Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4

Charles Page Bryan Autograph Album

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Auto3
Scope and Contents

Autograph album and guest book, 1892-1897, of [Charles Page Bryan, diplomat], containing autographs, poems, and sketches by visitors to "Byrd's Nest," Elmhurst [Chicago, Ill.] and by visitors, 1913-1917, to his home in Washington, D. C. The volume also contains photographs.

Diaries (Washington, D.C. and Va.)

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2010.003
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1925 and 1928 of an unidentified Southern Railway employee, who worked in a Washington, D.C. office.  Entries cover family, health, social life, weather, food, work, and trips in and around Washington D.C., Maryland and Virginia.  The writer was a member of the Brotherhood of American Railway Engineers. Some of the entries are rather detailed and give a good impression of the daily life of a mid-level office employee at the time. Also included are notes made by a...

Harry Turner Lewis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2015.077
Scope and Contents This collection consists of diaries and memorandum books that belonged to Harry Turner Lewis, who served as a captain in the United States Army during World War I, and later became the national Vice-Commander of the Disabled Emergency Officers of the World War. There are 22 diaries in the collection, and they document the years 1906-1907, 1920-1922, 1924-1927, 1929, and 1931-1942. The diaries feature numerous descriptions of Lewis' dealings in Washington, D.C. as he lobbied for injured...

Warner Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.251
Scope and Contents Diaries, accounts and address book of Anna P. (Anne) Warner (b. 1876) of Washington D.C.  and Rebecca P. (Bess) Warner, sisters of Washington, D.C.  The sisters came from a well-off family and traveled extensively in Europe. They remained single and shared an apartment.  It has not been determined if one of the two 1899 diaries and the address book were kept by one of the sisters or by another family member. Most of the diaries contain detailed entries on their travels abroad,...