Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results
New Search
Search collections where
  • keyword(s): "Benjamin Stoddert Ewell"

Showing Results: 11 - 15 of 15

William G. Stanard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00579
Scope and Contents Letters, 1888-1928, written to William G. Stanard, secretary of the Virginia Historical Society and editor of the Virginia Magazine of History and Biography concerning historical and genealogical matters. Includes letters from Benjamin Stoddert Ewell, J. Franklin Jameson, Lyon G. Tyler, and W. A. R. Goodwin. Some of the letters concern the College of William and Mary and the history of Williamsburg, Va. June 15, 1925, letter from W. G. Stanard to E.G. Swem concerning a portrait of General R. E....

Maria to Elizabeth Ewell Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01106
Scope and Contents Letter, 1859 October 30, from someone named Maria to Elizabeth S. Ewell, daughter of College of William and Mary president Benjamin S. Ewell. In the letter, the author writes about life in Williamsburg, Virginia, the engagements of local men including professor Edwin Taliaferro to Bland Tucker, the Williamsburg Female Academy, and the loss of George T. Wilmer as rector of Bruton Parish Church.

Page-Saunders Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 P15
Scope and Contents Correspondence and papers of members of the Page and Saunders families. Includes correspondence of Margaret Lowther Page of "Rosewell," Gloucester County, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. with her daughter Lucy Burwell Page Saunders and her son-in-law Robert Saunders. The collection includes a diary, 1826, of Robert Saunders while on a trip from New York to Le Havre; published stories of Lucy Burwell Page Saunders; manuscript stories by Roberta Saunders; and correspondence of Robert Page Saunders....

Joseph E. Johnston Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 J63
Scope and Contents Papers of Joseph E. Johnston, C.S.A. General during the American Civil War, including correspondence which reflect his long military career and interest in his nephews, John Warfield Johnston and John Preston Johnston. The papers include a diary, 1857, of Johnston's survey of the southern boundary of Kansas and eighteen volumes of Civil War dispatches and telegrams. The collection also includes a diary, 1 May-31 July 1864, of Thomas B. Mackall; letters received by Louis...

Board of Visitors Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 1
Scope and Contents The records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary includes meeting minutes and agendas, matriculation books, correspondence, material from Board of Visitors Rectors Oscar L. Shewmake and Roy Harvey Chappell, Jr., publications, and audio recordings of meetings from 1961-1999. An index to Board of Visitors meetings for the period 1947-1984 is available in the Special Collections Research Center. Researchers are also encouraged to consult the University Archives...

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 10
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 9
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Financial records 4
Photographs 4
∨ more
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Account books 2
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Diaries 2
Engravings (Prints) 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Minutes 2
Programs 2
Publications 2
Typescripts 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
African Americans--Virginia--Suffrage 1
American periodicals--Virginia--History 1
Armistead family 1
Astronomy--Study and teaching 1
Atlanta Campaign, 1864 1
Awards and Scholarships--Jones, Tiberius Gracchus, Prize 1
Booklets 1
Buildings and Grounds--College Cemetery 1
Bull Run, 1st Battle of, Va., 1861 1
Burial records 1
Bylaws 1
Cary T. Grayson Memorial Scholarships 1
Certificates 1
Charles and Virginia Duke Award 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Cocke family 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Confederate States of America. Army Virginia Infantry Regiment, 15th. Company B 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Longstreets I Corps Alexander's Battalion. Parker's Battery 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889--Iconography 1
Democratic Party (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Diplomas 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Genealogy 1
Georgia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Hampden-Sydney College 1
Henrico County (Va.)--History 1
History of the College 1
Jefferson Award for Teaching 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 1
Legal documents 1
Letter books 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Lord Botetourt Award 1
Marshall and Rhodes Scholarships 1
Martin Luther King, Jr., Memorial Scholarship 1
Memorandums 1
Pamela C. Harriman Foreign Service Fellowship 1
Photography, Stereoscopic 1
Poems 1
Powhatan County (Va.) 1
President's House (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Randolph family 1
Reconstruction 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)--Virginia 1
Reports 1
Richmond (Va.)--History 1
Scrapbooks 1
Slides (photographs) 1
Sound Recordings 1
Spring Awards 1
Student housing 1
Study and teaching 1
United States Military Academy 1
Universities and colleges--Administration--United States 1
Virginia--Militia--History--War of 1812 1
Virginia. Constitutional Convention (1901-1902) 1
Virginia. Militia. Wise Light Infantry 1
Voting--Virginia--History 1
Washington and Lee University--History--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Post Office 1
Women--Education--Virginia 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
∧ less
 
Names
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 8
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 4
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 4
Ewell, Elizabeth S., 1814- 3
Office of the President 3
∨ more
Armistead Family 2
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
Alfriend, Frank H., 1841-1887 1
Alfriend, Frank Heath 1
Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award 1
Armistead, Cary Champion, d. 1944 1
Armistead, Dora Travis, 1890-1979 1
Armistead, Rowland Cara 1
Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 1
Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Award 1
Blackstone Female Institute (Va.) 1
Bragg, Braxton, 1817-1876 1
Chappell, R. Harvey (Robert Harvey), 1926- 1
Charles, John S., 1851-1930 1
Cocke Family 1
Cocke, Edmund Randolph, 1841-1922 1
Cocke, Thomas Lewis Preston, 1838-1895 1
Cocke, William Fauntleroy, 1826-1863 1
Cocke, William Fauntleroy, 1836-1863 1
Cocke, William, 1798-1855 1
Cocke, William, fl. 1798-1855 1
Cole Family 1
Cole, Henry Denison, 1856-1938 1
College of William and Mary 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
Dacor Bacon House Foundation Fellowship 1
Darling, Flora Adams, 1840-1910 1
Davis, Varina, 1826-1906 1
Drapers Company Exchange Scholarship 1
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 1
Ewell family 1
Ferguson, George Oscar, Jr 1
Gantt, Thomas T. (Thomas Tasker), 1814-1889 1
Gorgas, Josiah, 1818-1883 1
Hampton, Wade, 1818-1902 1
Hill, D. H. (Daniel Harvey), 1821-1889 1
Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 1
James Frederic Carr Cup 1
Jefferson Davis Monument Association (Richmond, Va.) 1
Johnston, George Ben, 1853-1916 1
Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 1
Laurie Lucker Blount Award 1
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 1
Longstreet, James, 1821-1904 1
Morrison, Robert John, 1825-1861 1
Page family 1
Preston family 1
Register of Scholarships and Fellowships 1
Roberts, William Thomas 1
Rockefeller, Abby Greene Aldrich 1
Rockefeller, John D. (John Davison), 1874-1960 1
Rockefeller, Jr., John D. (Davison), 1874-1960 1
Rogers, Powell Burwell, 1909-1976 1
Saunders family 1
Saunders, Robert, 1805-1868 1
Seddon, James Alexander, 1815-1880 1
Sherman, William Tecumseh, 1820-1891 1
Shewmake, Oscar L., 1882-1963 1
Stanard, William G. 1
Taliaferro, Edwin 1
The Model School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 1
Washington, Booker T., 1856-1915 1
Williamsburg Female Academy (Williamsburg, Va) 1
∧ less