Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 15

369th African American Infantry Regiment Photographs

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00085
Scope and Contents Over 170 photographs of African American men in military uniform that lacks any distinguishing insignia but some uniforms feature a coiled rattlesnake, the patch adopted by the 369th Infantry Regiment which was stationed in Hawaii during World War II.  The men of this regiment called themselves the Black Rattlers, Harlem Hell-fighters, and the Men of Bronze.  The 369th Regiment was formerly known as the 15th New York National Guard Regiment, the first African American to serve with the...

African American Soldiers in World War II

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00088
Scope and Contents

91 photos of African Americans during World War II.  Many of the photos are labeled Wissmar (captured by Ally forces May 2, 1945) and Frankfurt, Germany.  Some names of the soldiers are printed on the back of the photographs.  Most of the photos are not dated and depict men in their uniforms near military vehicles and in a casual setting.  Some photographs are of the men with local (civilian dress) women.

James W. Caywood Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00277
Scope and Contents Scrapbook pertaining to James W. Caywood's service in the United States Navy during World War II while in Hawaii as part of the 26th Special Naval Construction Battalion. The bulk of the scrapbook contains photographs, newspaper clippings, and drawings kept by Caywood while serving in Hawaii. Some of the photographs document the attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941 and depict Caywood and other African-American sailors in everyday life on the island, as well as local Hawaiian women. Newspaper...

Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00017
Scope and Contents These papers contain correspondence, photographs, business papers, artifacts, certificates, and other materials related to Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Mr. Gary was a prominent African American business owner in Williamsburg, operating for decades the West End Valet Shop off Prince George Street. The collection comprises business ledgers and other West End Valet Shop records over several years, as well as legal documents pertaining to the Valet Shop and Gary family estates such as leases and...

Gertha Sykes Collins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.487
Scope and Contents Primarily this is a collection of love letters written between 1942-1944 to Gertha Barbara Jean Sykes residing in St. Louis, Missouri and James NMI Dansby, an African-American soldier in the United States Army. There are also letters from two other Army soldiers, Jack Smith, stationed in the Pacific and Benjamin D. Collins, an aircompany soldier, whom Sykes married in 1949. The letters begin when Dansby joined the Army and started basic training in Camp Shelby, Hattiesburg,...

George Alfred Beasley Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01414
Content Description

About 40 letters from George Beasley to his sweetheart, Rosa L. Johnson written between June 1941 and May 1945. Beasley was a Sergeant in the Army stationed at Fort Knox, Kentucky, Camp Rucker, Alabama, and then overseas in France and Belgium. He served with the 3rd and 4th Battalion of the Armed Force Replacement Training Center, a segregated African American unit.

Obelia "Bee" Graves Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.123
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters to Obelia "Bee" Graves, from her family and friends, while she attended Winston-Salem Teachers College in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. The institution is presently known as Winston-Salem State University. Winston-Salem Teachers College was the first historically black college to grant bachelors degrees in elementary school education. The collection also includes college documents from her time at college such as report cards and her admission acceptance....

Herman Recht Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.31
Scope and Contents This collection is comprised of more than 700 letters written by Herman Recht (1908-1971), a Navy yeoman, from Camp Peary (U.S. Naval Construction Training Center), near Williamsburg, Virginia, between October 1943 and February 1946, to his wife, Esther, in Clairton, Pennsylvania. There are no letters from Esther because, as he wrote her, saving them would make him homesick.Recht had been a lawyer for eight and a half years before joining the Navy. He was very well read, and...

John Tuthill Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.03
Scope and Contents Papers of John Wills Tuthill, a United States 20th century diplomat. The collection includes papers from Tuthill's years as a student and professor, his State Department career, his private career with international organizations and his retirement years.  He held many positions within the State Department, mostly in Germany and Europe, with his final posting as Ambassador to Brazil. As a private citizen, he was Director of the Atlantic Institute, President of the Salzburg Seminar, and...

Ardessa L. Coffee Pitts Letters

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MS 00233
Content Description About 70 letters, telegrams and greeting cards from Ardessa (Dess) L. Coffee Pitts to her husband, Private Madison F. Pitts, who served with the 335th Aviation Squadron at Douglas Army Air Field (D.A.A.F) in Arizona during World War II. Most of the letters are personal in nature and express Ardessa's loneliness and desire for children. She also shared physical ailments and how she felt stress aged her. The letters include pledges of fidelity and sexual innuendos. Ardessa also frequently...

Filtered By

  • Subject: World War, 1939-1945 X
  • Subject: African Americans X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
World War, 1939-1945 9
Photographs 5
African Americans 4
Correspondence 4
World War, 1939- 1945- African Americans 4
∨ more
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 3
African Americans--Education--Virginia 2
African Americans--History--20th century 2
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
Letters (correspondence) 2
Sheet music 2
World War, 1939-1945--United States 2
Advertising cards 1
African American women--Education 1
African Americans -- Segregation 1
African Americans in popular culture 1
African Americans in the performing arts 1
African Americans--Biography 1
African Americans--Caricatures and cartoons 1
African Americans--History 1
African Americans--Music 1
African Americans--Suffrage 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Alaska--Description and travel--20th century 1
Ambassadors--United States--20th century 1
Antisemitism 1
Artifacts 1
Birthday cards 1
Blaxploitation films -- United States 1
Board games (activities) 1
Board games (game sets) 1
Brazil--Description and travel 1
Brazil--History--1930-1954 1
Brazil--Politics and government--1930-1954 1
Business records 1
Calendars 1
Camp Peary (Va.) 1
Camp Shelby (Miss.) 1
Card games (game sets) 1
Censorship--United States--History--20th century 1
Certificates 1
Chinese Americans--Caricatures and cartoons 1
Chinese Americans--Legal status, laws, etc.--History 1
Christmas cards 1
Civil rights--United States--History--20th century 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Collecting cards 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--History 1
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
College sports--United States--History--20th century 1
Comic strips 1
Communism--United States 1
Courtship--1940-1950 1
Courtship--United States--History--20th century 1
Cuban Americans--Public opinion. 1
Diaries 1
Douglas Army Air Field (Ariz.) 1
European Economic Community 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Fort Mason (Calif.)--History 1
Germany--Economic conditions--1945-1955 1
Greeting cards 1
Indians of North America 1
Kwanzaa 1
Love-letters 1
Marriage records 1
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Music--19th century. 1
Music--Virginia--19th century. 1
Pearl Harbor (Hawaii), Attack on, 1941 1
Plantation life--Virginia 1
Plays (document genre) 1
Political cartoons 1
Postcards 1
Pregnancy 1
Race awareness--Simulation methods 1
Race discrimination--Simulation methods 1
Race relations--1960-1970 1
Race relations--United States--History--19th century 1
Race relations--United States--History--20th century 1
Report cards 1
Reports 1
Reprints 1
Role playing 1
Satires (document genre) 1
Scores 1
Scrapbooks 1
Segregation--United States--1940-1950 1
Soldiers--1940-1950 1
Soldiers--American--1940-1950 1
Soldiers--Recreation 1
Soldiers--Training of--United States--History--20th century 1
Soldiers--United States--Correspondence 1
Soldiers--United States--Social life and customs--20th century 1
Songbooks 1
Sound Recordings 1
Stereoscopic photographs 1
Students--Women--Admission in 1918 1
∧ less
 
Language
German 2
French 1
Portuguese 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
American Austrian Foundation 1
Atlantic Institute of Foreign Affairs 1
Beasley, George Alfred 1
Caywood, James W., 1923-1995 1