Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 251 - 255 of 255

World War II Photo Album

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.034
Scope and Contents Photo album of a U.S. American soldier documenting his WWII tour of duty in Japan, circa 1945-1946. Includes photos of Okinawa, Nagasaki, Naha, Ominato, Tokyo, Nagasaki, Sasebo, Fukuoka, Kagoshima, Matsuyama, Kure, Hiroshima, and Kyota. While some photos are more of a sightseeing nature, many depict American service men and army camps, Japanese prisoners of war, and destroyed cities, including Hiroshima and Nagasaki after the atomic bombing. All pages and and most photos have brief...

World War II Stereograms, Postcards, and Artifacts

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00891
Scope and Contents

Stereograph cards, some printed by the Keystone View Company, of scenes from World War II, including a hospital scene, burned wreck of a Zeppelin, grave of Lieut. Quentin Roosevelt, pontoon bridge inspection, bugle call, french flower lady decorating a soldier and clothing issue at Ft. Lee, Virginia.

A blue ribbon with name plate "Lutz" and silk baglike item with "Hankies" and "U.S. Army, Fort Lewis, Wash." printed on it have been transferred to the artifact collection.

Xpucma Kyzuk Diary, Denmark

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00057
Scope and Contents

Diary from World War II written by Xpucma Kyzuk, a German living in occupied Denmark.  The diary begins in 1944 and ends 1956.  Some passages are in English but most are written in German, French, English, and possibly Finnish.

Zig to Nett Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01506
Scope and Contents

Letter about life in the army and a minor operation with a difficult healing process.

Joseph M. Zinni Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00242
Scope and Contents Letters from Joseph M. Zinni to his wife, Anne from 1940-1945. Letters discuss his travels with the 166th Signal Photographic Company and the 39th Signal Corps through Northern Ireland, France, and Luxembourg during World War II. The 166th documented the major military campaigns of the war, produced millions of feet of combat film and hundreds of thousands of developed still images. They supplied a significant amount of footage to the US news media and also documented evidence of Nazi...

Filtered By

  • Subject: World War, 1939-1945 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
World War, 1939-1945 154
Correspondence 55
Photographs 45
World War, 1939-1945--United States 33
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 31
∨ more
Letters (correspondence) 29
Diaries 22
Scrapbooks 20
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 19
Clippings (information artifacts) 17
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 17
World War, 1939-1945--Women--United States 16
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 13
World War, 1939-1945--Prisoners of War 11
Pamphlets 10
World War, 1939-1945--United States--Personal narratives 10
United States. Navy--History--World War, 1939-1945 9
World War, 1939-1945--Aerial operations 9
World War, 1939-1945--Medical and sanitary affairs. 9
United States. Navy--History--20th century 8
Women--Diaries 8
World War, 1914-1918 8
World War, 1939-1945--Germany 8
Certificates 7
College of William and Mary--Students 7
Postcards 7
Programs 7
Reports 7
World War, 1939-1945--Japan 7
World War, 1939-1945--Personal narratives 7
Legal documents 6
Minutes 6
Newsletters 6
Notebooks 6
Publications 6
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 6
World War, 1939-1945--United States--Scrapbooks 6
World War, 1939-1945--Women 6
Agendas (administrative records) 5
Booklets 5
Financial records 5
Manuscripts (document genre) 5
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 5
Newspapers 5
Printed ephemera 5
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 5
African Americans 4
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 4
Lecture notes 4
Love-letters 4
Poems 4
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
United States. Navy 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--World War, 1939-1945 4
World War, 1939-1945--African Americans 4
World War, 1939-1945--War work--California 4
Account books 3
Advertising cards 3
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 3
Broadsides 3
Class materials 3
Deeds 3
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 3
Fliers (printed matter) 3
Germany--History--Allied occupation, 1945- 3
Invitations 3
Maps 3
Norfolk (Va.)--History, Naval. 3
Oral histories 3
Posters 3
Receipts (financial records) 3
Soldiers--United States--Correspondence 3
Sound Recordings 3
Speeches 3
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 3
Women college students 3
World War, 1939-1945 -- Photography 3
World War, 1939-1945--Atrocities 3
World War, 1939-1945--Pictoral works 3
World War, 1939-1945--Prisoners and prisons 3
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans--United States 3
Yearbooks 3
African Americans--Education--Virginia 2
African Americans--History--20th century 2
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
Aircraft accidents 2
American poetry--19th century 2
Antisemitism 2
Art (sketches) 2
Athletics 2
Audiocassettes 2
Auschwitz (Concentration camp) 2
Basic training (Military education) 2
Books 2
Business records 2
Camp Lee (Va.)--History--20th century 2
∧ less
 
Language
English 240
German 19
Japanese 6
French 5
Chinese 2
∨ more  
Names
Gary Alonzo Barranger 24
Camp Peary (Va.) 6
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 6
United States. Army. 6
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 6
∨ more
College of William and Mary 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 4
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 4
United States Navy 4
College of William and Mary. 3
College of William and Mary. School of Education 3
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 3
Society of the Alumni 3
United States. Army. Women's Army Corps 3
American Red Cross 2
Bund Deutscher Mädel 2
Coleman family 2
Coleman, Mary Haldane Begg, 1875-1967 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 2
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 2
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006 2
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 2
Koontz, Amos Ralph, 1890-1965 2
Millington, John, 1779-1868 2
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 2
Patton, George S. (George Smith), 1885-1945 2
Preston, William 2
Reunions 2
Tucker 2
United States. Army 2
United States. Army. Signal Corps 2
United States. Naval Reserve. Women's Reserve 2
Williamsburg Post-War Planning Commission (Va.) 2
Adelman, Ilse 1
Aeschleman, Leonard R. 1
Air Raid Warden's Service 1
Alexander, Lucian W. 1
Alumni Band Organization. 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Austrian Foundation 1
American Chemical Society 1
Andersen, K. F. 1
Anderson, Donald A. 1
Applegate, Margaret 1
Armstrong, Norm A. 1
Army Officer Candidate School No. 1 (Fargo, N.D.) 1
Arnett, Frank P. 1
Astor, Nancy Witcher Langhorne Astor, Viscountess, 1879-1964 1
Atlantic Institute of Foreign Affairs 1
Avery, Charles Franklin 1
Bachmann, William P., 1886-1974 1
Barksdale, Martha, 1900-1974 1
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 1
Barnewall, Gordon 1
Beasley, George Alfred 1
Beck, Frederick D. 1
Begg family 1
Belk, George Washington, III 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Bernard Family 1
Berry, Elizabeth 1
Blair, James, 1656-1743 1
Blankenship family 1
Blizzard, Arlie Raymond (1909-1966) 1
Blizzard, Arthur Roy (1918-1992) 1
Blizzard, William Russell (1912-2000) 1
Bolling, Maurice Landon 1
Boulanger, Edward. 1
Bowers, Judith A. Magrino 1
Bradbury, Lilly Harrison Hill Smith 1
Braun, Fritz 1
Braxton family 1
Bright, Robert Southall, 1872-1947 1
Brown family 1
Brown, Cassie Dallas Tucker 1
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 1
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 1
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 1
Brown, John Thompson, 1861-1921 1
Brown, John Willcox, 1886- 1
Brown, William B. 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Bundles for Britain, Inc 1
Bunker, Carl M. 1
Burger, Warren Earl, 1907-1995 1
Burke, Arleigh A., 1901-1996 1
Burleigh, Charles 1
Buzek, Cyril, Sr., 1922-1958 1
Cabana, Leonard R. 1
Calandra, Salvatore Rocco 1
Carlson, Lane, 1919-2010 1
Carpenter, Albina 1
Carpenter, Avery 1
Carpenter, Betty 1
Carpenter, Charlotte 1
Carpenter, Gary P. 1
Carpenter, James E. 1
Carpenter, James Saylor 1
∧ less