Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 168

Henry Carrington Alexander Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nm19
Scope and Contents

Notebook, 1854, of Henry Carrington Alexander containing notes on mathematics, on [Carl Friedrich Staeudlin's History of Theological Knowledge ?], Sir Isaac Newton's Optics, and notes for [?] The Sick Man's Book. The volume also contains "helpful" thoughts (Biblically based) and newspaper clippings, 1889, on the death of James Laurence Cabell.

Alexander W. Archer Textbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nm9
Scope and Contents

Textbook on Geometry and Surveying, 1825, by Ale[xander] W. Arc[her], [Petersburg, Va.]

Arithmetic Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nm3
Scope and Contents

Arithmetic book of an unidentified student.

Alfred R. Armstrong Papers

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: UA 5.045
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of three notebooks containing lecture notes taken by Alfred R. Armstrong in Roscoe C. Young's advanced physics classes, 1932-1933, at the College of William and Mary.

This collection also includes several report cards for Alfred R. Armstrong, 1928-1931, accompanied by his comments regarding the grading process and his professors, transferred from the Faculty-Alumni File Collection.

Attorney's Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nla10
Scope and Contents

Notes, 1872-1889, of an unidentified attorney which includes written forms used for criminal indictments and notes of criminal procedure and jurisdiction.

John L. Babb's Notebook of Pike's Arithmetic and Smith's Arithmetic

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nm17
Scope and Contents

Pike's Arithmetic and Smith's Arithmetic copied by John L. Babb, probably in Hardy County, WV.  Also contains exercises in punctuation, valedictory address of Jennie Cross at Morgantown Female Seminiary and a dialogue read by Julia F. Ackon and Annie C. Ballon June 27, 1856 at the annual examination of the Wesleyan Female Institute in Staunton, Virginia.

William J. Babb Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nm16
Scope and Contents

Pike's Arithmetic, 1856-1858, [either Nicholas Pike's A New and Complete System of Arithmetic or Stephen Pike's The Teacher's Assistant] copied by William J. Babb, Hardy County, Va. [W. Va.]. The volume also includes verse.

Baird Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 B16
Scope and Contents Collection includes papers, 1656-1848, concerning Essex County, Va. including land records and wills, many of which relate to the Rowzee family. Many of the records date from the seventeenth century. The collection also includes correspondence, 1830-1920, of members of the Baird family including letters, 1859-1911, of Edward R. Baird while attending the University of Virginia, serving in Pickett's Division and as superintendent of schools in Essex County. There are...

Ursula Fairfax Harrison Baird Gardening Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.079
Scope and Contents

Gardening notebook of Ursula Fairfax Harrison Baird, wife of Charles L. Baird.  Notes are mostly a record of the names (often specific varieties), amount ordered, prices and vendors of the flowers and seeds ordered.  A few letters from gardening supply outlets are inserted in the notebook, along with loose handwritten notes by Ursula Baird.

Charles H. Bell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B41
Scope and Contents The collection includes the correspondence, certificates, photographs, accounts, and journals of Rear Admiral Charles H. Bell. Naval journals cover Bell's service in the Mediterranean Sea from 1855-1858. The photographs are a mix of personal and souvenirs, which largely depict men and women from Peru. There is also material related to his role as executor for the estate of Samuel Swartwout. The collection also includes papers related to the Smith family, particularly Bell's executor and...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Notebooks X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Notebooks 165
Correspondence 50
Photographs 26
Financial records 17
Scrapbooks 16
∨ more
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 14
Diaries 13
Arithmetic--Study and teaching 12
Manuscripts (document genre) 10
Account books 9
College of William and Mary--Students 9
Legal documents 9
Minutes 9
Class materials 8
Virginia--Genealogy 8
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 8
Genealogy 7
Lecture notes 7
Mathematics--Study and Teaching 7
Research notes 7
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 6
Publications 6
Receipts (financial records) 6
Reports 6
Certificates 5
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 5
Newspapers 5
Programs 5
Typescripts 5
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 5
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 5
World War, 1914-1918 5
World War, 1939-1945 5
American poetry--19th century 4
Campbell County (Va.)--History 4
Chemistry--Study and teaching 4
Daybooks 4
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 4
Education--Virginia--History 4
Invitations 4
Law--Study and teaching 4
Pamphlets 4
Speeches 4
Speeches, addresses, etc. 4
Surveying--Virginia--History 4
Virginia--Religious history 4
Women college students 4
Bath County (Va.)--History--18th century 3
Bath County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 3
Clippings (information artifacts) 3
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 3
Cumberland County (Va.) 3
Curriculum 3
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 3
Hardy County (W. Va.)--History--19th century 3
Laboratory notebooks 3
Latin language--Study and teaching 3
Letters (correspondence) 3
Mathematics--Study and teaching--Virginia--History 3
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Medicine--Study and teaching 3
Medicine--Study and teaching--Pennsylvania 3
Poems 3
Postcards 3
Prince Edward County (Va.)--History 3
Real property--Virginia--Bath County 3
Virginia--History 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 3
Women--Education--Virginia--History 3
Women--History--Virginia 3
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Accounting--Study and teaching 2
African Americans--Medical care--Virginia 2
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Art (sketches) 2
Astronomy 2
Athletics 2
Authors, American--20th century 2
Bath County (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
Dyes and dyeing 2
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 2
Fliers (printed matter) 2
French language--Study and teaching 2
Gardening--History--20th century 2
Gardening--Virginia 2
Geometry--Study and teaching 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Government--Study and teaching 2
Gradebooks 2
Greek language--Study and teaching 2
Hydrostatics 2
Indentures 2
Jamestown Festival (1957) 2
Latin language 2
∧ less
 
Language
English 166
French 5
German 5
Latin 4
Greek, Modern (1453-) 1
∨ more  
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 11
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 6
College of William and Mary. 5
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 4
∨ more
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 4
McAllister, J. T. (Joseph Thompson), 1866-1927 4
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 3
College of William and Mary. School of Education 3
Galt family 3
Madison, James, 1749-1812 3
Morton, Margaret H. 3
Carey family 2
Cary, Wilson Miles, 1838-1914 2
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 2
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 2
Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 2
Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 2
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 2
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 2
Jefferson Medical College 2
Morton family 2
Morton, Estelle 2
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 2
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 2
Robinson Family 2
Robinson family 2
Robinson, Moncure, 1802-1891 2
Stubbs family 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 2
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Adams, John Quincy, 1767-1848 1
Albree, John 1
Allentown Presbyterian Church (Allentown, N.J.) 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Armstrong, Alfred R. 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Yorktown Branch 1
Baird family 1
Barron family 1
Belk, George Washington, III 1
Bell, Charles Heyer, 1798-1875 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Blaeu, Willem Janszoon, 1571-1638 1
Blair family 1
Blizzard, Arlie Raymond (1909-1966) 1
Blizzard, Arthur Roy (1918-1992) 1
Blizzard, William Russell (1912-2000) 1
Bolling, Maurice Landon 1
Booth family 1
Bram, Christopher, 1952- 1
Brown, Erma M. 1
Brown, John, 1763 or 4-1830 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Buchanan, James, 1791-1868 1
Burke, Arleigh A., 1901-1996 1
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 1
Business and Professional Women's Club, Petersburg, Va 1
Calkins, Emily Eleanor 1
Camp Peary (Va.) 1
Campbell, Robert Samuel, 1842-1918 1
Cary family 1
Catlett family 1
Catron, Louis E. 1
Chapman, Nathaniel, 1780-1853 1
Childress, Cecil Marcia 1
Christian, Joseph Allan, 1880-1968 1
Clark family 1
Close, Glenn, 1947- 1
Colfelt, Lawrence M. (Lawrence Maclay), 1849-1932 1
College of William and Mary. Committee on Degrees 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Art and Art History 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Government 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Home Economics 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Library Science 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Physics 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Psychology 1
College of William and Mary. General Cooperative Committee 1
College of William and Mary. Phoenix Literary Society 1
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 1
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 1
Cook family 1
Croghan, John, 1790-1849 1
Culpeper family 1
Dept. of Mathematics 1
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) 1
Dew, Thomas R. (Thomas Roderick), 1802-1846 1
Donaldson, J. Scott 1
Eastern Lunatic Asylum (Va.) 1
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 1
Elliott, Nathaniel Y 1
Emory, Patsy 1
∧ less