Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 7 of 7

B. Davenport & Co. Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame20
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1841-1861, of B. Davenport & Co., merchants, of Williamsburg, Va. which includes accounts, 1860, with the College of William and Mary and which was used as a scrapbook, 1892-1905, for newspaper clippings of poems and articles; Christmas cards; valentines; advertisements; cigarette cards; and seed catalog covers.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Richard Manning Bucktrout Daybook and Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.15
Scope and Contents The following description is from the preface to the digital version of the book and was written by Terry Meyers. Daybook; 1850-1866; of Richard M. Bucktrout, merchant and mortician at Williamsburg, Va. Richard Manning Bucktrout's meticulous entries in his Daybook and Ledger form a diary, a detailed account of daily life and death in a small, but historically important, Virginia town for sixteen years before, during, and briefly after the Civil War....
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Eastern Lunatic Asylum Ledgers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.244
Scope and Contents 12 Ledgers from the Eastern Lunatic Asylum in Williamsburg, Virginia recording purchases of food items, kitchen items, tools, clothing and other items for the hospital. Classified Receipts: August 31, 1892 to February 28, 1899. Ledger book listing 3 months of daily receipts on each page, 9 pages of items per quarter ranging from bacon to furniture sets. Consolidated Morning Report Book: March 1, 1876 to May 7, 1877. Daily record of the...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henley Jones Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00187
Scope and Contents Contains ledgers, 1857-1901, of Henley T. Jones, Jr., of Williamsburg, Virginia. Henley Jones operated a drug store in Williamsburg, and the ledgers contain the records of his business, including the name of the patron, what the purchased, and the price, from 1873 to 1878. Includes records of Jones' business with Eastern State Hospital, then called Eastern Lunatic Asylum. There is also records of Jones' dealing with African American customers. Also includes the settlement of the estate,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Sheldon Business Papers and Accounts

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Sh4
Scope and Contents Papers, 1826-1857, (including accounts and memorandum books) of various mercantile firms with which Jacob D. Sheldon was associated in Williamsburg, Virginia, such as Jacob Sheldon & Co.; Cole & Sheldon; Sheldon & Maupin; Peachy & Sheldon; Thomas G. Peachy & Co.; and W. W. Webb & Co. Also includes papers of Jacob C. Sheldon and of Roscow Cole. The collection includes accounts with professors and students and staff at William & Mary; with Eastern State Hospital;...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Vest and Hansford Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame120 Oversize
Scope and Contents

A business ledger kept from 1859-1861 by William W. Vest and Richard Hansford, merchants operating in Williamsburg, Virginia. Entries show Vest and Hansford's business dealings with the College of William & Mary and the Public Hospital.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg (Va.) Merchant's Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame20u Oversize
Scope and Contents

An account book of an unknown merchant in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century X
  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X
  • Subject: Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Account books 3
Ledgers (Accounting) 3
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 3
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 2
∨ more
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Accounts 1
African Americans--Medical care--Virginia 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg--History 1
Christmas cards 1
Daybooks 1
Financial records 1
Index Cards 1
Journals (accounts) 1
Mental illness--Treatment--History 1
Mental illness--Treatment--United States 1
Mental illness--United States 1
Morticians 1
Pharmacists--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Psychiatric hospitals--Virginia 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Scrapbooks 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Transcripts 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 1
Williamsburg, Battle of, Williamsburg, Va., 1862 1
∧ less
 
Names
Eastern Lunatic Asylum (Va.) 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 1
Sheldon, Jacob D. 1