Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Women--Diaries

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 113 Collections and/or Records:

Diaries (Wallingford, Connecticut)

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00188
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1869-1884, of a woman whose first name is Mary who lives in Wallingford, Connecticut. She was born on 11 September 1852, and her diaries contain information about her social life, events she attended, and people with whom she interacted, among other items.

Diary (Alaska)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00758
Scope and Contents Diary, 1931, of a woman named Laura on her trip to Alaska. It primarily includes photographs pasted into the diary with annontations and descriptions of the places that she visted, but also includes diary entries about her trip. Photographs are primarily of lakes, glaciers, and other scenary, but there are also photographs of the author and people that she met along the way. She traveled with Emma Campbell, Edith Schaeffer, and Claire Gutman.

Diary and Accounts (Staunton, Va.)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00869
Scope and Contents Diary, 1979-1981, of a unidentified woman, who made daily entries of everyday occurrences, like weather, temperatures, visits to town, meeting with friends and business people, doctors' visits, shopping trips. There are a few miscellaneous notes and expenses and addresses listed in the back.

The volume itself was printed in 1876 and the first few pages contain account-type entries dating from 1884.

Diary (Baltimore, Maryland)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00770
Scope and Contents Diary, 1866, of an unidentified woman from Baltimore, Maryland. Includes information about her daily activities, many of which were spent at her home. Also mentions people that she meets, events that she attends, and places that she goes, including Liberty, North Carolina.

Diary (Binghampton, NY)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00813
Scope and Contents Diary, 1933-1937 of an unidentified woman who lived with her husband and two sons outside Binghampton, New York. Brief daily entries described chores, social visits, family events, etc.

The back of the diary was used to record births and deaths from circa 1930s-1946.

Diary (Connecticut)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01338
Scope and Contents Five Year Diary, 1945-1949 by an unidentified author.  The entries describe activities typical of a homemaker, which suggests that the writer was a woman.

Entries were made on a daily basis and describe weather, cooking and baking, social visits, health, trips, etc.  Although no place of residence is given, place names mentioned in the entries like Bridgewater, Bridgeport, Terryville, New Haven, and Roxbury, suggest Connecticut as the writer's state of residence.

Diary (Leicester, United Kingdom)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00653
Scope and Contents Diary, 1942, of a woman in the Women's Auxiliary Air Force (WAAF) in the United Kingdom during World War II. Includes information on her job in a department store prior to joining the WAAF, learning to drive, and her job as a driver for the WAAF. There is also details of her social life before and after joining the WAAF. Her name seems to be "Lee E. Bunn." Also included in the diary are pictures and descriptions of airplanes used by the Royal Air Force, pictures of badges of rank...

Diary (Massachusettes and Ohio)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00827
Scope and Contents Diary, 1931-1936 of an unidentified young woman, titled "A Book of Personal Reflections of an Impersonal Brat." Geneve (her name is noted in the inside front cover, but her last name is not legible) was a student and 21 years old when she started the diary in 1931. She also notes that she graduated from Bradford Academy , MA '29, Lake Erie College, OH, '33 and Katharine Gibbs School, MA '34.Most entries are reflections on the meaning of life and love and her own emotional state...

Diary (New York State)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00814
Scope and Contents Diary of an unidentified woman, who lived in upstate New York with her husband, a teacher and her family. The back of the volume contains household accounts of money earned and spent, as well as a brief list of books read. The daily diary entries are brief and record weather, her and her husband's chores and work, illnesses, births, and deaths in the community. The following listing of place names and personal names mentioned in the diary was provide by the seller: ...

Diary (Panama)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00745
Scope and Contents Diary, 1935-1936, of an unknown woman on a trip to Panama. Entries include descriptions of the country, the people she meets, and an illness that she contracts while there. She also describes her voyage back to the United States, her treatment, and her travels through Los Angeles, California.