Women--Virginia--Social life and customs
Subject
Subject Source: Local sources
Found in 4 Collections and/or Records:
Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B85
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1780-1929, of the Brown, Coalter, Tucker families including the papers of John Coalter (1769-1838), Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia, and John Thompson Brown (1802-1836), member of the Virginia House of Delegates.Among the correspondents are Maria (Rind) Coalter, St. George Tucker, William Munford, Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter, Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge, and Henry Peronneau Brown.This...
Dates:
1790-1929
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Nina Pruett Edmunds Scrapbooks and Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.175
Scope and Contents
Contains two scrapbooks belonging to Nina Pruett Edmunds while a student at the College of William and Mary from 1931-1933. Included in one scrapbook are programs from plays and special events, news articles related to student life on campus, photographs of students, and material related to the sesquicentennial of the battle of Yorktown. The second scrapbook is in a binder labeled "House or Home?",created for a home economics class, with notes and glued in magazine clippings on different...
Dates:
1931-1933
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates:
1811-1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tyler Family Papers, Group A
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Dates:
1716-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center