Skip to main content

Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 80 Collections and/or Records:

Williamsburg. Office of the Registrar Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.211
Scope and Contents

3 volumes of the Voter Registrar's office of the City of Williamsburg, Virginia, consisting of a "List of White Voters, 1896, 1904-1946,"  "Colored Registered Voters, 1902, 1904-1946, 1930-1953, 1964," and "White Registered Voters, 1904-1964, 1905-1953."

Dates: 1896-1964
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg Post Office Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Apo6 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1873-1880, of registered letters sent and received from the Williamsburg Post Office, Williamsburg, Va. when N. D. Piggott was the postmaster.

Dates: 1873-1880
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg, Va. Businessman's Association Minute Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Mi2-MsV Mi3
Scope and Contents

Minute books, 1899-1925, of the Businessman's Association, Williamsburg, Va. which includes the constitution stating that the purpose of the organization is to "encourage and promote the commercial, mercantile and manufacturing interests of the city of Williamsburg . . . ,".

Dates: 1899-1925
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg (Va.) Merchant's Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame20u Oversize
Scope and Contents

An account book of an unknown merchant in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1845-1849
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg, Virginia Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00397
Scope and Contents Photocopies of three letters written from Williamsburg, Virginia by W.W. Vest, J.M. Chevers and Unknown. W.W. Vest of Williamsburg, Virginia to John M. Speer (or Speed) of Lynchburg, Virginia about hiring out of negroes and financial matters. 1843. Unknown in Williamsburg, Virginia to Robert Saunders in Fauquier, Virginia about family and a scandal at "The Springs." 1844. J. M. Chevers, a student in Williamsburg, Virginia, to Rev. CW. Thomson in Richmond,...
Dates: 1843-1846
Found in: Special Collections Research Center