Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 24

Account Book Including Recipes and Home Remedies

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. MsV Ap47
Scope and Contents Account book, 1858-1869, of an unidentified person which includes recipes and home remedies.

William A. Baker Recipe Book

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. MsV R1
Scope and Contents Recipe book, 1806-1815, of William A. Baker, of Winchester, Va., containing recipes for beer, wine, and liquor as well as formulae for varnish, sealing wax, cosmetics, medicinal remedies, ink, and dyes. The volume also includes pen and ink sketches (tinted with watercolor) showing the construction of a piano with detailed notes and genealogical data concerning the Foster and Baker families.

M. G. Brubaker Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00822
Scope and Contents Diary of M. G. Brubaker (b. 1875) for the year 1902. At the time the diary was written, 1902, Brubaker was a Mennonite school teacher in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. Brubaker begins every daily entry with a verse ("Time is the mighty leveler of all things" or "To do is better than to dream of air castles") and finishes each entry with the word "Now!" He writes about school, social activities, occurrences in the community, his courtship with Mary D. Stuben and...

Alice Burke Letter to Mrs. Dr. Dinges

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00212
Scope and Contents Letter from Alice Burke to Mrs. Dr. Dinges of Mt. Crawford, Virginia requesting her recipe for mince pie.  February 1, 1874.

Cookbook (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00149
Scope and Contents Cookbook, circa 1900-1910, of an unknown person from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Includes recipes both cut out of a newspaper and glued into the volume as well as hand written recipes. There are also assorted newspaper clippings unrelated to cooking that have been glued into the volume.

R.B. Cringan Recipe Book

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. MsV R10
Scope and Contents Receipt [recipe] book, ca. 1890, of R. B. Cringan, Richmond, Va. which includes home remedies and loose papers.

Richard G. Dunn Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 D93
Scope and Contents Papers, 1835-1881, of Richard G. Dunn, City Point, Prince George County, Va. including accounts of him and his wife, Sarah A. Dunn but mostly consisting of accounts of Dunn as executor of the estates of Daniel Eppes and Lucretia Thweatt and as assignee of J.E. Hubard. Includes recipes, 1848, for plum cake.

Rebecca Duvall Recipe Book

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. MsV R8
Scope and Contents Recipe book, 1856, of Rebecca H. Duvall, Point Jefferson, La.

Elizabeth Hilleary Recipe Book

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. MsV R4
Scope and Contents Recipe book of Elizabeth Hilleary.  Per note on the inside of the front cover, she lived in Selma, but the state is not given.  Book contains manuscript notes and newspaper clippings of recipes.  Includes loose handwritten recipes, some written for her cousin Rebecca Duvall and others, and loose newspaper clippings.

Virginia G. Gray Cookery Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00131
Scope and Contents Manuscript recipes, mainly nineteenth century, and a recipe manuscript volume, 1830-1845, including recipes for relishes, jellies, puddings, and cakes. Also includes recipes for soap and home remedies. Additions to the collection (1999.32) include correspondence of Sally Gray (daughter of Virginia G. Gray), article, "Holiday Hints,"edited by Virginia G. Gray, handout on "Colonial Cookery," by Virginia G. Gray and her manuscript, "An American Colonial Cookery, 1607-1800," as well as photocopies...