Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4

Booton-Modesitt Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.570
Scope and Contents Papers of the Modesitt-Booton families of Luray, Virginia. The bulk of the collection consists of papers relating to Lucy Marye of Luray, Virginia who married James Modesitt in 1815. She was widowed in 1827 and remarried James Booton in 1830. Lucy was born to Peter and Eleanor Marye and was sister to William Staige Marye, who is considered one of the founders of Luray, Virginia Also included are letters by John Booton and others relating to slavery and politics, children's copy books,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charles Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C17
Scope and Contents The Charles Campbell papers consist of papers received or collected by Charles Campbell (1807-1876), Virginia historian. The papers fall into four general headings: historical papers collected by Charles Campbell, correspondence, manuscript volumes, and miscellaneous. These include personal and professional correspondence as well as eighteenth century documents collected by Charles Campbell, newspaper clippings, diaries, scrapbooks, and notebooks, covering then period 1743-1896. The papers...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Handbill (King George County, Va.)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00174
Scope and Contents

Published handbill by H.T. Garnett, Jr. "calling out" to B.W. Mason and T.B. Baber to fight it out.  Includes text of notice posted by T.B. Baber asking B.W. Mason if he had indeed made an "exhibition" of the confidential letters that Baber's sister had written and calling Mason an "Infamous Scoundrel and Poltroon."  Includes text of B.W. Mason's reply.  King George County, Virginia, June 18,1847.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John W. Lewis and Lewis P. Olds Papers, 1808-1902

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.022
Scope and Contents Collection consists of the papers of three Southerners, dating predominantly from the 19th century. John W. Lewis lived in Virginia, Mississippi, and North Carolina and the portion of the collection from this Methodist minister and farmer includes references to religion including sermons, farming, and slavery. Lewis P. Olds was a North Carolina lawyer and politician and the collection includes evidence of his career as well as poetry and short stories he wrote. The remainder of the...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century X
  • Subject: Broadsides X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Account books 2
Correspondence 2
Poems 2
Catalogs 1
College of William and Mary--History 1
∨ more
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Diaries 1
Education--Study and teaching 1
Education--Virginia--History 1
Exercise books 1
Financial records 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Invitations 1
Invoices 1
King George County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Luray (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
North Carolina--History--19th century--Sources 1
North Carolina--Social life and customs--19th century 1
Pamphlets 1
Petersburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Photographs 1
Presidents--United States--Election--1848 1
Railroads--Virginia--History 1
Recipes 1
Scrapbooks 1
Sermons 1
Slavery--North Carolina--History 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Slaves--Virginia--Correspondence 1
Slaves--Virginia--Social conditions 1
Textbooks 1
Typescripts 1
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 1
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
United States--Slavery 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--History--19th century--Sources 1
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
Virginia--Maps 1
Virginia--Politics and Government 1
∧ less
 
Names
Anderson Seminary 1
Baber, T.B. 1
Booton, Lucy Mary Modesitt 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Charles, 1807-1876 1
∨ more
Carter, Mary B. 1
Cryer, William 1
Farmer's Register 1
Garnett, H. T., Jr. 1
Latting, Sally 1
Lewis, John W., [1808]-1885 1
Mason, B.W. 1
Maxwell, William, 1784-1857 1
Moore family 1
New York Weekly Journal of Commerce 1
Olds, Lewis P. 1
Petersburg Index (Va.) 1
Richmond Enquirer 1
Southern Literary Messenger 1
Virginia Historical Society 1
∧ less