Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 256

Alumni Association Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 80
Scope and Contents

The records of the Alumni Association of the College of William and Mary include office files, material from select Executive Secretaries, meeting minutes, publications, correspondence, and other material documenting the activities of the William & Mary Alumni Association as well as the College of William & Mary's history and alumni more generally.

M. Carl Andrews Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.062
Scope and Contents

The 20" x 14" green scrapbook includes photographs, postcards, and newspaper articles from M. Carl Andrews, Class of 1927.

Augusta County, Va. Merchant's Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame31u Oversize
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1858-1860, used as a journal, 1858, and ledger, 1859-1860, by an unidentified merchant at Parnassus, Augusta County, Va. which was also used for a scrapbook into which were pasted Campbell's Soup advertisements (partially torn out).

Augusta County, Va. Merchant's Journal, 1819

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame63u
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1819, of an unidentified merchant at Krings Mills [Augusta County, Va.] which was used as a scrapbook for newspaper clippings of poetry.  Per 1810 census, many names are from Rockingham County, Va.  Some newspaper clippings are from the 1860's.

B. Davenport & Co. Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame20
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1841-1861, of B. Davenport & Co., merchants, of Williamsburg, Va. which includes accounts, 1860, with the College of William and Mary and which was used as a scrapbook, 1892-1905, for newspaper clippings of poems and articles; Christmas cards; valentines; advertisements; cigarette cards; and seed catalog covers.

Martha Barksdale Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.004
Scope and Contents

The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of the photographs date from the 1920s-1940s.

Bath Alum Springs Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ah1
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1852, for board at Bath Alum Springs, Bath County, Va. which was also used as a scrapbook for newspaper clippings containing verse and household hints. Many of the accounts were receipted by E. Augustus Dudley.

Charles H. Bell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B41
Scope and Contents The collection includes the correspondence, certificates, photographs, accounts, and journals of Rear Admiral Charles H. Bell. Naval journals cover Bell's service in the Mediterranean Sea from 1855-1858. The photographs are a mix of personal and souvenirs, which largely depict men and women from Peru. There is also material related to his role as executor for the estate of Samuel Swartwout. The collection also includes papers related to the Smith family, particularly Bell's executor and...

Benjamin F. Bray Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.071
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a scrapbook, from 1944 to 1945, kept by Benjamin F. Bray while a freshman at the College of William & Mary. This single brown volume contains programs, clippings, pictures (not photographs), and letters.

Berkeley Garden Club Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.07A
Scope and Contents

Six scrapbooks of the Berkeley Garden Club.

Joseph Bernardin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1990.02
Scope and Contents Fifty-eight diaries of Joseph Buchanan Bernardin, Episcopal clergyman, dated 1913-1987, and thirteen scrapbooks of clippings, invitations, programs, and other memorabilia.Most of his diary entries do not go into detail, but record the bare bones of his daily activities.  He often mentions people with whom he socializes and good friends.  But he rarely tells what he is reading, or mentions particulars about his parishioners or friends.  He mentions places he visits, from...

Big Cove Ranch Camp Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.642
Scope and Contents Contains one scrapbook of photographs taken at the Big Cove Ranch Camp, a summer camp for boys and girls located on the Cherokee Indian Reservation in Cherokee, North Carolina. during the summers of 1949 and 1950. Some of the photographs include images of landscapes, wildlife, Native Americans, and campers participating in various activities including archery, swimming, and dances. Inside the front cover is a copy of announcements for the summer 1950 program which details the purpose of the...

Birchwood Estates Garden Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.30
Scope and Contents

Scrapbooks, 1960-1990, of the Birchwood Estates Garden Club in Williamsburg, Va. Contains minutes, announcements of programs, photographs, newspaper clippings, correspondence and cartoons.

Bland Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 B159
Scope and Contents Papers, 1778-1989, of the Bland family of King and Queen County, Gloucester County, and the James River area of Virginia. Includes mostly genealogical material compiled by Lineous Preston Bland, Jr. Includes correspondence, pamphlets, family trees, scrapbooks, newsletters, photographs, legal and military records, newspaper clippings, and oral histories. Much information focuses on Richard Bland (1710-1766), Virginia statesman and pamphleteer. The collection also...

Gordon W. "Bo" Bohannan Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.157
Scope and Contents

This collection contains over 100 scrapbooks of popular 20th century culture created by Gordon W. "Bo" Bohannan of Surry County, Virginia. Including in the scrapbooks are trading cards, album covers, posters, bottlecaps, and other material. Some of the topics found in the scrapbooks include consumer products, radio program logos, soft drinks, comic books, cigarette brands, television and sports stars, politicians, and automobile brands.

Margaret Horn Booth Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.064
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a scrapbook from Margaret Horn Booth while she was a student at the William and Mary from 1940-1941. The scrapbook contains photographs, programs, clippings, correspondence, ticket stubs, and other materials concerning Booth's freshman year at the College. Scrapbook is 9" x 12" with a cork cover.

University Archives Bound Volumes Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 15
Scope and Contents

This collection contains information about the College of William and Mary from the Eighteenth Century to the present. Included in the collection are faculty lecture notes from a variety of classes, scrapbooks, research notes, correspondence, textbooks used at the College of William and Mary, minute and account books, poetry books, student notebooks, a literary manual, and various other miscellaneous bound volumes.

Frances Breeze Music Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.003
Scope and Contents

Book and individual sheet music of musical scores, probably collected by Frances Breeze.  Scrapbooks created by Josephone Carey Stanton and possibly others. Roland Halstead's collection of ephemera from trips abroad and musical production programs and guides. Undetermined parts of the collection were given by Dianne Webb (via Frances Breeze) in memory of Manny and Harold Chapman. Includes a handwritten score by Harold Chapman.

Martha Carter Brent Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.102
Scope and Contents The collection of Martha Carter Brent includes her scrapbook from her time as a student at the College of William and Mary as well as student handbooks (1925, 1926) and other College publications. She was commonly known as Mattie Carter as a student. The scrapbook includes news clippings, dance cards, photographs, and similar items documenting campus activities including athletics, dances, her sorority Phi Mu, other campus activities, as well as information about family and friends including...

Austin Brockenbrough and Anne Gordon Brockenbrough Baby Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Sc21
Scope and Contents

Baby book, ca. 1899-1910, kept for Austin Brockenbrough, Jr. and Anne Gordon Brockenbrough. The book contains photographs, lists of presents, locks of hair, newspaper clippings, and a list of wedding presents.

Mary Ann Brooks Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Sc2
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook, 1895, of newspaper clippings of Mary Ann Brooks of Philadelphia, Pa. and [Norfolk, Va.] The volume also includes pasted-in circus prints, and report cards, 1896-1898, of Jonathan Brooks while a student in Portsmouth, [Va. public schools.]

James W. Brown, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.068
Scope and Contents

This collection is composed entirely of a scrapbook containing the correspondence of James 'Jimmy' W. Brown, Jr. while a student at the College of William and Mary from 1936-1937. He was a student at William and Mary from 1936-1940. The letters have been pasted into the scrapbook.

Charles Page Bryan Photograph Album

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV P2
Scope and Contents

Photograph album of Charles Page Bryan, U. S. Minister to Portugal containing black and white photographs and color postcards of Madeira and the Azores, calling cards, newspaper clippings, and a small amount of correspondence.

Charles Page Bryan Photograph Album: "Some Beautiful Women I Have Known"

 Collection — Box: MsV Box 176, Folder: MsV P1
Identifier: Mss. MsV P1
Scope and Contents

Photograph album, circa 1865-1920, of Charles Page Bryan entitled "Some Beautiful and Interesting Women I Have Known." The book contains black and white and tinted photographs, cartes-de-visite, and newspaper clippings of hundreds of women including Ethel Barrymore, Sarah Berhardt, Florence (Lathrop) Field Page, Alice (Roosevelt) Longworth, members of royalty, and wives and daughters of diplomats.



Filtered By

  • Subject: Scrapbooks X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Scrapbooks 255
Photographs 87
Correspondence 66
College of William and Mary--Students 46
Clippings (information artifacts) 37
∨ more
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 34
Programs 30
Diaries 27
Minutes 24
Account books 22
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 22
Financial records 15
Notebooks 15
Letters (correspondence) 14
Women college students 14
Fliers (printed matter) 13
Reports 13
Postcards 12
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 12
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 11
Pamphlets 10
Publications 10
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 10
Women--Societies and clubs 10
World War, 1939-1945 10
Certificates 9
Legal documents 9
Printed ephemera 9
Student Life--1940's 9
Athletics 8
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 8
Garden Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 8
Student Life--1930's 8
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 8
Agendas (administrative records) 7
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 7
Gardening--Societies, etc.--Virginia 7
Invitations 7
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 7
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Negatives 7
Photographic prints 7
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 7
Gardening--History--20th century 6
Gardening--Virginia 6
Manuscripts (document genre) 6
Newspapers 6
Poems 6
Slides (photographs) 6
Speeches 6
Student Life--1920s 6
Typescripts 6
Women--Education--Virginia 6
World War, 1914-1918 6
World War, 1939-1945--United States--Scrapbooks 6
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 5
Greeting cards 5
Ledgers (Accounting) 5
Newsletters 5
Virginia--Genealogy 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Women--Diaries 5
Women--Education--Virginia--History 5
Women--History--Virginia 5
American poetry--19th century 4
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Business records 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 4
Genealogy 4
Letter books 4
Rosters 4
Sororities--Social 4
Student Life--1960's 4
Student Organizations 4
Students--Women--Admission in 1918 4
Tickets 4
Athletics--United States 3
Athletics--Women 3
Buildings and Grounds--Old Library (1908) 3
Clubs--United States--Minutes 3
Daybooks 3
France--Description and travel--20th century 3
Homecoming 3
Jamestown Festival (1957) 3
Merchants--Virginia--Augusta County 3
Merchants--Virginia--Rockingham County 3
Music 3
Playbills 3
Political parties--United States 3
President's House (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Receipts (financial records) 3
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Sound Recordings 3
Student Life--1910's 3
Textbooks 3
United States--Politics and Government 3
United States. Foreign Service 3
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
∧ less
 
Language
French 4
German 2
Japanese 2
Dutch; Flemish 1
Latin 1
∨ more  
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 22
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 14
College of William and Mary. 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 6
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 6
∨ more
College of William and Mary 5
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 5
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 5
American Red Cross 3
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Home Economics 3
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 3
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 3
Verkuil, Paul R 3
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Barksdale, Martha, 1900-1974 2
Buchanan, James, 1791-1868 2
Choir and Chorus 2
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 2
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 2
College of William and Mary. School of Education 2
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 2
Equal Suffrage League of Virginia 2
Fund for William and Mary 2
Harding, Warren G. (Warren Gamaliel), 1865-1923 2
Joseph and Margaret Muscarelle Museum of Art 2
Lee Family 2
Lee family 2
National Society Colonial Dames XVII Century. Virginia Society 2
National Society of The Colonial Dames of America 2
National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the Commonwealth of Virginia 2
Office of the President 2
Order of the White Jacket 2
Oxrieder, Julia W. 2
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 2
Pomfret, John Edwin, 1898- 2
Republican Party (U.S.) 2
Society of the Alumni 2
Tyler Family 2
University of Virginia 2
Virginia Historical Society 2
William & Mary GALA (Gay and Lesbian Alumni/ae), Inc 2
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Woman's Club of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Alexandria gazette 1
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. . Nu Chi Chapter 1
Alumni Band Organization. 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Chemical Society 1
American Fireside Club 1
American Historical Association 1
American Library Association 1
Anderson Seminary 1
Andrews, M. Carl 1
Andrews, Robert, 1743?-1804 1
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Yorktown Branch 1
Barnard, Judith Fenner 1
Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 1
Begg family 1
Belk, George Washington, III 1
Bell, Charles Heyer, 1798-1875 1
Beloit College 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Berkeley Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bernard Family 1
Bernardin, Joseph Buchanan, 1899-1987 or 1988 1
Bernhardt, Sarah, 1844-1923 1
Bland family 1
Bland, Ethel Heckman, 1902-1978 1
Bland, Richard, 1710-1776 1
Bohannan, Gordon W. 1
Bolling, Maurice Landon 1
Bowers, Rosina 1
Bozarth family 1
Bragg, Braxton, 1817-1876 1
Branch, Victor Moreau Randolph 1
Bray, Benjamin F., b. circa 1926 and d. 2002 1
Breeze, Frances, 1919-2002 1
Breit, Mona Jean 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Bryant-Cooke, Shaneé L. 1
Burrage, Guy Hamilton, 1867-1954 1
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 1
Buxton, Maud Miller, 1881-1985 1
Calkins, Emily Eleanor 1
Camp Peary (Va.) 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Charles, 1807-1876 1
Campbell, James Jr. 1
Carey family 1
Carlson, Lane, 1919-2010 1
Carter, Joan Worstell 1
Carter, Mary B. 1
Cary, Wilson Miles, 1838-1914 1
∧ less