Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 11 - 18 of 18

John Tuthill Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.03
Scope and Contents Papers of John Wills Tuthill, a United States 20th century diplomat. The collection includes papers from Tuthill's years as a student and professor, his State Department career, his private career with international organizations and his retirement years.  He held many positions within the State Department, mostly in Germany and Europe, with his final posting as Ambassador to Brazil. As a private citizen, he was Director of the Atlantic Institute, President of the Salzburg Seminar, and...

Anna Koch to Erich Koch Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01324
Scope and Contents

Letter, 3 December 1946, from Anna Koch, Frankfurt a.M., Germany, to her son Erich Koch,  a prisoner of war (ISN31G, 130194 MI). Anna believed Erich to be kept in Camp Patrick Henry in Newport News. At the time of the letter she had not heard from her son since August 1944.

She mentions that Erich was promoted to train inspector during his absence, is relieved that he was never a member of a political party and gives him news on relatives.

Memorial Cards (Germany)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01130
Scope and Contents

Included are 10 memorial or death cards for fallen soldiers of Nazi Germany's troops. The cards differ slightly in layout, but all contain a portrait style image of the soldier, his military rank, birth and death date, and where and how the death occured. Some give more detail than others. On the verso are either prayers or religious images.

Racial and Ethnic Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss 1.05
Scope and Contents The racial and ethnic ephemera collection contains various materials regarding race, ethnicity, and racism in the United States. The collection includes papers and items that promote racial prejudice and propaganda. The collection also contains items and papers that exemplify the fight for civil and equal rights. African Americans are the most broadly represented group in the collection. Other ethnic groups include Native Americans, Asian Americans, Jewish Americans, Muslim Americans, and...

Matilda Sapieha-Kodenski Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01193
Scope and Contents Acc. 2007.77 consist of thirteen letters, 1942-1944, written by Polish-Lithuanian Princess Matilda Bornemisza de Kaszon Sapieha-Kodenski (b. 1894) while residing in the United States during the World War II period. Her outgoing correspondence written from Pennsylvania and Florida document the perspective of a Polish American during the wartime period. Her letters express explicit anti-Semitic views, distaste for Bolshevism, Nazism, the fate of Poland, the lack of Allied help given to Poland,...

Karl Stiehl Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00056
Scope and Contents Letter, 1945 June 22, from Lt. Karl Stiehl, stationed at an unspecified location in Russia, to his wife, Irmtraud Stiehl, in Eutin, Germany. Stiehl thanks his wife for her letters and the newpapers she sent, and mentions that all he has been able to do since arriving at his post is "shooting and sleeping" though he also mentions that his troop finally managed to finish building a bunker. Says that they worked by night since that was the only time they could safely move around in an upright...

Tom Sunkiskis World War II Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00109
Scope and Contents This artificial collection of World War II era correspondence spans 1935 and 1939-1945. The letters are primarily from soldiers serving in the US Armed Forces, but also a few letters written by American civilians living in the USA during this period. One folder contains 33 letters from various German soldiers, written to Marie Luise Matsko of Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany (written in German). C collected by Tom Sunkiskis, this two-box collection contains correspondence from a variety of authors...

Xpucma Kyzuk Diary, Denmark

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00057
Scope and Contents

Diary from World War II written by Xpucma Kyzuk, a German living in occupied Denmark.  The diary begins in 1944 and ends 1956.  Some passages are in English but most are written in German, French, English, and possibly Finnish.

Filtered By

  • Subject: World War, 1939-1945 X
  • Language: German X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
World War, 1939-1945 6
Correspondence 4
Letters (correspondence) 4
Photographs 4
World War, 1939-1945--Germany 3
∨ more
World War, 1939-1945--Prisoners of War 3
Antisemitism 2
Auschwitz (Concentration camp) 2
Concentration camp inmates 2
Dachau (Concentration camp) 2
Gusen (Concentration camp) 2
Pamphlets 2
Reports 2
World War, 1939-1945--Atrocities 2
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 2
Advertising cards 1
African Americans 1
African Americans in popular culture 1
African Americans in the performing arts 1
African Americans--Biography 1
African Americans--Caricatures and cartoons 1
African Americans--Education--Virginia 1
African Americans--History 1
African Americans--Suffrage 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Aircraft accidents 1
Ambassadors--United States--20th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
Americans, abroad 1
Americans--Italy 1
Birthday cards 1
Blaxploitation films -- United States 1
Board games (activities) 1
Board games (game sets) 1
Brazil--Description and travel 1
Brazil--History--1930-1954 1
Brazil--Politics and government--1930-1954 1
Bulletins 1
Calendars 1
Camp Patrick Henry (Va.) 1
Card games (game sets) 1
Chinese Americans--Caricatures and cartoons 1
Chinese Americans--Legal status, laws, etc.--History 1
Christmas cards 1
Civil rights--United States--History--20th century 1
Collecting cards 1
Comic strips 1
Communism--United States 1
Cuban Americans--Public opinion. 1
Emigration and immigration--20th century 1
European Economic Community 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Germany--Economic conditions--1945-1955 1
Germany--History--Allied occupation, 1945- 1
Greeting cards 1
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) 1
Indians of North America 1
Italy--Social life and customs--1914-1945 1
Kwanzaa 1
Law--Study and teaching--Virginia--History 1
Mauthausen (Concentration camp) 1
Medals 1
Motion pictures (visual work) 1
Nuremberg War Crime Trials, Nuremberg, Germany, 1946-1949 1
Plays (document genre) 1
Poland--History--20th century 1
Political cartoons 1
Postcards 1
Propaganda, German--History--20th century 1
Race awareness--Simulation methods 1
Race discrimination--Simulation methods 1
Race relations--1960-1970 1
Race relations--United States--History--19th century 1
Race relations--United States--History--20th century 1
Ravensbrück (Concentration camp) 1
Reprints 1
Role playing 1
Satires (document genre) 1
Scrapbooks 1
Sheet music 1
Soldiers--Germany--Correspondence 1
Songbooks 1
Sound Recordings 1
Stereoscopic photographs 1
Teenage girls--Diaries 1
United States--Commerce--Europe 1
United States--Foreign relations 1
United States. Foreign Service 1
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 1
VHS (TM) 1
War crimes--Germany. 1
Welfare recipients--Public opinion 1
Welfare--Caricatures and cartoons 1
Women--Diaries 1
World War, 1914-1918 1
World War, 1914-1918 -- Campaigns -- Germany 1
World War, 1914-1918 -- Campaigns -- Western Front 1
World War, 1914-1918 -- France -- Pictorial works 1
World War, 1914-1918 -- Russia -- Pictorial works 1
∧ less
 
Language
English 8
French 3
Finnish 1
Portuguese 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
Bund Deutscher Mädel 2
Adelman, Ilse 1
American Austrian Foundation 1
Atlantic Institute of Foreign Affairs 1
Carpenter, Gary P. 1