- keyword(s): St. George Tucker
Showing Results: 1 - 25 of 40
Letter from St George Tucker to Matthew Carey regarding the circulation of a printed letter written to Jedediah Morse "...vindicate the Inhabitants of this city from a most cruel and unprovoked attack...", about Carey's periodical "Guthrie's Grammar" and publication, "The American Museum." Dated July 31, 1795. The circulated letter to Rev. Jedediah Morse from a "Citizen of Williamsburg" (1795) is also included.
19.5 cm x 22.5 cm
John Quincy Adams to St. George Tucker, August 5, 1819, sending him 12 bound volumes of the Fifteeth Congress, First session [4 vols. Extant in Tucker's library].
Correspondence, 1850-1885, of the Tucker and Brooke families of Ashland, Richmond and Winchester, Va. and Salvington," Stafford County, Va. Chiefly letters written to Anne Evelina (Hunter) Tucker by her daughter Virginia Sarah (Tucker) Brooke and by Janes S. Tucker. Includes letters written to St. George Tucker Brooke by his father Henry Laurens Brooke and David Tucker Brooke and others.
Correspondence and publications of John Randolph Tucker.
The collection includes material, such as correspondence, poetry, photographs, and miscellaneous item relating to Dr. Beverley Randolph Tucker and his parents, John Randolph Tucker and Fanny Crump Tucker. Topics covered include religion, education, the legal and medical professions, the American Civil War, and Reconstruction.
One page letter from Cynthia Beverly Tucker Washington Coleman to Dr. David Hayes Agnew dated 21 December 1883. In it, Mrs. Coleman relates that she has sent along a Virginia Ham for their Christmas dinner and gives instrucitons on the proper way to cook it. She also reports on the health (mostly optical issues) of her son and daughter.
Papers and correspondence of three generations of the Brown Family of Virginia: Frances (Fanny) Bland Coalter Brown and her husband, Henry Peronneau Brown (1838-1888), J. Thompson and Cassie Tucker Brown (1890-1920) and Frances Bland Brown and Fleming Sanders (1921-1964).
The collection contains the papers of Williamsburg resident Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman and includes correspondence, Coleman's personal writings, various publications, legal and financial papers, and artifacts.
October 10, 1815 letter from J. H. (John Hartwell) Cocke to John Allan of the House of Ellis and Allan, London about Judge (St. George) Tucker sending an order for items to import.
Copy of letter, 1780 June 3, from Jonathan Bryan, Long Island, N. Y. to wife, Mary Bryan, "Brampton Plantation," near Savannah, Ga.; copy of letter, 1825 August 12, from St. George Tucker to his granddaughter, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter; and genealogical data from a Bryan family Bible.
Gregory Page to "Mama." Discusses his health, school routine, fear of smallpox in Richmond, Va., and mentions Judge [St. George] Tucker.
Notice from the President and Professors Acknowledging Robert Andrews, Jr. as the College's Attorney
Notice from the President and faculty of William & Mary, acknowledging Robert Andrews, Jr. as the College's attorney. The notice states that he is to receive, in the name of William & Mary, dividends due as of January 1, 1804. The notice is signed by President Bishop James Madison and professors St. George Tucker (law), Robert Andrews (math), and John Bracken (Grammar School). The Temple Seal is affixed to the document.
This collection contains correspondence, news clippings and articles, and certificates from and about the F.H.C. Society at the College of William and Mary. Some of the certificates are for membership in the student group while others were given to College of William and Mary faculty. Also included in the collection is a lecture given by Professor Hans C. von Baeyer about St. George Tucker to the society.
Genealogical material on the family of John Allan, stepfather of Edgar Allan Poe, of Richmond, Virginia, including typed copy of tombstone inscription of the John Allan gravesite, typescripts and photocopies of correspondence, 1795-1800, of Peachey Franklin, John C. Allan, Nancy Hunter, R. Crawford, and James Garland, and copies of letters, 1986-1987, concerning the genealogical material.
Three poems related to Williamsburg. "Lay of the Lost Lion" by Cynthia Beverley Tucker Coleman, originally in the Williamsburg Garden Club's 1932 "Williamsburg Scrapbook." "The Pulaski Club of Williamsburg, VA, Its origin and fame and how it got its name" by the History Committee. "My God, They've sold the town" a poem about John D. Rockefeller, Jr.'s purchasing houses in Williamsburg.