Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results
New Search
Search collections where
  • keyword(s): "Benjamin Stoddert Ewell"

Showing Results: 1 - 4 of 4

Office of the President. Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.06
Scope and Contents Collection includes biographical materials, writings, and correspondence. This is an artificial collection of correspondence, 1848-1898, of and concerning Benjamin Stoddert Ewell while he was serving on the faculty and as president of the College of William and Mary. Prominent correspondents include: Ambrose Burnside, Ulysses S. Grant, Hugh Blair Grigsby, John Johns, Joseph E. Johnston, Robert McCandlish, Matthew Fontaine Maury, George Gordon Meade, Charles Minnigerode, William...

Robert John Morrison Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.048
Scope and Contents This collection contains miscellaneous papers about Robert John Morrison and a photocopy of his work College of William and Mary. The volume includes information about the President's House, student housing, and Benjamin Ewell.

Page-Saunders Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 P15
Scope and Contents Correspondence and papers of members of the Page and Saunders families. Includes correspondence of Margaret Lowther Page of "Rosewell," Gloucester County, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. with her daughter Lucy Burwell Page Saunders and her son-in-law Robert Saunders. The collection includes a diary, 1826, of Robert Saunders while on a trip from New York to Le Havre; published stories of Lucy Burwell Page Saunders; manuscript stories by Roberta Saunders; and correspondence of Robert Page Saunders....

Joseph E. Johnston Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 J63
Scope and Contents Papers of Joseph E. Johnston, C.S.A. General during the American Civil War, including correspondence which reflect his long military career and interest in his nephews, John Warfield Johnston and John Preston Johnston. The papers include a diary, 1857, of Johnston's survey of the southern boundary of Kansas and eighteen volumes of Civil War dispatches and telegrams. The collection also includes a diary, 1 May-31 July 1864, of Thomas B. Mackall; letters received by Louis...