Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 39

Alexander Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00360
Scope and Contents This collection contains the papers of the Alexander family of Mecklenburg Co., Va. It includes the letters of Sally Parker (Turner) Alexander, a letter from Lt. Norfleet Smith of Co. G, 3rd N. C. Cavalry, Barringer's Brigade, requesting 12 hour leave of absence, and a letter from Mark T. Alexander, Rosser's Cavalry Division, to his mother Sally Park (Turner) Alexander concerning disagreement between Thomas L. Rosser and Fitzhugh Lee. A list dated April 9, 1865 names the enslaved persons...

Ambler Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Am1
Scope and Contents

Letter, 20 May 1806, of Anthony Davis, New Kent County, Virginia to John Ambler, Williamsburg, Virginia, concerning horse-breeding; letter, 18 June 1814, of Thomas Chiles to Edward Ambler requesting permission to kill lambs so sick slaves can have fresh meat; promissory note, 27 Jan[uar]y 1815, from J[ohn] Ambler to W[illiam] Marshall; and check, 8 July 1849, signed by Philip St. Geo[rge] Ambler.

Armistead Shelton Letter Regarding a Fight Between Two Men Enslaved

 Collection — Container: Small Collections Box 125, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01785
Content Description Letter from Armistead Shelton to Virginia plantation owner Alan Womack concerning a dispute between a Shadrack, a man enslaved by Womack, and George, a man enslaved by Shelton. Part of the letter reads, "Shadrack and my George fout last Wednesday Morning, for which I think they both ought to be corrected as we cannot tell where it may end. I wish therefore your opinion in the case, you will please send me a line by... your opinion and what to do. I do not wish to part a Man and...

Austin-Twyman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 Au7
Scope and Contents Papers, 1765 (1800-1890) 1939, of the Austin, Twyman, Spiller and Horsley families of Amherst and Buckingham counties, Virginia.The papers include correspondence, accounts, legal papers and manuscript volumes. Includes papers of Archibald Austin (1772-1837), member of Congress, 1817-1819, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, 1815-1816, 1835-1837, his wife, Grace R. (Booker) Austin and their children, James M. Austin, John Austin and Bernard Austin, Grace Austin and Frances...

Barker-Cooke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B24
Scope and Contents

Letters and business papers, chiefly 1848-1866, of James E. Cooke of Powhatan, Virginia and the Barker family of Fluvanna County, Virginia. Includes letters relating to the hiring out of slaves, plantation operations and the Civil War. Civil War letters are between John H. Barker and Henry J. Dobbs of the 18th Virginia Regiment of the Confederate army concerning the Battle of First Bull Run/Manassas.

Berkeley Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 B44
Scope and Contents Family correspondence of the Rev. Parke Farley Berkeley, an Episcopal minister, his sister, Ann Butler (Berkeley) Berkeley, and his wife Mary Eppes (Thweatt) Berkeley; and of Mary B. Thweatt. Includes letters from Lewis Minor at Kenyon College, Gambier, Ohio. Letter, 18 February 1835, details a stagecoach ride; letter, 21 December 1844, discusses agricultural meetings and the division and sale of slaves to settle an estate; and letter, 30 August 1862, written by Charles...

Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, Whiting Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B58
Scope and Contents Letters, chiefly 1765-1817, of the Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, and Whiting families. Correspondents include John Blair (1732-1800), Anne (Blair) Banister and Mary (Blair) Braxton Burwell Prescott. Many of the letters are written by women.Subjects covered in the collection include the Baron de Botetourt, William Tryon, Martha Washington, dueling, social life and customs, marriage and courtship, medicine, the Richmond theater fire, slavery, War of 1812, the College of William...

Blankenbeker Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00472
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1847-1885, of the Blankenbeker family of Madison County, Va. which includes Smith F. Blankenbeker, James C. Blankenbeker, John M. Blankenbeker and E. F. Blankenbeker. Contains references to the Civil War.

William H. Brodnax Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 B80
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1825-1834, addressed to William H. Brodnax of Hicks Ford, Greensville County, Va. by Robert R. Barton; Thomas Ruffin (12 October 1829, concerning his opposition to changes in the Virginia Constitution); R. B. Starke (concerning a letter purportedly by [William ?] Maxwell advocating the abolition of slavery); and Robert W. Withers of Greene County, Ala.

Charles Brown Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B84
Scope and Contents Letters, accounts, and legal papers of Dr. Charles Brown. Collection includes letters, 1813-1818, concerning patients (including slaves). Includes land signed by Henry Lee and John Tyler, items relating to "Actonplace" [Acton] English estate of William Jennings and plats of land in Albemarle County, Virginia; as well as letters of members of the Brown family. Charles Brown Papers 1792-1888, Albemarle County Virginia is available on microfilm in Swem Library’s...

Campbell Family Papers II

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.41
Scope and Contents The Campbell Family Papers is a collection of business records, personal documents and photographs belonging to the Campbell and Sampson families of Albemarle County, Virginia dating from 1795 to 1945. The great majority of the documents are the business records of Joseph Watson Campbell (1795-1875). These include tax bills and receipts, accounts between Campbell and various merchants, receipts for goods and services received and rendered, promissory notes and papers relating to other family...

Cocke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C64
Scope and Contents Papers include letter, 13 March 1838, from Charles Carter at University of Virginia to C[ary] Charles Cocke; letter, n.d., of Jesse Pound to W. E. Webb; letter, 24 June [18]46, of W. E. Webb, "Loch Lomond," Goochland Co., Va. to [John Hartwell] Cocke, Bremo, Fluvanna Co., Va.; letter, 27 June 1884, of W[illiam] R[uffin] C[oleman] Cocke, Philadelphia, to Charles [Hartwell Cocke ?]; account, 1885, of Cary Charles Cocke; and list, n.d., of slaves at "Bremo" and "Lower Bremo" Fluvanna Co.,...

Darby-Parramore Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 D24
Scope and Contents

Papers, chiefly 1801-1868, of the Darby, Parramore and Higgins families of Accomack and Northampton counties, Va. Includes wills, epitaphs, letters, a list, n.d., of slaves, a certificate of dismissal, 1834, from the College of New Jersey (now Princeton University) and genealogical notes on the families.

Payroll Report Directed to Rene Edward DeRussy

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00496
Scope and Contents

Operations Payroll Report by James T. Richardson, Richmond [Va.], to Rene Edward DeRussy, Old Point Comfort, Va., 1854 June 30,  for dredging crew working on the James River under the supervision of James S. Richardson, detailing wages for both white and slave labor.

William Faber Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 F11
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1846-1860, of William Faber, merchant and justice of the peace of Nelson County, Va. Chiefly accounts but includes a deed of trust for slaves.

Henry Fairfax Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 F16
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1819-1846, to Henry Fairfax, merchant, Dumfries, Prince William County, Va. Most concern money owed to Fairfax. Letter, 1 November 1827, from James Osbourn is written on the back of a printed circular entitled "Proposals for publishing . . .Good News from a Far Country . . . ." Includes letter relating to the hiring of a slave Burwell and another letter concerning the illness of Burwell's wife; and letter, 1828, written by William B. Tyler.

James Galt Diary, 1835-1844

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D10
Scope and Contents

Diary of James Galt, of "Point of Fork," Fluvanna County, Virginia which concerns farm management on several plantations, activities of himself and his family and includes lists of clothing given out to slaves (slaves listed by family group) and includes an incident concerning the alleged poisoning of slaves (entry for 18 January 1839.)

Garth Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 G19
Scope and Contents This inventory contains personal correspondence, business correspondence and accounts, receipts, loans and promissory notes, legal documents, tax information, and land records of the Jesse Garth family, Charlottesville, Albemarle Co., Virginia, The majority of the inventory deals with correspondence chiefly from 1800-1854, between family members, mostly the adult children of Jesse and Elizabeth Garth, fl. 1798-1854, especially Lucy E. B. Garth, fl. 1820-1849; Sarah Garth Goodman, fl....

M.E. Griffin Letter

 Collection — Container: Small Collections Box 124, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01765
Content Description A letter from M. (possibly Margaret) E. Griffin to her cousin John Davis. In the letter, Griffin asks Davis to hire out or sell all of the enslaved people working on the plantation she inherited. She mentions that an enslaved man by the name of Henry struck her son Jordan, and left the plantation to go to Lynchburg without permission. Griffin states that Henry has been "increasing in insolence, till his presence can no longer be endured."Content warning for derogatory language...

Hiram Harris Letter to Jordan Smith

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01049
Scope and Contents

Letter, 1845, from Hiram Harris of Powhatan, Virginia, to Jordan Smith of Henderson, Kentucky. Includes discussion of personal and financial matters, including the fact that Smith owes Harris money from the purchase of slaves.

James Turner Clarke Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad43 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Includes accounts as a doctor in Augusta County, Virginiaa. with members of the Blakemore family and with Jedediah Hotchkiss (p. 33) and accounts of drawing up legal documents, surveying, and selling merchandise (including books, papers, and school supplies). Also contains register of births of slaves, free blacks, and whites (1857-1897).

Eliza Jones Memorandum Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af7
Scope and Contents

Kept by Eliza Jones of "Concord," Gloucester Co., Va. containing household and farm accounts, 1831-1843. Includes names of slaves and clothing purchased for them. 93 p. : bound volume ; 16 cm.

Thomas Landers Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00025
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a letter written by Thomas Landers, a private in the 16th Massachusetts Volunteers during the American Civil War, to his parents. In the letter, Landers comments on camp life during the war and the rescuing of escaped slaves in Virginia near Fortress Monroe. The partial transcription of the letter can be found in the finding aid/box list section below.

Dangerfield Lewis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L58
Scope and Contents Letters, accounts, and legal papers of Dangerfield Lewis of "Marmion" and "Chatterton," King George County, Northern Neck, Virginia. His correspondence concerns plantation management. The collection includes account books, 1821-1829 as well as agreements with overseers, bonds for the hiring of slaves and papers concerning runaway slaves. Also includes accounts, 1816-1846, of his father George Lewis, son of Col. Fielding Lewis and Betty Washington (sister of George Washington). There is a...

John W. Lewis and Lewis P. Olds Papers, 1808-1902

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.022
Scope and Contents Collection consists of the papers of three Southerners, dating predominantly from the 19th century. John W. Lewis lived in Virginia, Mississippi, and North Carolina and the portion of the collection from this Methodist minister and farmer includes references to religion including sermons, farming, and slavery. Lewis P. Olds was a North Carolina lawyer and politician and the collection includes evidence of his career as well as poetry and short stories he wrote. The remainder of the...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 20
Financial records 11
Legal documents 8
Account books 7
Receipts (financial records) 5
∨ more
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 5
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 5
Slavery--Southern States--History 4
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 3
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Diaries 3
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 3
Invoices 3
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 3
Plantation life--Southern States--History--19th century 3
United States--History--War of 1812 3
Agriculture--Southern States--History--19th century 2
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Buckingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Coaching--United States--History--19th century 2
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Genealogy 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Ledgers (Accounting) 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 2
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 2
Photographs 2
Plantation life--Virginia 2
Publications 2
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 2
Surveys (documents) 2
Tobacco--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Women--Southern States--History 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
Acton (Eng. : Estate) 1
African Americans--History--19th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--James City County 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agricultural laborers--Virginia 1
Agriculture--United States--History--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Amherst County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Antislavery movements--United States 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Bedford County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Blacksmithing--Virginia 1
Botetourt County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Bremo (Estate : Fluvanna County, Va.) 1
Broadsides 1
Brunswick County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Bull Run, 1st Battle of, Va., 1861 1
Canals--United States 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chatterton (King George County, Va.) 1
Cherokee Indians 1
Children--Southern States 1
Children--United States--History--19th century 1
Children--Virginia 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Confederate States of America. Army. North Carolina Cavalry Regiment, 3rd 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 13th 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 18th 1
Contract labor--Virginia 1
Courtship--Virginia--History 1
Daybooks 1
Deeds 1
Dueling--Virginia 1
Eastern Shore (Va.)--History 1
Episcopal Church--Clergy 1
Episcopal Church--History--19th century 1
Farm management--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Farms--Virginia--Gloucester County 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Fort Monroe (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Fugitive slaves--Virginia 1
Geometry--Study and teaching 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Greensville County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Gristmills--Virginia 1
Horses--Breeding--Virginia 1
Indians of North America 1
Industries -- Confederate States of America 1
Iron industry and trade--Virginia 1
James River (Va.)--Navigation. 1
Journals (accounts) 1
Justices of the peace--Virginia 1
∧ less
 
Names
University of Virginia 2
Alexander, Mark 1
Austin family 1
Austin, Archibald, 1772-1837 1
Banister, Anne Blair 1
∨ more
Bannister family 1
Barclay family 1
Barker Family 1
Barker family 1
Barker, John H 1
Barker, John H. 1
Blair family 1
Botetourt, Norborne Berkeley, Baron de, ca. 1718-1770 1
Boyd family 1
Braxton family 1
Brown family 1
Brown, Charles 1
Carter, Charles, 1818 1
Cloyd family 1
Cocke Family 1
Cocke, Cary Charles, 1814-1888 1
Cocke, William Ruffin Coleman, 1846-1884 1
Cooke, James E. 1
Cooke, James E. fl. 1848-1853 1
Darby family 1
Dobbs, Henry J 1
Dobbs, Henry J. 1
Francisco, Peter, d. 1831 1
Galt, James, of Fluvanna County, 1805-1876 1
Garth family 1
Griffin, M.E. 1
Harris, Hiram 1
Higgins family 1
Horner family 1
Horsley family 1
Hotchkiss, Jedediah, 1828-1899 1
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 1
Jennings, William, d. 1798 1
Landers, Thomas 1
Latting, Sally 1
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 1
Lewis, Dangerfield 1
Lewis, George 1
Lewis, George, d. 1821 1
Lewis, John W., [1808]-1885 1
Lomax, John A 1
Lomax, John A. 1
Lomax, John Tayloe, 1781-1862 1
Maury family 1
Maxwell, William, 1784-1857 1
McGavock family 1
McGavock, James, 1728-1812 1
McGavock, James, 1764-1838 1
McGavock, James, 1804-1839 1
McGavock, John Williamson, b. 1843 1
McGavock, Stephen, 1807-1880 1
Olds, Lewis P. 1
Parramore family 1
Pass, Thomas Y. 1
Perrin family 1
Perrin, John Taloe 1
Pickering, Timothy, 1745-1829 1
Potomac Steamboat and Stage Company 1
Pound, Jesse 1
Prescott, Mary Blair Braxton Burwell 1
Rosser, Thomas Lafayette 1
Russell, Edward Augustus 1
Ryland, Robert, 1805-1899 1
Shelton, Armistead 1
Spiller family 1
Strickler, M. 1
Tryon, William, 1729-1788 1
Twyman family 1
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 1
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 1
Waller, Benjamin 1
Waller, Nelson 1
Washington, Martha, 1731-1802 1
Webb, W. E. 1
Whiting family 1
Woolfolk Family 1
Woolfolk family 1
Woolfolk, John George, 1750-1819 1
Woolfolk, John William 1
Woolfolk, Jourdan, b. 1796 1
Woolfolk, Pichegru 1
∧ less