Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 71

Office of Affirmative Action Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 191
Scope and Contents This collection includes memos, Affirmative action plans, desegregation reports, Office of Sexual Harassment, annual reports, and grievance procedures. Acc. 1989.122 contains summary reports from 1975-1987 of applicants for faculty and administrative positions. The reports contain copies of the advertisement for the position and a form that tabulates the race and and gender of the applicants. This tabulation is based on AA/EEO forms, the return of which is voluntary. Information...

Edmund W. Allen Letter to his Parents

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.129
Scope and Contents

A letter written by College of William and Mary student Edmund W. Allen to his parents. In the letter, Allen writes about his courses, life in Williamsburg, Virginia, and faculty at the College.

Author in Residence Program Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 185
Scope and Contents

This collection contains fliers from the Author in Residence Program at the College of William and Mary.  The English Department offers the program to help fill its course offerings each year by inviting a known fiction author.

George M. Bass, Jr. Papers, 1979-2002

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.086
Scope and Contents This collections consists of documents related to the development of School of Education courses designed to train teachers in the use of microcomputers [computers] in the mid-to-late 1980s. The collection includes press releases, a description and rationale for such courses, 1 syllabus for "Education 563-Problems in Education: Microcomputers in Education" and 1 syllabus for "Education 666-Application of Computer to Educational Problems: The Microcomputer." Also in this...

Herman Blankenship

 Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.084
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of an essay signed on the back of its last page "The Teacher's Opportunity. H. Blankenship. June 17, 1904. L.J. Essay."

Board of Visitors Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 1
Scope and Contents The records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary includes meeting minutes and agendas, matriculation books, correspondence, material from Board of Visitors Rectors Oscar L. Shewmake and Roy Harvey Chappell, Jr., publications, and audio recordings of meetings from 1961-1999. An index to Board of Visitors meetings for the period 1947-1984 is available in the Special Collections Research Center. Researchers are also encouraged to consult the University...

Frances Breeze Music Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.003
Scope and Contents

Book and individual sheet music of musical scores, probably collected by Frances Breeze.  Scrapbooks created by Josephone Carey Stanton and possibly others. Roland Halstead's collection of ephemera from trips abroad and musical production programs and guides. Undetermined parts of the collection were given by Dianne Webb (via Frances Breeze) in memory of Manny and Harold Chapman. Includes a handwritten score by Harold Chapman.

Eleanor Calkins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1992.02-3
Scope and Contents

This collection is composed of College of William and Mary Professor of Mathematics Eleanor Calkins' 32 gradebooks from 1927-1961, a notebook with A-Z listings of her favorite musical recordings (the exceptional ones noted in red), and three yearbooks, 1915-1917, entitled Mossoks, from Columbia College in Lake City, Florida.

Emily Calkins Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.090
Scope and Contents

The scrapbook of Emily Calkins includes news clippings related to the College of William and Mary as well as events from throughout Virginia for the time period 1936-1942.

Miles L. Chappell, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.034
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of the personal papers of Miles L. Chappell, Jr., a professor in the Department of Fine Arts at the College of William and Mary. The papers contain correspondence between Prof. Chappell and other staff in the Department of Fine Arts; subject files; a scrapbook of clippings about the Department of Fine Arts; and photographs and negative of various Department of Fine Arts events.

Department of Chemistry Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 213
Scope and Contents The records of the Department of Chemistry include committee and faculty meeting records, correspondence, and various publications from 1940 to the present.  The meeting records include minutes and agendas as well as correspondence from departmental and the Faculty of Arts and Sciences meetings.  The correspondence, which dates from 1978 to 1995, includes both internal and external memos, as well as memos to various institutions outside of the William and Mary community.  The publications,...

College of William and Mary Directory Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 316
Scope and Contents

This collection contains campus directories that generally include contact information for students, faculty, and staff of the College of William and Mary. Directories from the 19th century are not comprehensive, but coverage for the university in the 20th century to the present is more complete.

Office of the Dean of the College Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 104
Scope and Contents Acc. 1979.031: This accession contains office files from 1920-1942. Acc. 1983.085: This accession contains office files from the 1940s and 1950s. These include reports of the Curriculum Committee, correspondence with the President and others, materials from the faculty protest of 1951, letters of faculty appointments and salaries, and selective service classifications of faculty members. Acc. 1998.091: Records of Kremer Jacob Hoke, 1920s-1930s. This accession contains...

Office of the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/01/UA 22
Scope and Contents Acc. 1979.037: Records of W. Melville Jones, 1954-1967. This accession contains ten boxes of subject files arranged alphabetically. The inventory for this accession is available in the box list section of this finding aid. Acc. 1979.038: Records of James Wilkinson Miller, 1940s. This accession contains faculty inactive files and office files. Part of  the correspondence was removed to Acc. 1979.037. Acc. 1982.070: Office files, 1961-1979. This accession includes...

University Archives Diploma Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 342
Scope and Contents

This collection contains originals and copies of diplomas awarded by the College of William and Mary. The collection also includes honorary degrees, diplomas awarded by other colleges and universities, and certificates of distinction.

Charles J. Duke, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.065
Scope and Contents This collection includes memorabilia, resolutions, early William and Mary campus photographs, clippings, and correspondence of Charles J. Duke, Jr. Correspondence, reports and photographs relate to Charles Duke's position as the Bursar of the College of William and Mary. Of particular importance is the material on the Norfolk and Richmond Divisions which later became Old Dominion University and Virginia Commonwealth University, especially the correspondence of Director William T. Hodges....

EqualityWM Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 95
Scope and Contents

At present, this collection includes only announcements from EqualityWM.

"The purpose of EqualityWM is to improve the learning and working environment at the College [of William and Mary] for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender faculty, staff, and students through representation, action and community."

EqualityWM is a new name for an organization that has been at the College for years, the LGB Faculty and Staff Caucus.

Judith Ewell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.076
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of two boxes of material created and collected by Judith Ewell, a professor of History at the College of William and Mary between 1971 and 2004. It includes papers Ewell wrote in college and graduate school; conference papers and programs; teaching materials from her year as a Fulbright Lecturer in Venezuela; correspondence about her publications; and contracts and other administrative material regarding her appointments at William and Mary.

Faculty Assembly Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 133
Scope and Contents This collection consists of records pertaining to the modern Faculty Assembly at the College of William and Mary and earlier faculty bodies and organizations. The records spans from 1729 to the present. The bulk of the collection contains minutes of faculty meetings from 1729 to 1945 and, with only a gap in the minutes from 1784-1817, continue to the present. Other Faculty Assembly records include memos to faculty about various policies at William and Mary, faculty surveys,...

The Forum Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 70
Scope and Contents

The collection includes meeting agenda and minutes, fliers, and related material of The Forum, the organization formerly known as the Black Faculty and Staff Forum at the College of William and Mary.

Harold L. Fowler Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.018
Scope and Contents

The collection includes correspondence about the 1951 football scandal; lecture notes including some from history classes taken at Harvard University; newspaper clippings about William and Mary; and thesis notes. The inventory for boxes 1-3 is available in the Finding Aid/Inventory below. Consult a staff member for assistance with Box 4.

John H. Garrett Photographs

 Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 5.101
Scope and Contents

The negatives and digital surrogates of photographs taken by College of William and Mary student John Garrett depict a variety of campus scenes including: football games, cheerleaders, the horse mascot Wampo, homecoming events, Christmas season events, Chi Omega, 13 Society, dances, aerial views of campus, African Americans believed to be William and Mary employees, 1940 commencement, and other events and people.

Robert E. Gatten, Jr. Photograph Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.019
Scope and Contents

This collection includes 35 mm negatives, 2.25 x 2.25 negatives, 4 x 5 negatives, contact sheets, and prints taken by College of William and Mary Student Robert E. Gatten, Jr. between 1962-1970. Subjects include faculty and staff, students, campus buildings, student activities, Homecoming, Commencement, and athletics.

Josef Roy Geiger Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.079
Scope and Contents

The papers of Professor Josef Roy Geiger include lecture notes and proofs from his tenure at the College of William & Mary. Topics include philosophy and religion, efficiency, salesmanship, and related areas. At least some of the lectures appear to have been a series Professor Geiger presented to an undetermined group.

Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies Program Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 364
Scope and Contents

This collection contains newsletters, announcements, and other publications from the Women's Studies program at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection are announcements for Winged Nation, a student newspaper showcasing student writing and artwork on subjects related to social issues.The program was renamed Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies in 2013.

Filtered By

  • Subject: College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 31
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 23
Reports 18
College of William and Mary--Students 15
Minutes 14
∨ more
Photographs 10
Class materials 8
Fliers (printed matter) 7
Scrapbooks 7
Notebooks 6
Announcements 5
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 5
Diaries 5
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 5
Bylaws 4
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 4
Financial records 4
Manuscripts (document genre) 4
Publications 4
Research notes 4
Typescripts 4
Affirmative action programs 3
Agendas (administrative records) 3
Booklets 3
College of William and Mary--Employees 3
Lecture notes 3
Letters (correspondence) 3
Memorandums 3
Negatives 3
Newsletters 3
Pamphlets 3
Programs 3
Sound Recordings 3
Universities and colleges--Administration--United States 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 3
Athletics 2
Athletics--Football 2
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 2
Campbell County (Va.)--History 2
Certificates 2
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Christmas cards 2
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
College of William and Mary--Commencement 2
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 2
Course work 2
Cumberland County (Va.) 2
Curriculum 2
Daybooks 2
Genealogy 2
Music 2
Philosophy and religion 2
Prince Edward County (Va.)--History 2
Surveys (documents) 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Women--Education--Virginia 2
World War, 1939-1945 2
Acrylic paintings (visual works) 1
Action plans 1
African Americans--Education 1
African Americans--Education--Virginia 1
Anniversary Celebration--1968 1
Athletics--Football--Scandal of 1951 1
Bibles 1
Birthday cards 1
Buildings and Grounds--Lake Matoaka Ampitheatre 1
Buildings and Grounds--Landrum Hall 1
Calendars 1
College of William and Mary Anniversaries, etc 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
College of William and Mary--Graduate Students 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
College of William and Mary--Reserve Officer Training Corps 1
College of William and Mary--Women's Studies Program 1
College of William and Mary. Dept of Geology 1
College sports--United States--History--20th century 1
College student newspapers and periodicals--United States 1
College theater--United States 1
Computers and college students 1
Confederate States of America. War Dept 1
Curriculum--Kinesiology 1
Digital images 1
Diplomas 1
Dueling--Virginia 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
Education--Study and teaching 1
Enrollment 1
Essays 1
Executive departments--Virginia 1
Faculty housing 1
Feminism--United States 1
Figurines 1
Gradebooks 1
Greeting cards 1
Harvard Law School--Curricula. 1
Jamestown 350th Anniversary 1
Jamestown Festival (1957) 1
∧ less
 
Language
Latin 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 6
College of William and Mary 4
Faculty--Meetings 4
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 3
∨ more
College of William and Mary. Staff 3
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 3
Calkins, Emily Eleanor 2
College of William and Mary. 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Religious Studies 2
College of William and Mary. School of Education 2
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 2
Dept. of History 2
Dept. of Mathematics 2
Dept. of Psychology 2
Deptartment of English 2
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 2
Miller, James Wilkinson, 1902- 2
Morton family 2
Morton, Estelle 2
Morton, Margaret H. 2
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 2
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 2
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 2
Andrews, Robert, 1743?-1804 1
Associated and Branch Campuses--Continuous Electron Beam Accelerator Facility (CEBAF) 1
Associated and Branch Campuses--Virginia Associated Research Campus 1
Bass, George M., Jr. 1
Bishop James Madison Society 1
Blankenship, Herman 1
Bowden, Lemuel Jackson. 1
Breeze, Frances, 1919-2002 1
Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching 1
Chapman, Harold 1
Chappell, R. Harvey (Robert Harvey), 1926- 1
Close, Glenn, 1947- 1
College of William and Mary . Women's Network 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 1
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 1
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 1
College of William and Mary. Dean of the College 1
College of William and Mary. Dean of the Faculty 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Kinesiology 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Military Science 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Physics 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Psychology 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
College of William and Mary. Human Resources 1
College of William and Mary. Office of Affirmative Action 1
College of William and Mary. Office of Institutional Research 1
College of William and Mary. Office of Public and Community Service 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the Provost 1
College of William and Mary. Project Plus 1
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 1
College of William and Mary. School of Marine Science 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Colonial Echo 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences 1
Dept. of Chemistry 1
Dept. of Fine Arts 1
Dept. of Government 1
Dept. of Kinesiology 1
Dept. of Philosophy 1
Dept. of Physical Education 1
Dept. of Physics 1
Dept. of Religious Studies 1
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
Duke, Charles Joseph, Jr., 1898-1953 1
EqualityWM 1
Ewell, Judith 1
Faculty Assembly 1
Forum, The 1
Fowler, Harold L. 1
Friedman, Herbert 1
Gatten, Robert E., Jr. 1
Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies 1
Goodwin, Bruce 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 1
Halstead, Roland 1
Harvard Law School 1
Hodges, William T. 1
Hoke, Kremer Jacob, 1878-1944 1
Jamestown Corporation 1
Jefferson Laboratory 1
Jensen, Dudley M. 1
Joseph and Margaret Muscarelle Museum of Art 1
King and Queen Press 1
Lambert, J. Wilfred 1
Landrum, Grace Warren, 1876-1951 1
Lavin, Linda, 1937- 1
Librarians Assembly. Libraries Professionals Assembly 1
Living Wage Coalition 1
∧ less