Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 31 - 40 of 48

Goldie Leatherman Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.036
Scope and Contents Scrapbook, 1942-1945, of Goldie Leatherman of Hagerstown, Maryland. Leatherman's husband, George, was drafted and inducted into the United States Army. Includes letters, war bond packages, newsletters, and fliers relating to the war effort. There are also diary entries written into the scrapbook by Goldie Leatherman.

Charles Marsh's War Board Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00256
Scope and Contents Papers concerning the War Board and Post-War Planning Commission during World War II in Williamsburg and James City County, Virginia.

Collection was accessioned as W&M: War Board Papers.

McGilvray Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.021
Scope and Contents Letters home to Gatesville, Texas from two brothers, Cam and Burl McGilvray who served in the Army and Marines respectively during World War II. Cam McGilvray was in the Army Officer Candidate School No. 1 in Fargo, North Dakota.  Burl McGilvray was stationed overseas and returned in April 1943 to the U.S. Naval Hospital in San Diego, California due to a heat stroke complication. The collection includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, song lyrics and postcards.

McLeod-Tyler Family Papers, 1930-1970 and undated

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.120, Acc. 2013.070
Scope and Contents Papers, 1930-1970 and undated, from members of the McLeod-Tyler family. Included in the collection are diaries and scrapbooks of Lieutenant John G. Tyler II during World War II, a typed transcript of a Civil War Memoir of Edward Keville Glennan; a commemorative collection of 20 battle pictures, entitled "Advance in the Pacific, New Guinea to the Philipines"; and two high school poetry anthologies, 1969-1970 to which J. Goodenow Tyler III contributed.

Department of Military Science Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 210
Scope and Contents This collection includes invitations, material about the Queen's Guard and ROTC, and other publications from the Department of Military Science and other military-related bodies at the College of William and Mary. The collection also includes material related to the Student Army Training Corps stationed on campus during World War I, activities of other units during World War II, and the US Coast Guard Auxiliary.

Helen Minor Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.190
Scope and Contents Diaries, photographs, and clippings, 1935-1951, of Helen Minor of Baltimore, Maryland. Minor also seems to have spent time in Indiana and Ohio. Includes diary entries for almost every day from 1935 through 1948, with entries becoming more scattered between 1948 and 1951. Diary entries primarily concern Minor's day to day activities, including her job, people with which she meets, events which she attends, and her lack of relationships with men. There are also photographs, primarily of an...

Donald Mullikan Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01044
Scope and Contents Letters, 1942-1945, of Donald Mullikan written to his sister, Lois Mullikan. Donald was stationed in multiple areas during the war, including the Canal Zone in Panama.

Payne Family WWII Scrapbook, 1941-1945

 Collection — Box: 1, Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.100
Scope and Contents World War II Scrapbook, 1941-1945, most likely compiled by Mrs. R. H. Payne of Remington, Virginia. Included are news clippings relating to the war, as well as a telegram, postcards and letters sent to her by her son Barksdale McClanahan Payne (1907-1985) from his military service in Europe, Barksdale Payne's military insignia and foreign paper money.

William Preston Letters to Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Bennett

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MS 00227
Content Description Correspondence from William (Billy) Preston to his sister and brother-in-law, Ruth and Ralph Bennett, primarily mailed during World War II (1940-1945) with a few letters sent from 1946-1960. The collection includes 120 handwritten and typed letters and postcards; black and white photographs; a Western Union telegram; and newspaper clippings. It is arranged chronologically. The correspondence is detailed and legible, with description of U.S. Army experience in North America (training, duties,...

Ardith Pugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.684
Scope and Contents Documents (photocopies), circa 1980s, relating to Ardith Pugh's service on the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of Civilians, created to investigate the internment of Japanese-American citizens during World War II.  This collection consists of photocopies of interviews/testimonies, case files used during the internment procedures, and correspondence between government officials, much of which was used by the Commission in its deliberations.

Filtered By

  • Subject: World War, 1939-1945--United States X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Names
Camp Peary (Va.) 3
United States. Army. 3
Alexander, Lucian W. 1
Anderson, Donald A. 1
Army Officer Candidate School No. 1 (Fargo, N.D.) 1
∨ more
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 1
Berry, Elizabeth 1
Blizzard, Arlie Raymond (1909-1966) 1
Blizzard, Arthur Roy (1918-1992) 1
Blizzard, William Russell (1912-2000) 1
Boulanger, Edward. 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bunker, Carl M. 1
Buzek, Cyril, Sr., 1922-1958 1
Christy, Irene T. 1
Coleman family 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Military Science 1
Collins, Benjamin D. 1
Collins, Gertha Sykes 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Curtin, Robert L. 1
Dansby, James 1
Dept. of Military Science 1
Dodge Family 1
Dodge family 1
Dodge, Anna 1
Dodge, Emiliy 1
Dodge, Emily 1
Dodge, Emily Katherine 1
Dodge, Henry Haskins 1
Dodge, Henry Haskins, 1922-2005 1
Dodge, Henry Stacey 1
Dorr, Colgate, 1920-2006 1
Endres, George 1
Gary Alonzo Barranger 1
Glennan, Edward Keville 1
Goodwyn, James C. 1
Halko, John 1
Hill family 1
Hill, Dr. P. L 1
Kimbrough, Janet C 1
Kimbrough, Raymond, 1889-1993 1
Leatherman, Goldie 1
Mandel, David 1
Mandel, Harold 1
Marsh, Charles F. (Charles Franklin), 1903-1984 1
McLeod-Tyler Family 1
Minor, Helen 1
Moss, Henry C. 1
Mullikan, Donald C., 1922-1989 1
Payne, R. H. (Mrs.) 1
Preston, William 1
Ransom, Donald 1
Rembert, John Patrick, 1907-1976 1
Rembert, Sarah 1
Rodgers, Clarence G 1
Rodgers, Irma Jean 1
Rodgers, Lettie J Hubbard 1
Roland, John G. 1
Schneider, James H. 1
Student Army Training Corp. 1
Tyler, J. Goodenow III 1
Tyler, John G. II, 1919-1990 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
United States. Army. Signal Corps 1
United States. Army. Women's Army Corps 1
United States. Navy (General subdivision: Military construction operations.) 1
Velente, Baise J. 1
Waller, John J. 1
Weber, Charles Anthony 1
Weber, Helen Rodgers 1
Wilbur, H.T. 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Post-War Planning Commission (Va.) 1
Williamsburg War Board (Va.) 1
Wilson, Charlie A. 1
Wilson, Margot 1
Woodsmall, Raymond Jr. 1
Young, Rowland 1
∧ less