Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

Lane Carlson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00004
Scope and Contents Papers, 1937-1972, of Colonel Bonnie "Lane" Carlson, originally from Scotts Bluff, Nebraska. Colonel Lane Carlson was one of the first five female colonels in the United States Army. Primarily includes letters written to and from her parents throughout her life, beginning with her time at Sullins College in Bristol, Virginia, various military bases, postwar Japan and West Germany. Some of the topics discussed in the letters include base life during the war, the experience of a commissioned...

Frances G. Hoppin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00121
Scope and Contents The papers, 1917-1918 of Frances G. Hoppin who opened the Red Cross Grenelle Dispensary in Paris, France in 1917, which was one of about 30 civilian dispensaries administered by the Red Cross in Paris at that time. This accession consists of both personal papers and records relating to the dispensary. Included are two journals in which Frances Hoppin recorded both her personal experiences as well as business items relating to the dispensary.  Also included is a 3-page report on...

Mozelle DeVonne McNeil Papers, circa 1940-1960

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.594
Scope and Contents

Papers, circa 1940s-1960s, of Mozelle DeVonne McNeil, includes correspondence, photographs, diaries, educational records, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other ephemera. These papers represent a view of everyday life in mid-twentieth century America from the perspective of a soldier's wife.

Lynne O'Neill Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00186
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1955-1975, of Lynne O'Neill, a stripper and burlesque dancer. Includes correspondence, notes, newspaper clippings and printed material. There is also a diary containing what seems to be the first seven pages of a draft of a book that O'Neill was writing; it includes her opinion on salaries and the death of a performer named Eve Addams. The notes include a list of incidents, including her near rape, and a list of questions that she may have wanted to address in her book.

Maude M. Presslor Papers, 1913-1972

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.593
Scope and Contents This collection contains the diaries, correspondence, and biographic material of Maude M. (Mathas) Presslor (1898-1972) of Montezuma, Indiana from 1913-1970. Earlier papers and material relate to Presslor's life as a teenager and young adult during the World War I period. Letters from friends serving in France and a baby book detailing the early years of her three children, Betty Jean (Presslor) Montgomery, Frank Richard Presslor, and David Lowell Presslor, date from this period. Later...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Women--Diaries X
  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Clippings (information artifacts) X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Photographs 4
Correspondence 3
Greeting cards 2
Letters (correspondence) 2
World War, 1939-1945--Women--United States 2