Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Women--Education--Virginia

 Subject
Subject Source: Local sources

Found in 17 Collections and/or Records:

Lelia Burnett Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00179
Scope and Contents Letters, journals, and other material relating to Lelia W. Burnett, who was at Miller School in Charlottesville, Virginia. Letters primarily date from the 1880s and 1890s while the journals are from G.H. Farrar and date from the 1920s and 1930s. Also included are woven strands of hair from unknown persons.

Julia W. Oxrieder Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1990.46
Scope and Contents The personal papers of Julia W. Oxrieder include materials related to Williamsburg, Virginia, documents of interest she collected related to her many interests, and personal material about her life and work in Williamsburg. Many items are copies of biographies, newspaper articles, and ephemera documenting local history including folklore, education, Williamsburg people and organizations, African Americans, and other topics.

Laura Parrish Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.036
Scope and Contents This collection contains completed questionnaires sent to women who attended William and Mary between 1918 and 1945, keypunch cards recording the data, computer printouts, and a code book. This data was gathered by Laura Parrish for her thesis "When Mary Entered with her Brother William: Women Students at the College of William and Mary, 1918-1945" (M. A. Thesis, College of William and Mary, 1988).

Ryland Institute Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00141
Content Description Collection of certificates, announcements, a program of instruction, graduating exercises programs, a 1895- 1896 catalog, and two photographs of the Ryland Institute in Berkley, Virginia. The catalog was printed in 1895 by Fenn and Owen, Printers and Binders, Petersburg, Va. It lists the instructors of all departments, board of trustee members, and students for the session of 1894- 1895 along with their areas of education. It also lists all of the graduate from the years previous to...

University Archives Scrapbook Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 335
Scope and Contents This collection contains scrapbooks related to faculty, students, and various programs and events at the College of William and Mary. Acc. 1983.075: twenty-seven scrapbooks, 1934-1943, of newspaper clippings about the College, events, and programs. Acc. 1983.081: scrapbooks, 1919-1938, with clippings about the College, students, and faculty. Acc. 1983.083: two scrapbooks, 1934-1942, with invitations to programs, concerts, plays, parties, and other events held...

Sarah C. Watts Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W34
Scope and Contents The collection is composed of letters from Sarah Watts' parents giving advice on marriage and the purchase of goods, as well as giving local news. The letters from Williamsburg and Surry County, Virginia contain news of social events, local residents and activities at the College of William and Mary including the banning of parties by the President of the College, Bishop James Madison, the formation of a military company by the students, and the fighting of a duel. See also Southern...

Virgie Margaret Wickre Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00850
Scope and Contents Includes alphabet book created by Virgie Margaret Wickre while a first grade elementary student in Williamsburg Virginia, 1914, as well as her 1925 high school diploma from Williamsburg High School.

The alphabet book is in form of a scrapbook and according to the attached tag, it was displayed at the 1914 Peninsula School Fair.