Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Correspondence

 Subject
Subject Source: Art & Architecture Thesaurus

Found in 922 Collections and/or Records:

Williamsburg Reunion Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.01
Scope and Contents The collection includes programs, booklets, and various material from the Williamsburg Reunion. The Williamsburg Reunion is a series of activities designed to celebrate the common heritage and shared memories of everyone who lived in the Williamsburg area 40 or more years ago.

Beverly Williamson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 W66
Scope and Contents This collection contains seven letters to Beverly Williamson written between 1871 and 1873 who worked as a tanner at Franklinton, NC.

William F. Willoughby Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 72 W66
Scope and Contents Papers 1818-1955, of William Willoughby, economist, government official, director for the Institute of Research. The papers of William F. Willoughby, mostly concern his service as treasurer and secretary of Puerto Rico and as deputy legal adviser to President Yuan Shikai of China during the period when Yuan made an unsuccessful attempt to restore the monarchy to China by having himself crowned emperor. The collection includes personal correspondence of Willougby with his twin brother Westel...

Wills Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 W67
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1863-1864, of Mary J. Wills, Bedford County, Va. with her husband, Charles A. Wills of the 58th Virginia Infantry Regiment (Company I). Also includes letters to Mary J. Wills from her brothers John A. Bradley and Joseph M. Bradley and correspondence of her sister Sarah F. Foster with her husband Habun R. Foster. John A. Bradley, and Joseph M. Bradley served in the 58th Virginia Infantry and Habun R. Foster served in the 34th Virginia Infantry Regiment. The Battle of Second...

William Holland Wilmer Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.04
Scope and Contents This collection contains biographical materials; original and photocopied correspondence; sermons, discourses, and publications by Wilmer. An inventory is available in the Special Collections Research Center.

Winston & Company Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 W73
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1918, of Winston & Company, Richmond, Va. with former employees concerning back pay owed them for work done at Camp Abraham Eustis, Lee Hall, Va. (now Fort Eustis, Va.). Winston & Company had offices in New York City and Richmond, Va. For the Camp Eustis project, the company had a job office on location. The letters in the collection are addressed to the job office. It is assumed that probably the Richmond office had control of the project.

Henry Alexander Wise Letter to Robert S. Chilton

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00621
Scope and Contents Letter from H. A. Wise, House of Representatives, Washington DC, to Robert S. Chilton, New York, in which he talks about dueling.

Henry Alexander Wise Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01269
Scope and Contents Three letters (1856-1859) concerning United States politics (especially the 1856 presidential election), and his family; containing his views on religion and liberty; and making an appeal to James Buchanan on behalf of a candidate for appointed office.

John S. Wise Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 W75
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1869-1873, of John S. Wise concerning the application of his brother Doctor Richard A. Wise for positions as professor at the College of William and Mary, and at the University of Virginia; and as superintendent at the Central Lunatic Asylum, Richmond, Va. Correspondents include William E. Cameron, John W. Daniel, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, John S. Mosby, Charles S. Venable and Richard A. Wise.

John Sergeant Wise papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01640
Scope and Contents Collection of 15 letters addressed to John S. Wise, in New York, City, New York. Most are written from the American lawyer and author, Robert Green Ingersoll. Other letters are from other notable actors, authors, and playwrights such as James Morrison Steele MacKay, Albert Marsham Palmer, and John Martin Tracy. Most letters are more personal in nature and detail regrets for not attending functions or for not writing sooner. Some request advice regarding ideas, lay out plans for travel, and...