Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

York County (Va.)--History--19th century

 Subject
Subject Source: Local sources

Found in 3 Collections and/or Records:

Elizabeth Hogg Ironmonger Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 84 I6
Scope and Contents Papers, circa 1900-1997, of Elizabeth Hogg Ironmonger, genealogist. Includes genealogical notes, history of post offices in York County, Virginia, a record of Revolutionary War claims by York County inhabitants, history of the Grafton Baptist Church, Methodism in York County, Virginia, a map of the Jamestown Exposition grounds in Norfolk, Virginia, copies of the Abingdon Parish Register, the Kingston Parish Register, and the Northumberland County Order Book.There is genealogical...

James City County Oral History Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00241
Scope and Contents The James City County Oral History Collection holds two copies of transcripts and one corresponding cassette tapes of the Oral History Project directed by Robinette Fitzsimmon of the James City County Historical Commission. The collections includes interviews of residents of James City County, the City of Williamsburg, and York County, Virginia.  Topics range from education to farming to Eastern State Hospital.  Time periods covered begin with family memories from the Revolutionary War to the...

Samuel F. Bright Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap4-MsV Ap5
Scope and Contents Contain oystering accounts; farm accounts for "Porto Bella," York County, Virginia and "New Hope," [?]; cash accounts of Williamsburg, Virginia; list of ages and prices of slaves; records of physician's visits to family and slaves; remedy for colic; and memorandum of a purchase of land from College of William and Mary in October 1847.