Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

New York (State)--Social life and customs

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 34 Collections and/or Records:

Diary (Bowens Corners, New York)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00774
Scope and Contents Diary, 1893, of an unknown member of the Kellogg family of Bowens Corners, New York. Includes details of their family, their tobacco farm, farming in general, visitors that they entertained, trips that they took, and other matters of daily life.

Diary (New York)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00755
Scope and Contents Diary, 1867, of an unknown teenager in New York. Includes information on his personal life, work on a farm, lectures that he attends, and a traveling exhibition show that he joins, led by Captain G. Williams.

Diary (New York State)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00814
Scope and Contents Diary of an unidentified woman, who lived in upstate New York with her husband, a teacher and her family. The back of the volume contains household accounts of money earned and spent, as well as a brief list of books read. The daily diary entries are brief and record weather, her and her husband's chores and work, illnesses, births, and deaths in the community. The following listing of place names and personal names mentioned in the diary was provide by the seller: ...

Diary (Pittsford, New York)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01039
Scope and Contents Diary, 1862-1866, of an unknown woman from Pittsford, New York. Contains brief entries, often a sentence or less, about her activities for each day. Includes accounts of things that she buys, sewing, cooking, cleaning, a sickness that she has, and other matters.

Diary (Tompkins County, New York)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00905
Scope and Contents Diary, 1866, of an unidentified teenager or young man from Tompkins Co., New York. In brief daily entries he mentions living at home, helping his father, working at the mill, going to school and to "the institute", working on the farm, and doing miscellaneous repair jobs.

Mary L. Gilbert Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00175
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1902-1910, of Mary L. Gilbert of Watertown, New York. Gilbert lives with her widowed mother, and describes events such as spending time on a yacht, spending winters in rented homes and cottages in Florida, and meetings with dignitaries, including members of the Cuban armed forces. There are also descriptions of people with whom she meets, events which she attends, and world events, such as the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake.

Granshue Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.644
Scope and Contents Contains a minute book, ledger, and other material created and collected by the Granshue Club, a private hunting and fishing camp located near Potsdam, New York. The minute book provides information on the administration of the organization, while the ledger contains financial information about the organization, including a list of members of the club and how much they have paid in dues over the years. The records also consist of correspondence to and from the club, including a memorandum from...

Caroline Minturn Hall Bride's Gift Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00661
Scope and Contents New York bride's book, 1909, kept by Caroline Mintern(or Minturn) Hall, granddaughter of Julia Ward Howe, who was married June 9,1909, to Rev. Hugh Birckhead. Book is published in New York, 1902 and called "The Book of the Bride Elect."  Has columns for listing gifts, those who gave them , date of acknowledgment and others. Many of the gifts received were monogramed, some made by Tiffany & Co. and some gifts were exchanged. Includes gifts from Julia Ward Howe, Attorney General...

Lydia H. Hart Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00831
Scope and Contents Diary, 1823-1830, 1875 and loose papers 1813, 1831, and undated of Lydia H. Hart of Richmond, Virginia and later Walden, Orange County, New York. The Diary was started by Lydia H. Hart, the wife of Reverend William H. Hart, who was the rector of St. John’s Church in Richmond, VA and later St. Andrews Church in Walden, New York. Diary entries include day-to-day activities and meetings with local neighbors and church patron’s. These neighbors included Elizabeth Van Lew and her parents, which...

Richard E. Herbster Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.291
Scope and Contents Unpublished manuscripts, circa 2000s, of Richard E. Herbster of Falconer, New York. Contains four unpublished manuscripts that make up the Glencree Quartet. The books are "Glencree," which consists of three volumes; "Queen Jane," which consists of two volumes; "The Sun Singer," which consists of two volumes; and "Next Year In Jerusalem," which consists of one volume. Each of the volumes is comb bound.