Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 4511 - 4520 of 4599

John W. Wise Letter to John E. Roller

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00597
Scope and Contents Letter from John S. Wise, Richmond, [Virginia] to Gen. John E. Roller about meeting him in Staunton, [Virginia]. June 30, 1884.

Richard A. Wise Letters, 1861, 1880

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.095
Scope and Contents The Jan. 9, 1861 letter was written to his father, Henry. Wise mentions the organization of students into a military company under "Old Buck" (President Benjamin S. Ewell) and describes both the uniform and the arms. He also mentions that mail delivery service between Williamsburg and Norfolk has been changed.

His Aug. 26, 1880 letter is to the Board of Visitors, resigning his position as professor of chemistry.

Wissler-Mayer Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.223
Scope and Contents Papers, circa 1830s-1950s, of the Wissler, Mayer, and Erb families of Grottoes and Columbia Furnace, Virginia, and Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Included are photographs, an autograph album, a manuscript cookbook, receipts, two ledgers, a Bible and hymn book, a Wissler family record for the descendants of William Franklin Wissler and Elizabeth Mayer (m. 1890), and correspondence.

For a more detailed description see finding aid link below.

George Withers World War II Posters

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2013.272
Scope and Contents Posters featuring works illustrated by George Withers while an artist at the European Theater of Operations in Paris, France during World War II. Includes the first page of a letter home to his wife Virginia, Victory in Europe (V-E) Day in Paris, liberated Paris in the summer of 1945, and the Cirque de Paris. There are also two commercial illustrations by George Withers which include a movie poster and a drawing of Walt Whitman's birthplace on Long Island.

WM: Wizards & Muggles Club Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.007
Scope and Contents WM: Wizards and Muggles is a student club for fans of the Harry Potter books and films.

The items in this collection include a Quidditch Cup (2006), an introductory letter from the Head of House for Gryffindor (sealed with a wax seal), a flyer for the Harry Potter Party (co-sponsored with Alma Mater Productions) and a t-shirt.

The WM: Wizards and Muggles webpage has also been archived.

Woman's Christian Temperance Union (Ft. Smith, Arkansas) Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.780
Scope and Contents Minutes, financial ledgers, correspondence, printed material, and religious ephemera, 1882-1960, relating to a chapter of the Woman's Christian Temperance Union in Ft. Smith, Arkansas, from the home of Grace Shipley Collins.

Woman's Club of Williamsburg Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1998.35 and Additions
Scope and Contents Scrapbooks, yearbooks, photographs, minutes and correspondence showing the activities, projects, causes and meetings of the Woman's Club of Williamsburg.  The Woman's Club was founded to mostly help local schools.

Women Students' Cooperative Government Association Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.044
Scope and Contents The collection includes meeting minutes, decisions, handbooks, announcements, constitutions, Women's Dorm Association Handbooks, The W&M Woman, A Handbook for Women Students published by the Women's Activities Council for 1966/67, and other related material. One volume of minutes of meetings of the WSCGA Judicial Council for 1935-1949 (Acc. 1982.057), which would otherwise have been restricted, had the names of individuals excised to protect their privacy while still making the...

Women's Army Corps Album

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00064
Scope and Contents Photograph album containing 196 pictures of women in the Women's Army Corps (WAC).  Some of the photographs are labeled, but most contain no means of identification of the persons photographed.  One photograph, featuring women marching with gas masks, is a photograph that was widely distributed during and after World War II.  Many of the photographs feature women in uniforms, marching in formation, and life in the women's barracks. There are also women enjoying liberty at beach locations, on...

Women's Athletic Association Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 83
Scope and Contents This collection consists of three minute books of the Women's Athletic Association at the College of William and Mary covering 1923-1937, 1937-1958, and 1960-1962. The books also contain several constitutions.

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 906
Account books 504
Photographs 383
College of William and Mary--Students 344
Diaries 319
∨ more
Financial records 274
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 274
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 255
Scrapbooks 248
Legal documents 206
Letters (correspondence) 206
Ledgers (Accounting) 198
Reports 169
Notebooks 161
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 151
World War, 1939-1945 151
Receipts (financial records) 149
Fliers (printed matter) 146
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 134
Minutes 127
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 121
Programs 121
Women--Diaries 112
Manuscripts (document genre) 108
Clippings (information artifacts) 95
Publications 83
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 78
Pamphlets 77
Journals (accounts) 76
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 70
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 65
Newsletters 63
Genealogy 59
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 59
Typescripts 58
Booklets 57
World War, 1914-1918 57
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 55
Certificates 54
Printed ephemera 54
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 52
Diaries--Male authors 52
Poems 50
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 48
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 46
Invitations 45
Newspapers 45
Postcards 45
Virginia--Genealogy 42
Speeches, addresses, etc. 41
Women college students 41
Class materials 40
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 40
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 40
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 39
Agendas (administrative records) 38
Speeches 38
Photocopies 37
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 37
Invoices 36
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 36
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 36
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 36
Women--Travel 36
Autograph albums 35
Daybooks 35
Memorandums 35
New York (State)--Social life and customs 35
Announcements 34
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 34
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 32
Minute books 32
United States--Politics and Government 32
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 32
Accounts 31
American poetry--19th century 31
College of William and Mary--Students--Social life and customs 31
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 31
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 30
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 30
World War, 1939-1945--United States 30
Maps 29
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 29
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 28
Athletics 26
Business records 26
Photostats 26
Recipes 26
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 26
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 25
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 25
Transcripts 25
Virginia--Governors 25
World War, 1914-1918--France 25
Teenage girls--Diaries 24
United States--History--War of 1812 24
Virginia--History 24
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 24
Grain--Milling 23
Merchants--United States--History--19th century 23
∧ less
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 247
College of William and Mary. 122
Gary Alonzo Barranger 113
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 102
College of William and Mary 72
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Faculty 36
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 28
Office of the President 27
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 26
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 25
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 25
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 23
College of William and Mary. School of Education 21
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 21
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 20
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 18
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 18
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 18
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 18
College of William and Mary--Sports 17
Madison, James, 1749-1812 17
United States. Army. 17
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 16
Barranger & Company, Inc. 15
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 15
State Male Normal College of Virginia 15
William III, King of England, 1650-1702 15
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 14
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 14
Monroe, James, 1758-1831 14
College of William and Mary. Department of Athletics. 13
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 13
United States Congress 13
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 12
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 12
University of Virginia 12
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 12
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 11
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 11
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 11
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 11
United States. Army 11
Virginia House of Delegates 11
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 11
Washington, George, 1732-1799 11
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 10
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 10
United States Navy 10
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 9
Choir and Chorus 9
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 9
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 9
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 9
Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs. 9
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 9
Tucker family 9
Tyler Family 9
Camp Peary (Va.) 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Anthropology 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 8
Democratic Party (U.S.) 8
Development Office--Endowment Association 8
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 8
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 8
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 8
Mary II, Queen of England, 1662-1694 8
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 8
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 8
Republican Party (U.S.) 8
Society of the Alumni 8
Student Activities 8
Swem, E. G. (Earl Gregg), 1870-1965 8
Virginia State Senate 8
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 8
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 7
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Biology 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Physics 7
College of William and Mary. University Archives. 7
Democratic Party (Va.) 7
Galt family 7
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 7
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 7
Madison, James, 1751-1836 7
Nichol, Gene R., 1951- 7
Student Life--1990's 7
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 7
Verkuil, Paul R 7
Washington family 7
Whig Party (U.S.) 7
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 7
American Red Cross 6
Buchanan, James, 1791-1868 6
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 6
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852 6
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 6
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 6
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 6
Eastern Lunatic Asylum (Va.) 6
∧ less