Correspondence
Subject
Subject Source: Art & Architecture Thesaurus
Found in 3 Collections and/or Records:
Barron Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B29
Scope and Contents
Papers and correspondence of three generations of Samuel Barrons, all of whom were involved in naval affairs. Papers, 1793-1809, of Samuel Barron (1765-1810), commander of one of the Mediterranean squadrons sent to defeat Tripoli. Papers concern naval business and the War with Tripoli. Includes correspondence with his brother James Barron, Stephen Decatur, William Eaton (concerning his controversy with Tobias Lear over the Tripolitan peace settlement), Tobias Lear, Edward Preble, John...
Dates:
1793-1942
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
James Barron Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B27
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and papers of Commodore James Barron relating to his career in the United States Navy, and especially relating to The Chesapeake-Leopard Affair in 1807 and to his duel with Stephen Decatur. Collection includes photocopies of patents issued to Barron for his inventions and a typescript of William Oliver Stevens' An Affair of Honor, a biography of Barron. Correspondents include John Adams, Jesse Duncan Elliott, Andrew Jackson, Thomas Jefferson, Amos Kendall, Duff Green and Abel...
Dates:
1766-1899
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Clifford Currie Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.102
Scope and Contents
The papers of Clifford Currie consist mostly of speeches made by Currie to various organizations such as the Portsmouth Historical Association, the Middle Plantation Club, and the Williamsburg Chapter of the Daughters of the Confederacy. Some of the subjects presented in the speeches include T.J. Jackson, Commodore James Barron, art, and European History. There is also a book review by Currie entitled "Brick, Stone, and Landscape: Four Outstanding Books" available in the...
Dates:
1979-1983
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center