Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 11 - 20 of 48

Gertha Sykes Collins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.487
Scope and Contents Primarily this is a collection of love letters written between 1942-1944 to Gertha Barbara Jean Sykes residing in St. Louis, Missouri and James NMI Dansby, an African-American soldier in the United States Army. There are also letters from two other Army soldiers, Jack Smith, stationed in the Pacific and Benjamin D. Collins, an aircompany soldier, whom Sykes married in 1949. The letters begin when Dansby joined the Army and started basic training in Camp Shelby, Hattiesburg,...

Colorado River Relocation Center Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00691
Scope and Contents Scrapbook believed to have been created by a female employee of the Colorado River Relocation Center in Poston, Arizona. The collection includes photographs, a poem, programs, correspondence, and other material. The Colorado River Relocation Center is also known as the Poston Relocation Center and was one of the internment camps created for Japanese Americans and Japanese nationals by the U.S. government during World War II. Poston is located in present day La Paz County, Arizona. The woman who...

Robert L. Curtin Scrapbook, 1941-1949

 Collection — Box: 1, Bound Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.023
Scope and Contents Scrapbook of Robert L. Curtin, covering the years 1941-1949, including his years served in the U.S. Navy, 1943-1945. Included are letters of both private and military nature, photographs, newspaper clippings, military orders, wedding announcements, telegrams, invitations, and currency. Places mentioned in the scrapbook are Connecticut; Massachusetts; Camp Peary, Williamsburg, Virginia; California; and the Philippines.

David and Harold Mandel Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00075
Scope and Contents 4 letters addressed to Harold Mandel from his family and girlfriend.  Harold Mandel served in World War II with the Army's Air Force 78th AAFB with Squadron C-1.   One of his brother's, David Mandel also served in the Army Air Force as an Officer (Lieutenant).  One of his letters is from Langley Air Field, Virginia.  The family was Jewish and David Mandel was held as a prisoner of war for a brief period in 1945. (source, NARA.gov)

Diary on the end of World War II

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00638
Scope and Contents Diary, 1945-1946, of an unknown person detailing the reactions to the end of World War II. It includes both handwritten diary entries and well as newspaper clippings cut out and glued into the diary. The cover includes a political cartoon entitled "New Light of Asia" and depicts firebombs falling on Tokyo.

Dodge Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.31
Scope and Contents The bulk of this collection (1942-1947) chronicles three generations of the Dodge and Hill families. The collection consists largely of correspondence and photographs documenting the Dodge and Hill families and colleagues of Henry Haskins Dodge at the Lincoln Chiropractic College of Indianapolis, Ind. The letters exchanged among Henry Haskins Dodge’s classmates suggest some of the effects of World War II on the home front including military draft and deferment, relocation, and war service.

Donald A. Anderson Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00070
Scope and Contents One letter from Donald A. Anderson to Miss Rose Russo dated October 17, 1942.  Anderson was stationed with Platoon 825 at the Recruitment Depot of Paris Island, South Carolina with the United States Marine Corps.

Donald Ransom Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00065
Scope and Contents One letter from Donald Ransom to his family dated October 1, 1944.  Ransom served in Company C of the 1257th Engineer's Corps, "C" Battalion in World War II.

Edward Boulanger Letters,

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00044
Scope and Contents 23 love letters written by Edward Boulanger to his wife (name unknown) in Gardner, Massachusetts, during WWII.  About nine letters were written while he was at Camp Peary in Williamsburg, Va.; about fourteen letters were written while overseas in New Guinea and the Philippines. The letters indicate he was a Seabee (the construction battalions the Navy used in WWII).  Of note is the Camp Peary letterhead.

Elizabeth Berry Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00068
Scope and Contents One letter from Elizabeth (Betty) Berry to Private Joseph J. Dohner stationed at Fort Belvoir, Virginia postmarked October 17, 1942.

Filtered By

  • Subject: World War, 1939-1945--United States X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Names
Camp Peary (Va.) 3
United States. Army. 3
Alexander, Lucian W. 1
Anderson, Donald A. 1
Army Officer Candidate School No. 1 (Fargo, N.D.) 1
∨ more
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 1
Berry, Elizabeth 1
Blizzard, Arlie Raymond (1909-1966) 1
Blizzard, Arthur Roy (1918-1992) 1
Blizzard, William Russell (1912-2000) 1
Boulanger, Edward. 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bunker, Carl M. 1
Buzek, Cyril, Sr., 1922-1958 1
Christy, Irene T. 1
Coleman family 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Military Science 1
Collins, Benjamin D. 1
Collins, Gertha Sykes 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Curtin, Robert L. 1
Dansby, James 1
Dept. of Military Science 1
Dodge Family 1
Dodge family 1
Dodge, Anna 1
Dodge, Emiliy 1
Dodge, Emily 1
Dodge, Emily Katherine 1
Dodge, Henry Haskins 1
Dodge, Henry Haskins, 1922-2005 1
Dodge, Henry Stacey 1
Dorr, Colgate, 1920-2006 1
Endres, George 1
Gary Alonzo Barranger 1
Glennan, Edward Keville 1
Goodwyn, James C. 1
Halko, John 1
Hill family 1
Hill, Dr. P. L 1
Kimbrough, Janet C 1
Kimbrough, Raymond, 1889-1993 1
Leatherman, Goldie 1
Mandel, David 1
Mandel, Harold 1
Marsh, Charles F. (Charles Franklin), 1903-1984 1
McLeod-Tyler Family 1
Minor, Helen 1
Moss, Henry C. 1
Mullikan, Donald C., 1922-1989 1
Payne, R. H. (Mrs.) 1
Preston, William 1
Ransom, Donald 1
Rembert, John Patrick, 1907-1976 1
Rembert, Sarah 1
Rodgers, Clarence G 1
Rodgers, Irma Jean 1
Rodgers, Lettie J Hubbard 1
Roland, John G. 1
Schneider, James H. 1
Student Army Training Corp. 1
Tyler, J. Goodenow III 1
Tyler, John G. II, 1919-1990 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
United States. Army. Signal Corps 1
United States. Army. Women's Army Corps 1
United States. Navy (General subdivision: Military construction operations.) 1
Velente, Baise J. 1
Waller, John J. 1
Weber, Charles Anthony 1
Weber, Helen Rodgers 1
Wilbur, H.T. 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Post-War Planning Commission (Va.) 1
Williamsburg War Board (Va.) 1
Wilson, Charlie A. 1
Wilson, Margot 1
Woodsmall, Raymond Jr. 1
Young, Rowland 1
∧ less