Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 11 - 20 of 24

Jesse Figula Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01399
Content Description

Series of letters addressed to Jesse Figula A private in the Army who was stationed at the Panama Canal Zone, from various individuals dated 1933-1945. Two of the authors are his brothers, Bill and George, who also join the armed forces during World War, II. Louie, another brother who is serving in the US Navy, also writes to Jesse. In one letter dated 1937, Bill describes a Union strike at the steel mill in their town.

Junior to Parents Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01505
Scope and Contents

Letter from son to parents about life in the army in Germany. Mentions looting and keeping German pistols and swords.

Letters to Craig

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01496
Scope and Contents

Letters from friends Joe, Margie, Jean, and Sue asking about life in the army. Mentions life in high school, work experiences, and asks when Craig is coming home.

Levin to Mattie Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01500
Scope and Contents

Letter about how Mattie's card and gift arrived for Levin in France well in time for Christmas.

Ellis D. Lovern Letters

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MS 00226
Content Description Letters include one photograph, two ration books, seven V-Mail cards, two War Department postcards, a Roanoke, Virginia newspaper, a greeting card, and several handwritten letters. Letters are primarily written by Ellis David Lovern, Jr to his wife Ruby and daughter Nancy. Lovern served with the U.S. Army during World War II. His letters are sent from “somewhere in” Tennessee, England, Germany, and Belgium. Lovern frequently signs his name as “Elmer.” He addresses his wife’s concern about...

Nancy Kessler Letters to Louis Kessler

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01401
Content Description

Series of letters from Nancy Kessler to her husband, Louis, while he served in the United States Navy as a quartermaster and was stationed in Norfolk, Virginia from 1944-1945.

Patrick Arnold Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01400
Content Description

Series of letters addressed to Patrick Arnold from family and friends while stationed on the USS Bronson (DD-668) out of Charleston, South Carolina, the USS Howorth (DD-592), and at the Naval Recruiting Station in Washington, D.C. from 1944-1949.

Paul A. Carpenter Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00228
Content Description The Paul A. Carpenter Letters consists of incoming correspondence and Vmail from family and friends. The letters date from 1942-1945, with the bulk written in 1945. Much of the content discusses the home front: the change of seasons, canning berries and peas, poetry, movies, and new novels such as “Forever Amber”. Paul Carpenter’s parents, J.E. and Albina Carpenter, sent local newspaper clippings with their letters, sharing news of other Kenton, Ohio soldiers and sailors and announcements...

William Preston Letters to Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Bennett

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MS 00227
Content Description Correspondence from William (Billy) Preston to his sister and brother-in-law, Ruth and Ralph Bennett, primarily mailed during World War II (1940-1945) with a few letters sent from 1946-1960. The collection includes 120 handwritten and typed letters and postcards; black and white photographs; a Western Union telegram; and newspaper clippings. It is arranged chronologically. The correspondence is detailed and legible, with description of U.S. Army experience in North America (training, duties,...

John A. Sabenski Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01512
Scope and Contents

Letters to Nettie about life in the army in Europe. Mentions Red Cross Christmas entertainment.

Filtered By

  • Subject: World War, 1939-1945 X
  • Names: Gary Alonzo Barranger X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
World War, 1939-1945 23
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 5
Christmas Activities 2
World War, 1939-1945--Women 2
Arizona--Description and travel 1
∨ more  
Names
United States. Army. 3
United States Navy 2
Aeschleman, Leonard R. 1
Armstrong, Norm A. 1
Arnett, Frank P. 1