Search all record types where
- keyword(s): James Blair
Showing Results: 1 - 3 of 3
Appointment of Edmund Gibson, Bishop of London, as Chancellor of the College of William & Mary
Collection
Identifier: UA 151
Scope and Contents
Appointment of Edmund Gibson, Bishop of London, as Chancellor of the College of William & Mary, dated April 2, 1729. Written in Latin on parchment, it is signed by James Blair, who was both President of William & Mary and Rector of the Board of Visitors in 1729. The appointment also features the original college seal.
Dates:
1729 April 2
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard Randolph Letter to William B. Randolph, 1855 May 21
Collection
Identifier: UA 345
Scope and Contents
Letter written by Richard Randolph to William B. Randolph of Chatsworth (near Richmond, Va.), dated May 21, 1855. Richard Randolph introduces himself as being selected by William & Mary faculty as their agent to solicit financial aid for the College, "an unpleasant task, which I could not decline." He appeals to William Randolph by comparing Plymouth and Bunker Hill, Massachusetts to Jamestown and Yorktown, Virginia ("the provident Yankee and the 'chivalrous Virginian'"), mentions that...
Dates:
1855 May 21
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tracy Melton COVID-19 Photograph Collection
Collection
Identifier: MS 00327
Scope and Contents
Collection includes 100 digital photographs of William & Mary's campus during the COVID-19 pandemic, as well as 188 digital photographs of Downtown Williamsburg businesses with posted signs noting COVID-19 closures, remote services, and other operational information. Each business is photographed, with close-ups of the individual signage.
Dates:
2020 March 29 - April 13
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center