Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Fluvanna County (Va.)--History--19th century

 Subject
Subject Source: Local sources

Found in 19 Collections and/or Records:

Merchant's Ledger, VI

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame46u
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1884-1885, of an unidentified merchant [possibly of Fluvanna County, Va.].

Merchant's Ledger, V

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame45u
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1876-1884, of an unidentified merchant, [possibly of Fluvanna County, Va.]

Merchant's Ledger, VII

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame47u
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1884-1892, of an unidentified merchant, possibly of [Fluvanna County, Va.]

Newburn-Bolton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 N42
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1862-1870, of Doctor James Bolton and Edward B. Newburn. Includes letters, 1867-1868, to James Bolton of Richmond, Va. from Edward B. Newburn, his guardian, from "Pleasant Oaks," Fluvanna County, Richmond, Va. seeking an extension of farm credit as well as accounts of Newburn and Bolton. Dr. James Bolton of Richmond, Va. noted oculist, was the guardian of Edward B. Newburn.

Robert Daniel Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV As5
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1851-1871, of Robert Daniel noting tuition and board of various students and including accounts of James W. Stratton, Scottsville, Virginia.

Shipman-Wills Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Sh7
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1833-1856, between the Shipman family of Rockingham County, Va. and the Wills family of Fluvanna County, Va. There are letters, 1838-1840, between James C. Shipman while serving in the Virginia House of Delegates and his wife Mary Minor Wills Shipman. Many letters are written by women. The collection includes letters of Jane R. Riordan discussing her going to Richmond to learn the millinery trade and starting in business; letters concerning marriage and courtship; letters...

Stilman, Va. Postal Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Apo2
Scope and Contents

Record and postal account book, 1887-1891, of John W. Rison, postmaster of Stilman, Fluvanna County, Virginia.

William H. Parrish and Co. Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame99
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1869-1871, of William H. Parrish and Co., merchants, of Columbia [Fluvanna County], Va.

William M. Foster & Co.

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame37-39
Scope and Contents

Two journals and a ledger, 1884-1889, of William M. Foster & Co., merchants, of Columbia, Fluvanna County, Va.