Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results
New Search
Search collections where
  • keyword(s): "Benjamin Stoddert Ewell"

Showing Results: 1 - 10 of 15

Office of the President. Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.06
Scope and Contents Collection includes biographical materials, writings, and correspondence. This is an artificial collection of correspondence, 1848-1898, of and concerning Benjamin Stoddert Ewell while he was serving on the faculty and as president of the College of William and Mary. Prominent correspondents include: Ambrose Burnside, Ulysses S. Grant, Hugh Blair Grigsby, John Johns, Joseph E. Johnston, Robert McCandlish, Matthew Fontaine Maury, George Gordon Meade, Charles Minnigerode, William...

Awards and Scholarships Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 183
Scope and Contents This collection includes material related to awards and prizes presented by the College of William and Mary to students and faculty.

Elizabeth Ewell Letter and Benjamin Ewell Photographs

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00432
Content Description 6 page letter from Elizabeth L. Ewell to her brother, Benjamin Ewell dated November 24, 1876. The entirety of the letter consists of her opinions regarding a monument for her mother's grave at the William and Mary burial site. A transcribed copy is stored with the letter. Accompanying the letter is a copy of a news paper article that describes the college grave site. Also in this collection are two photographs of Benjamin Ewell, President of William and Mary. One photograph depicts him...

Jefferson Davis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 D31
Scope and Contents Papers include correspondence, 1884-1885, of Jefferson Davis and correspondence, 1890-1904, of Varina Howell Davis with Flora Adams Darling; and a ledger, 1858, believed to be the mailing list for Davis while United States Senator from Mississippi; and correspondence, 1904, of Jefferson Davis Monument Association of Richmond, Va. Includes letter, 25 January 1890, of Varina Davis to Benjamin Stoddert Ewell. Also includes broadside, 1862, of Davis' Inaugural Address; and program, 1893, of...

Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...

Thomas L. Alfriend Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00269
Scope and Contents Chiefly letters, 1861-1865, from Thomas L. Alfriend (1843-1901) Sergeant, of Company B, 15th Virginia Infantry and Parken's Battery, Alexander's Battalion, Longstreet's Corps, Army of Northern Virginia, from camps in Virginia and Tennessee to family members in Richmond, Virginia. Includes letter dated May 26, 1861 from Alfriend while stationed in Williamsburg, Virginia.The addition contains 25 typewritten pages of transcripts of letters by Jefferson Davis, James Seddon and others...

Dora and Cara Armistead Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2004.24, 2006.54
Scope and Contents Papers from the household of Dora Travis Armistead (1890-1979) and Rowland Cara Armistead, sisters of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes letters, personal, financial and business papers of Cary Peyton Armistead (1856-1901), father of Dora and Cara, Steward of Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), and prominent local Episcopal Church and school leader; Eudora Ester Armistead (d. 1940), mother; Cary Champion Armistead (d. 1944), brother, and lawyer for a time in Detroit, Michigan;...

Armistead-Cocke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Ar6
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1756-1764, of Maria Carter Armistead (including letters written by Mrs. Thomas Feilde); business papers, 1782-1828, of William Cocke of "Bremo," Henrico County, Virginia and of "Oakland," Cumberland County, Virginia; and letters, 1861-1863, of William Fauntleroy Cocke, Thomas Lewis Preston Cocke and Edmund Randolph Cocke concerning their service in the Confederate States Army (including the Battle of First Bull Run).Also included are five volumes of farm and account...

Henry Denison Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F. Cole...

Robert John Morrison Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.048
Scope and Contents This collection contains miscellaneous papers about Robert John Morrison and a photocopy of his work College of William and Mary. The volume includes information about the President's House, student housing, and Benjamin Ewell.

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 10
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 9
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Financial records 4
Photographs 4
∨ more
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Account books 2
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Diaries 2
Engravings (Prints) 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Minutes 2
Programs 2
Publications 2
Typescripts 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
African Americans--Virginia--Suffrage 1
American periodicals--Virginia--History 1
Armistead family 1
Astronomy--Study and teaching 1
Atlanta Campaign, 1864 1
Awards and Scholarships--Jones, Tiberius Gracchus, Prize 1
Booklets 1
Buildings and Grounds--College Cemetery 1
Bull Run, 1st Battle of, Va., 1861 1
Burial records 1
Bylaws 1
Cary T. Grayson Memorial Scholarships 1
Certificates 1
Charles and Virginia Duke Award 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Cocke family 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Confederate States of America. Army Virginia Infantry Regiment, 15th. Company B 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Longstreets I Corps Alexander's Battalion. Parker's Battery 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889--Iconography 1
Democratic Party (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Diplomas 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Genealogy 1
Georgia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Hampden-Sydney College 1
Henrico County (Va.)--History 1
History of the College 1
Jefferson Award for Teaching 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 1
Legal documents 1
Letter books 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Lord Botetourt Award 1
Marshall and Rhodes Scholarships 1
Martin Luther King, Jr., Memorial Scholarship 1
Memorandums 1
Pamela C. Harriman Foreign Service Fellowship 1
Photography, Stereoscopic 1
Poems 1
Powhatan County (Va.) 1
President's House (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Randolph family 1
Reconstruction 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)--Virginia 1
Reports 1
Richmond (Va.)--History 1
Scrapbooks 1
Slides (photographs) 1
Sound Recordings 1
Spring Awards 1
Student housing 1
Study and teaching 1
United States Military Academy 1
Universities and colleges--Administration--United States 1
Virginia--Militia--History--War of 1812 1
Virginia. Constitutional Convention (1901-1902) 1
Virginia. Militia. Wise Light Infantry 1
Voting--Virginia--History 1
Washington and Lee University--History--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Post Office 1
Women--Education--Virginia 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
∧ less
 
Names
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 8
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 5
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 4
Ewell, Elizabeth S., 1814- 3
Office of the President 3
∨ more
Armistead Family 2
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
Alfriend, Frank H., 1841-1887 1
Alfriend, Frank Heath 1
Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award 1
Armistead, Cary Champion, d. 1944 1
Armistead, Dora Travis, 1890-1979 1
Armistead, Rowland Cara 1
Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 1
Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Award 1
Blackstone Female Institute (Va.) 1
Bragg, Braxton, 1817-1876 1
Chappell, R. Harvey (Robert Harvey), 1926- 1
Charles, John S., 1851-1930 1
Cocke Family 1
Cocke, Edmund Randolph, 1841-1922 1
Cocke, Thomas Lewis Preston, 1838-1895 1
Cocke, William Fauntleroy, 1826-1863 1
Cocke, William Fauntleroy, 1836-1863 1
Cocke, William, 1798-1855 1
Cocke, William, fl. 1798-1855 1
Cole Family 1
Cole, Henry Denison, 1856-1938 1
College of William and Mary 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
Dacor Bacon House Foundation Fellowship 1
Darling, Flora Adams, 1840-1910 1
Davis, Varina, 1826-1906 1
Drapers Company Exchange Scholarship 1
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 1
Ewell family 1
Ferguson, George Oscar, Jr 1
Gantt, Thomas T. (Thomas Tasker), 1814-1889 1
Gorgas, Josiah, 1818-1883 1
Hampton, Wade, 1818-1902 1
Hill, D. H. (Daniel Harvey), 1821-1889 1
Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 1
James Frederic Carr Cup 1
Jefferson Davis Monument Association (Richmond, Va.) 1
Johnston, George Ben, 1853-1916 1
Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 1
Laurie Lucker Blount Award 1
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 1
Longstreet, James, 1821-1904 1
Morrison, Robert John, 1825-1861 1
Page family 1
Preston family 1
Register of Scholarships and Fellowships 1
Roberts, William Thomas 1
Rockefeller, Abby Greene Aldrich 1
Rockefeller, John D. (John Davison), 1874-1960 1
Rockefeller, Jr., John D. (Davison), 1874-1960 1
Rogers, Powell Burwell, 1909-1976 1
Saunders family 1
Saunders, Robert, 1805-1868 1
Seddon, James Alexander, 1815-1880 1
Sherman, William Tecumseh, 1820-1891 1
Shewmake, Oscar L., 1882-1963 1
Stanard, William G. 1
Taliaferro, Edwin 1
The Model School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 1
Washington, Booker T., 1856-1915 1
Williamsburg Female Academy (Williamsburg, Va) 1
∧ less