Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century

 Subject
Subject Source: Local sources

Found in 21 Collections and/or Records:

Myers-Burrage-Graham Papers (I) Group A

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 98 M99 Group A
Scope and Contents Group A;  Papers of Moses Myers, and his sons Samuel Myers (1790-1829) lawyer in Norfolk and Pensacola, Fla. and John Myers (1787-1830) merchant of Norfolk. Includes papers of Barton Myers (1853-1927), mayor of Norfolk, Va. and his family.

Myers Papers (II)

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 98 M99 Myers II
Scope and Contents Papers of Moses Myers, and his sons Samuel Myers (1790-1829) lawyer in Norfolk, Pensacola, Fla., John Myers (1787-1830) merchant of Norfolk and Myer Myers of Norfolk, Va. and daughter Adeline Myers. Also includes letters of Caroline Marx Barton to Julia Grammer Barton Myers, and of L. H. Wirt to Judith Marx. Includes letters of Joseph Marx Myers. There are letters of the Marx and Gratz families as well as correspondence with Jewish merchants in Richmond, New York, Montreal, St. Thomas, Virgin...

Honoria O'Grady Autograph Album

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00960
Scope and Contents Autograph album, 1830-1832, of Honoria O'Grady of Norfolk, Virginia. Many entries are signed and dated in Portsmouth and Suffolk, Virginia. Includes several acrostics and a sketch of a sailing ship.

S. H. Parker Letter to Gideon D. Camden

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00562
Scope and Contents S.H. Parker, Va. L[and] Off[ice], Richmond, [Va.], to Hon[ora]ble G[ideon] D. Camden. Topics include a land warrant and a visit to Norfolk where he saw Governor Wise and notes the lack of support for Stephen A. Douglas.  States that Douglas men are "know-nothings,: and quotes (Wise), "there are a few brawling politicians who make a noise, but it is in vain to kick against the pricks."

Peebles-Watson-Arrington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 98 P34
Scope and Contents Papers and photographs, 1871-1913, bulk 1873-1904, of the Peebles, Watson and Arrington families of Norfolk and Petersburg, Va. Includes letters, primarily from Joseph Littleton Peebles to Kate S. Watson during their courtship and marriage. Also includes genealogical notes. The Peebles farm is a part of the Petersburg National Battlefield Park.

Robert Barraud Taylor Invoice and Receipt Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap37
Scope and Contents Invoice and receipt book, 1825-1831, of Robert Barraud Taylor, of Norfolk, Va. The receipts are tipped in.

Scrapbook (Portsmouth, Va.)

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. MsV Sc27
Scope and Contents Scrapbook, 1854-1887, of an unidentified person containing newspaper clippings. The volume includes a handwritten note about the evacuation of Portsmouth, Va. and Norfolk, Va. in 1862. The clippings were pasted over a journal (account book), of Cocke and Brothers, merchants, Portsmouth, Va.

Tazewell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 92 T19
Scope and Contents Papers; 1838-1979. Business records and letters of the Tazewell family of Norfolk, VA, chiefly of Gov. Littleton Waller Tazewell, John Nivison Tazewell, Sally A. Tazewell, Ella Wickham Tazewell and Louisa Nivison Tazewell. Includes are account balances, property inventory lists, stock and bond certificate lists, tax collection receipts, payment receipts and personal correspondence concerning a book about Littleton Waller Tazewell. Also includes are a newspaper article, 1978, about the...

War in the Lower Chesapeake and Hampton Road Areas 1812-1815

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01227
Scope and Contents Typed carbon transcript of transcription by John C. Emmerson, Jr. of Portsmouth, Virginia entitled, "War in the Lower Chesapeake and Hampton Roads Areas, 1812-1815, as Reported in The Norfolk Gazette & Public Ledger and The Norfolk & Portsmouth Herald." 189 pages plus an index.  1946.

Conway Whittle Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 76 W61
Scope and Contents Papers of Conway Whittle II of Norfolk, Va. and of his two sisters, Mary Eliza Whittle Neale and Frances Munford Whittle Lewis. ...