Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 4471 - 4480 of 4653

William M. Foster & Co.

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame37-39
Scope and Contents Two journals and a ledger, 1884-1889, of William M. Foster & Co., merchants, of Columbia, Fluvanna County, Va.

William M. Long Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00044
Scope and Contents Letters written from Private William M. Long during World War II.  Most of them are to his wife, Glenora.  There are also letters from Mrs. Long to her husband.  Long was stationed at Camp Lee, Virginia.  Long served with the Headquarters Detachment 13th Army Service Forces, Infantry Regiment while at Fort Lee.

William Mann Fee Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Lev1
Scope and Contents Fee book, 1800-1818, of William Mann, Marshall [U. S. District Court] of Virginia, listing fees for serving legal papers. The volumes also includes account, 1814-1815, with laborers, a list, 1821, of bonds due to Mann, and notes, 1877, concerning the Gresham family.

William McCoy Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV At1
Scope and Contents Journal, 1827-1830, of [William McCoy?] which was also used as a ledger and kept in Lexington, Virginia.  He appears to be a tailor.

William Meade Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 74 M46
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1807-1861, of the Right Reverend William Meade who was a minister of the Protestant Episcopal Church and third Bishop of the Church in Virginia. The early correspondence pertains to his studies at Princeton and his decision to enter the ministry. Subsequent correspondence deals with religious controversy, particularly after his election as Assistant Bishop of Virginia in 1829. The discipline of clergy and laity and disagreement over doctrinal issues form an important part of the...

William O. Towns Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01260
Scope and Contents Ledger of a blacksmith from Mount Olive, Shenandoah County, Virginia, 1860-1870, recording accounts with customers for such services as shoeing horses, repairing shears and wagons, etc.

The name 'William O. Towns' is written several times in the front and back cover of the volume, suggesting that he may have been the one who kept the ledger.

Names of customers are indexed in the back.

William P. Bachmann Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01216
Scope and Contents Papers, 1942-1944 of William P. Bachmann from his time as WW II Air Raid Warden for Long Beach, California. Included are handwritten notes, bulletins and correspondence from the U.S. Citizens Defense Corps, Long Beach Council of Defensem Warden Division, instruction booklets, a certificate and identification card and his appointment letter. Binder appears to contain all correspondence received during tenure as Air Raid Warden.Bachmann was in charge of several territories: South of...

William Reese Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00118
Scope and Contents Letter from William Reese to his wife dated May 4, 1862.  Reese was a soldier in the Union Army attached to Co. B. of the 103rd Penn. Volunteers.  In his letter, Reese describes the manner in which the Confederate troops evacuated the Yorktown area and how the Union "flag is now waving on the heights of Yorktown."

William Reynolds Letter Copybook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Cp10
Scope and Contents Typescript, 1771-1783 and 1796, of letter copybook I and II of William Reynolds [merchant ?] of Yorktown, Virginia.

William Rome Letters to Said

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01388
Content Description Five letters from William M. Rome to his wife, Said from Nashville, Tennessee. Rome has traveled from New York in order to find lucrative work in Nashville. He writes about missing his wife and the comforts of home.

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 921
Account books 507
Photographs 391
College of William and Mary--Students 348
Diaries 324
∨ more
Financial records 281
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 277
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 258
Scrapbooks 254
Legal documents 209
Letters (correspondence) 209
Ledgers (Accounting) 200
Reports 173
Notebooks 163
World War, 1939-1945 153
Receipts (financial records) 152
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 151
Fliers (printed matter) 149
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 138
Minutes 132
Programs 124
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 123
Women--Diaries 112
Manuscripts (document genre) 111
Clippings (information artifacts) 99
Publications 84
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 78
Pamphlets 77
Journals (accounts) 76
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 71
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 67
Newsletters 63
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 60
Booklets 59
Genealogy 59
Typescripts 58
World War, 1914-1918 57
Printed ephemera 55
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 55
Certificates 54
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 52
Diaries--Male authors 52
Poems 50
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 48
Invitations 47
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 46
Newspapers 45
Postcards 45
Virginia--Genealogy 43
Class materials 42
Speeches, addresses, etc. 41
Women college students 41
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 41
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 40
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 40
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 39
Agendas (administrative records) 38
Speeches 38
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 38
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 38
Invoices 37
Photocopies 37
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 37
Daybooks 36
Memorandums 36
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 36
Women--Travel 36
Autograph albums 35
New York (State)--Social life and customs 35
Announcements 34
Minute books 34
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 33
College of William and Mary--Students--Social life and customs 32
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 32
United States--Politics and Government 32
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 32
Accounts 31
American poetry--19th century 31
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 31
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 31
Maps 30
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 30
World War, 1939-1945--United States 30
Athletics 29
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 28
Business records 27
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 26
Photostats 26
Recipes 26
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 26
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 25
Transcripts 25
United States--History--War of 1812 25
Virginia--Governors 25
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 25
World War, 1914-1918--France 25
Teenage girls--Diaries 24
Virginia--History 24
Women--History--Virginia 24
Grain--Milling 23
∧ less
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 248
College of William and Mary. 122
Gary Alonzo Barranger 113
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 103
College of William and Mary 75
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Faculty 36
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 29
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 29
Office of the President 27
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 26
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 25
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 24
College of William and Mary. School of Education 22
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 21
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 20
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 20
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 19
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 18
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 18
Madison, James, 1749-1812 18
College of William and Mary--Sports 17
United States. Army. 17
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 16
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 16
Barranger & Company, Inc. 15
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 15
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 15
State Male Normal College of Virginia 15
William III, King of England, 1650-1702 15
Monroe, James, 1758-1831 14
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 14
College of William and Mary. Department of Athletics. 13
United States Congress 13
University of Virginia 13
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 12
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 12
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 12
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 12
Virginia House of Delegates 12
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 12
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 11
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 11
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 11
United States. Army 11
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 11
Washington, George, 1732-1799 11
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 10
Tucker family 10
Tyler Family 10
United States Navy 10
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 9
Choir and Chorus 9
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 9
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 9
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 9
Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs. 9
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 9
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 9
Student Activities 9
Camp Peary (Va.) 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Anthropology 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Physics 8
Development Office--Endowment Association 8
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 8
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 8
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 8
Mary II, Queen of England, 1662-1694 8
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 8
Republican Party (U.S.) 8
Society of the Alumni 8
Swem, E. G. (Earl Gregg), 1870-1965 8
Virginia State Senate 8
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 8
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 7
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 7
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Biology 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 7
College of William and Mary. University Archives. 7
Democratic Party (U.S.) 7
Democratic Party (Va.) 7
Galt family 7
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 7
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 7
Madison, James, 1751-1836 7
Nichol, Gene R., 1951- 7
Student Life--1990's 7
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 7
Verkuil, Paul R 7
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 7
Washington family 7
Whig Party (U.S.) 7
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 7
American Red Cross 6
Associated and Branch Campuses--Virginia Associated Research Campus 6
Buchanan, James, 1791-1868 6
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 6
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852 6
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Government 6
∧ less