Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Correspondence

 Subject
Subject Source: Art & Architecture Thesaurus

Found in 884 Collections and/or Records:

Buford Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00995
Scope and Contents Papers, 1840-1892, of the Buford family of Bedford County, Va., consisting of letters, mostly addressed to Capt. Paschal Buford (1791-1875). Other correspondents include his wife Frances Ann Otey Buford and his daughter Maggie (Margaret Letitia) Buford. Some letters to Paschal Buford were written by his daughter Bettie (Mildred Elizabeth) and her husband Edward C. Burks. Also includes financial records, wedding invitations, records relating to horse breeding and a note book, circa 1880....

John Bullock Letter to James Anderson

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00211
Scope and Contents Letter from John Bullock, Williamsboro, North Carolina to James Anderson, Cottage Home, North Carolina about church strife between the minister and another man (Church of Shiloh and Church of Nutback), the deterioration of the old mansion house, family news and more.  November 12, 1856.

Alice Burke Letter to Mrs. Dr. Dinges

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00212
Scope and Contents Letter from Alice Burke to Mrs. Dr. Dinges of Mt. Crawford, Virginia requesting her recipe for mince pie.  February 1, 1874.

Martin Parks Burks Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 B91
Scope and Contents Martin Parks Burks was the deputy sheriff of Bedford County, Virginia. Chiefly accounts, receipts, and business letters of Martin P. Burks, 1798-1866, including records while he was deputy sheriff of Bedford County, Virginia.

Edward M. Burleigh Letter to Charlotte D. Burleigh

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00213
Scope and Contents Letter from Edward M. Burleigh to his sister, Charlotte D. Burleigh of New Hampshire, about Sophia's death, family and his farm.  June 3, 1848.

Burtis Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01161
Scope and Contents Letter from A.P. Baugh [Abner P. Baugh] certifying that "after an examination of the dwelling house belonging to C.E.D. Burtis, situated near Bumpass, Va, it is my opinion that $250 will be ample to put the builidng in good condition..." April 20, 1934. Letter from S.R. Jeter, Ashland, Virginia, to C.E.D. Burtis in Bumpass, Virginia telling him how to change his beneficiary with Winance (?) Council #60. Handwritten notations about construction costs. Pencil drawing of a house and yard with a...

Burton-Alston Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00167
Scope and Contents Letter to Elizabeth Burton in Williamsboro, Granville County, North Carolina from her Aunt Adeline Alston, dated 1850 and letter to niece Margaret Burton in Williamsboro, Granville County, North Carolina from Aunt M. P. Alston, dated 1863.  Family news, particularly health of family members.

Burwell-Catlett Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 B95
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1794-1887, of the Burwell family of Virginia, North Carolina, Alabama, and Mississippi. Includes letters of Mary Cole Turnbull Burwell and her children including Armistead Burwell, Benjamin Powell Burwell, Frances King Burwell Catlett, Robert Burwell, William T. Burwell (at the United States Military Academy), Charles Blair Burwell, and concerning these children and her other children Elizabeth Margaret Burwell Putnam and Anne Burwell Garland. Subjects include family,...

Burwell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 B95
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the Burwell family papers of Powhatan County and Richmond, Va. These papers consist of financial papers and correspondence. Correspondence discusses the Civil War, Virginia history, and other Virginia related topics.

See also: Southern Women and their Families in the 19th Century Papers and Diaries Series C Reel # 01 in Swem Library’s microforms area, call number HQ1438 .V5 S68

David Ives Bushnell, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B96
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1917-1941, of anthropologist David Ives Bushnell, Jr., including correspondence concerning his research on Indians in North America; diaries, address lists, specimen lists, photographs, magazines, pamphlets, and maps pertaining to his work. Also includes correspondence of his mother, Belle Johnston Bushnell.The collection also contains a typescript of the journal of Rudolph Friederich Kurz; letters written by William Cullen Bryant (concerning Thanatopsis), William...