Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings
Found in 76 Collections and/or Records:
Identifier: MS 00187
Scope and Contents Contains ledgers, 1857-1901, of Henley T. Jones, Jr., of Williamsburg, Virginia. Henley Jones operated a drug store in Williamsburg, and the ledgers contain the records of his business, including the name of the patron, what the purchased, and the price, from 1873 to 1878. Includes records of Jones' business with Eastern State Hospital, then called Eastern Lunatic Asylum. There is also records of Jones' dealing with African American customers. Also includes the settlement of the estate, 1857,...
Identifier: Mss. 71 K61, 2008.134, 2010.330
Scope and Contents Mss. 71 K61 includes the records of the Kate Custis Circle of the King's Daughters of Williamsburg, Virginia: a printed history of the circle by Estelle H. Smith; minutes of the circle meetings; correspondence; newspaper clippings; photographs; minutes of state convention meetings; programs of state conventions; scrapbooks; and leaflet concerning Estelle H. Smith. Mss. Acc. 2008.134 (Box 5) includes journal records from 1913-1933. Mss. Acc. 2010.330 (Box 6) includes...
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children. An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. Mrs....
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2000.16
Scope and Contents Letter; 20 December 1805, Bishop James Madison, Williamsburg, to James Breckenridge, Botetourt County, Va. Concerns defending Madison against a claim to deprive him of land surveyed near Guyandot Falls by Breckinridge. Asks Breckinridge to discount fee at next College [of William and Mary] settlement. Also concerns Madison's Map of Virginia (1807) and a new method of taking latitudes.
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 Pst
Scope and Contents Photostats of correspondence, 1777-1812, of Bishop James Madison, President of College of William & Mary, with Thomas Jefferson, James Monroe, Joseph C. Cabell, St. George Tucker, and others. These copies are from originals housed in various libraries: Harvard College Library, Free Library of Philadelphia, University of the South, Church Historical Society in Austin, Texas, Maryland Historical Society, Chicago Historical Society, Yale University and the Free Library of Philadelphia. ...
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 M26
Scope and Contents Dates; 1792-1831, 1931; document and correspondence (some are copies). Includes letters between James Madison, Sr. (1723-1801) and his son President James Madison, Jr., his brother Bishop James Madison, Josiah Quincy, Robert Walsh, and others. Also includes engravings and prints of Madison and a "Report of the Overseers of Harvard University" commenting of the new constitution recently submitted to the people of Virginia. Letters discuss politics, family life in Virginia, religion, and other...
Identifier: SC 01457
Scope and Contents Photostatic copy of "Life in Virginia by a Yankee Teacher", an account by a missionary school teacher, Margaret Newbold Thorpe, who taught black students at Fort Magruder and in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1866-1867. Photostatic copy of "Life in North Carolina," September 1869-1870, an account written by Margaret Newbold Thorpe Stokes about Warrenton, North Carolina. The accounts were apparently written in 1881 and 1907.The photostatic copies were likely made in 1951, when gifted to...
Identifier: SC 01106
Scope and Contents Letter, 1859 October 30, from someone named Maria to Elizabeth S. Ewell, daughter of College of William and Mary president Benjamin S. Ewell. In the letter, the author writes about life in Williamsburg, Virginia, the engagements of local men including professor Edwin Taliaferro to Bland Tucker, the Williamsburg Female Academy, and the loss of George T. Wilmer as rector of Bruton Parish Church.
Identifier: MS 00306
Scope and Contents Twelve pieces of oversized artwork, including originals and reproduction copies, by Thomas C. Millington, son of John Millington, William & Mary professor of Chemistry and Natural Philosophy. This collection is divided into two series. Series 1 compiles lithographic prints (one original and seven reproductions) of the "Millington print," a lithograph based off of Millington's illustrations of William & Mary's Historic Campus. Series 2 compiles drawings and watercolor...
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 M81
Scope and Contents Papers, 1881-1937 and n.d., relating to the history of Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown, Va. collected by members of the Morecock family of Williamsburg, Va. Includes photographs, pamphlets, Christmas cards, postcards, and wood-cut prints depicting the Powder Magazine, Bruton Parish Church, the Courthouse of 1770, the Yorktown Monument, the church tower at Jamestown as well as souvenirs of the Yorktown Centennial, 1881 and the Jamestown Exposition, 1907.