Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 13

Charles H. Bell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B41
Scope and Contents The collection includes the correspondence, certificates, photographs, accounts, and journals of Rear Admiral Charles H. Bell. Naval journals cover Bell's service in the Mediterranean Sea from 1855-1858. The photographs are a mix of personal and souvenirs, which largely depict men and women from Peru. There is also material related to his role as executor for the estate of Samuel Swartwout. The collection also includes papers related to the Smith family, particularly Bell's executor and...

Galt Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G13
Scope and Contents Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....

Galt Papers (II)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G13 (II)
Scope and Contents Papers, 1840-1862, of John M. Galt II concerning his work at the Eastern State Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes correspondence, reports, clinical notes, medical diaries, financial papers, and printed material. Two scrapbooks of newspaper clippings were added to the collection in 2011 and are in Box 17. The subject matter is mental health with topics such as insanity, murder, suicide and criminal behavior.  Some clippings are about Eastern State Hospital (Virginia...

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...

Helen Jones Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 C15
Scope and Contents Papers; 1936-1973; of author and Yorktown, Va. resident Helen J. Campbell (1894-1979). Includes photographs, notes, correspondence, clippings, photostats, and manuscript versions of short stories, essays, articles, and books. Her papers concern Yorktown and York County, Va., such as Yorktown National Park, Coleman Bridge, Bruton Parish, the Syms & Eaton School, and other local interest topics. Material also relates to Abraham Lincoln's assassination surrounding Mary E. J. Surratt, John...

Mildred Jackson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2000.67
Scope and Contents

Papers of Mildred Jackson of Williamsburg, Virginia. She was a private piano instructor in Williamsburg, a performer with the William and Mary Music Department, and the wife of Dr. Jess Jackson, a professor of English at William and Mary. Includes lesson plans, music books, financial records, correspondence, newspaper articles, photographs, programs, and address books.

Lee Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children.  An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...

Lewis Peyton Little Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 L72
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1918-1936, of Lewis Peyton Little, a Baptist minister in Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes correspondence and notes concerning his duties as a chaplain in World War I and the writing of his books. There are drafts of his "Imprisoned Preachers and Religious Liberty in Virginia" (Lynchburg, Virginia., J.P. Bell Co., 1938) and of an unpublished work entitled "The Battle of Bethel".

J. Randolph Ruffin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1998.58
Scope and Contents

Papers of J. Randolph Ruffin. Newspaper clippings, brochures, drafts of speeches, correspondence about Virginia history, the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, and tours directed by J. Randolph Ruffin, Director of Special Events for the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Accessions 1998.58 and 1999.22 WHRA.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X
  • Subject: Notebooks X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Notebooks 11
Photographs 8
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 8
Scrapbooks 6
Financial records 5
∨ more
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Diaries 4
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 4
Newspapers 4
Certificates 3
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Manuscripts (document genre) 3
Minutes 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 3
World War, 1914-1918 3
Account books 2
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 2
Jamestown Festival (1957) 2
Laboratory notebooks 2
Legal documents 2
Mental illness--Treatment--History 2
Mentally ill--Care 2
Pamphlets 2
Poems 2
Programs 2
Publications 2
Reports 2
Speeches 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 2
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Address books 1
African Americans--Medical care--Virginia 1
African Americans--Medical care--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
Birthday cards 1
Broadsides 1
Buildings and Grounds--Lake Matoaka Ampitheatre 1
Chaplains, Hospital. 1
Chaplains, Military--United States--20th century 1
Christmas cards 1
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
College theater--United States 1
Daybooks 1
Diplomas 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Essays 1
Europe--Description and travel 1
Genealogy 1
Gradebooks 1
Greeting cards 1
Invitations 1
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jamestown 350th Anniversary 1
Lecture notes 1
Letter books 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Membership lists 1
Mental illness--Treatment--United States 1
Mental illness--United States 1
Music--Instruction and study--United States 1
Negatives 1
Norge (Va.)--History 1
Oral histories 1
Ordinance 1
Pen drawing--19th century. 1
Photostats 1
Plays (document genre) 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Scripts (documents) 1
Slides (photographs) 1
Speeches, addresses, etc. 1
Student Plays 1
Syms & Eaton School 1
Theater 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
United States. Navy--History--19th century 1
Virginia--Description and travel 1
Virginia--History--20th century 1
Virginia--Religious history 1
Visitors to Campus--Queen Elizabeth II (1957) 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Planning Commission 1
∧ less
 
Language
German 1
 
Names
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 4
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 3
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
∨ more
Galt family 2
Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 2
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
Bell, Charles Heyer, 1798-1875 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Camp Peary (Va.) 1
Close, Glenn, 1947- 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
College of William and Mary. School of Education 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
Eastern Lunatic Asylum (Va.) 1
Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 1
Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 1
Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 1
Galt, Rogers Harrison 1
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Hall, Channing Moore, III 1
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 1
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 1
Jamestown Corporation 1
Lavin, Linda, 1937- 1
Lee Family 1
Lee family 1
Lee, Edward Myers 1
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 1
Lee, Peticolas, 1904- 1
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 1
Little, Lewis Peyton 1
Long, William Ivey 1
Newport News Women's Club (Va.) 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 1
Powell, William Devens 1
Ruffin, J. Randolph 1
Scammon, Howard, 1911-1999 1
Smith, Israel, Jr 1
Surratt family 1
Swartout, Samuel, 1804-1867 1
United Daughters of the Confederacy 1
United Daughters of the Confederacy, Williamsburg (Va.) Chapter 1
United Daughters of the Confederacy, Williamsburg Chapter 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
Verkuil, Paul R 1
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 1
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 1
Ward, Archibald Floyd, Jr., 1912-2000 1
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Players (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Woman's Club of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
∧ less