8
Scope and Contents Papers, 1890-1935, of Samuel Humphreys Yonge. Yonge was an army engineer who worked on flood control projects and navigational improvements. Yonge was interested in excavations at Jamestown and Williamsburg, Va. and in archaeological projects throughout Virginia. Included is correspondence; early twentieth century photographs of ruins and excavations at Jamestown; notebooks of land patent abstracts and other notes concerning Jamestown; and printed material. The collection also includes an...