Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 4541 - 4550 of 4597

World War I Posters

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.338
Scope and Contents Ten posters from the World War I era for the Red Cross and Victory Loans. Please note, posters are fragile and will require careful handling.Red Cross (8 posters): "Is There a Red Cross Service Flag in your Home? A heart and a dollar are all you need, join the Red Cross" Printed by the Wells Fargo and Co. and Seiter and Kappes Litho Co., NY; "Ten Million new members by Christmas. Join the Red Cross and On Christmas Eve, a Candle in Every Window, a Service Flag for Every Home;"...

World War I Recruitment Broadside

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00263
Scope and Contents World War I advertisement for various jobs within the United States Army.  Distinguishes white from colored job options.  Advertisement states, "Red Blooded Americans Within the Draft Age Step Forward"  Broadside is from Charlston, WV, recruitment contact, Captain Breckenridge Jones.

World War I Red Cross Hospital Train Photograph Album, circa

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00040
Scope and Contents This album contains eleven silver gelatin prints of the train's interior plus one RPPC depicting a machine gun unit. The images of the hospital train interiors include unidentified soldiers and medical staff.

World War I Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.309
Scope and Contents Scrapbook pages from the unbound scrapbook of an unidentified member of the 78th Infantry Division of the U.S. Army, on duty in France from the time of his departure from New York on May 19, 1918 to his return and discharge on May 29, 1919.

World War II Photo Album

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.034
Scope and Contents Photo album of a U.S. American soldier documenting his WWII tour of duty in Japan, circa 1945-1946. Includes photos of Okinawa, Nagasaki, Naha, Ominato, Tokyo, Nagasaki, Sasebo, Fukuoka, Kagoshima, Matsuyama, Kure, Hiroshima, and Kyota. While some photos are more of a sightseeing nature, many depict American service men and army camps, Japanese prisoners of war, and destroyed cities, including Hiroshima and Nagasaki after the atomic bombing. All pages and and most photos have brief handwritten...

World War II Stereograms, Postcards, and Artifacts

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00891
Scope and Contents Stereograph cards, some printed by the Keystone View Company, of scenes from World War II, including a hospital scene, burned wreck of a Zeppelin, grave of Lieut. Quentin Roosevelt, pontoon bridge inspection, bugle call, french flower lady decorating a soldier and clothing issue at Ft. Lee, Virginia.

A blue ribbon with name plate "Lutz" and silk baglike item with "Hankies" and "U.S. Army, Fort Lewis, Wash." printed on it have been transferred to the artifact collection.

World war through the stereoscope [graphic]

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.178
Scope and Contents 100 photographic prints on stereo cards (stereographs, b&w ; 9 x 18 cm. in case 19 x 19 cm) from the Keystone View Company's Stereographic Library Series (Rare Book Call No. D522 .W67). The slides were produced in 1923, but the photographs were taken from 1914-1921. The stereoscopic views depict World War I scenes with lengthy captions (on back of cards). Included are images of battlefields and trenches, armaments, cavalry, buildings, hospitals and cemeteries, dirigibles, German...

World's Fairs Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2004.046, Mss. Acc. 2012.240
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 2004.046 consists of a scrapbook of newspaper and magazine clippings from the Chicago World's Fair in 1933.

Mss. Acc. 2012.240 contains the 1933 and 1934 Chicago World's Fair guidebooks, which provide maps and detailed information about the various exhibitions at the fair. The Theme of the fair was "A Century of Progress."

Asa Worthington Letter to Ebenezer Foote

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00599
Scope and Contents Letter from A[sa] Worthington, Rariton, to Ebenezer Foot[e], Crumpond {?} about not being responsible for the cattle on the east side of the North River; his hope to tour Colchester [Connecticut] and wish to visit him and Mr. Kellogg; expresses need for them to travel eastward together; mentions the possibility of sleighing.  January 3, 1779.  Includes typescript.

C. L. Worthington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 W89
Scope and Contents The collection also contains miscellaneous manuscripts and account books. Included in this material are: land grants, 1761 and 1766, for land in Fairfax and Frederick counties, Va.; eighty-five survey maps of Frederick, Fauquier, and Loudoun counties, Va. and Berkeley and Hampshire counties, W. Va.; road petitions, 1743-1828, for Frederick County; affidavits for Revolutionary War service; correspondence, 1923-1930, of the Improved Order of Redmen, Great Council of Virginia; letters written to...

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 906
Account books 504
Photographs 383
College of William and Mary--Students 344
Diaries 319
∨ more
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 274
Financial records 273
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 255
Scrapbooks 248
Legal documents 205
Letters (correspondence) 205
Ledgers (Accounting) 198
Reports 168
Notebooks 161
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 151
World War, 1939-1945 151
Receipts (financial records) 149
Fliers (printed matter) 146
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 134
Minutes 127
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 121
Programs 121
Women--Diaries 112
Manuscripts (document genre) 108
Clippings (information artifacts) 95
Publications 83
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 78
Pamphlets 77
Journals (accounts) 76
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 70
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 65
Newsletters 63
Genealogy 59
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 59
Typescripts 58
Booklets 57
World War, 1914-1918 57
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 55
Certificates 54
Printed ephemera 54
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 52
Diaries--Male authors 52
Poems 50
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 48
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 46
Invitations 45
Newspapers 45
Postcards 45
Virginia--Genealogy 42
Speeches, addresses, etc. 41
Women college students 41
Class materials 40
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 40
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 40
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 39
Agendas (administrative records) 38
Speeches 38
Photocopies 37
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 37
Invoices 36
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 36
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 36
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 36
Women--Travel 36
Autograph albums 35
Daybooks 35
Memorandums 35
New York (State)--Social life and customs 35
Announcements 34
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 34
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 32
Minute books 32
United States--Politics and Government 32
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 32
Accounts 31
American poetry--19th century 31
College of William and Mary--Students--Social life and customs 31
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 31
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 30
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 30
World War, 1939-1945--United States 30
Maps 29
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 29
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 28
Business records 26
Photostats 26
Recipes 26
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 26
Athletics 25
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 25
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 25
Transcripts 25
Virginia--Governors 25
World War, 1914-1918--France 25
Teenage girls--Diaries 24
United States--History--War of 1812 24
Virginia--History 24
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 24
Grain--Milling 23
Merchants--United States--History--19th century 23
∧ less
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 247
College of William and Mary. 122
Gary Alonzo Barranger 113
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 102
College of William and Mary 72
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Faculty 36
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 28
Office of the President 27
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 26
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 25
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 24
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 23
College of William and Mary. School of Education 21
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 21
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 20
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 18
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 18
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 18
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 18
College of William and Mary--Sports 17
Madison, James, 1749-1812 17
United States. Army. 17
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 16
Barranger & Company, Inc. 15
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 15
State Male Normal College of Virginia 15
William III, King of England, 1650-1702 15
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 14
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 14
Monroe, James, 1758-1831 14
College of William and Mary. Department of Athletics. 13
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 13
United States Congress 13
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 12
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 12
University of Virginia 12
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 12
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 11
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 11
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 11
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 11
United States. Army 11
Virginia House of Delegates 11
Washington, George, 1732-1799 11
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 10
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 10
United States Navy 10
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 10
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 9
Choir and Chorus 9
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 9
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 9
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 9
Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs. 9
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 9
Tucker family 9
Tyler Family 9
Camp Peary (Va.) 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Anthropology 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 8
Democratic Party (U.S.) 8
Development Office--Endowment Association 8
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 8
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 8
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 8
Mary II, Queen of England, 1662-1694 8
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 8
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 8
Republican Party (U.S.) 8
Society of the Alumni 8
Student Activities 8
Swem, E. G. (Earl Gregg), 1870-1965 8
Virginia State Senate 8
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 8
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 7
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Biology 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Physics 7
College of William and Mary. University Archives. 7
Democratic Party (Va.) 7
Galt family 7
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 7
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 7
Madison, James, 1751-1836 7
Nichol, Gene R., 1951- 7
Student Life--1990's 7
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 7
Verkuil, Paul R 7
Washington family 7
Whig Party (U.S.) 7
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 7
American Red Cross 6
Buchanan, James, 1791-1868 6
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 6
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852 6
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 6
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 6
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 6
Eastern Lunatic Asylum (Va.) 6
∧ less