Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 19

Blow Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B63
Scope and Contents Papers, 1770-1875, of the Blow family of "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and of the Waller family. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Philip Barraud, John Hartwell Cocke, Henry Lee and Edmund Ruffin. Most of these accessions were integrated as the collection was partially processed, but some are boxed separately. Includes a Blow family scrapbook containing many manuscript items. Collection includes: correspondence of Richard Blow (1746-1833), merchant, who had...

Francis Taliaferro Brooke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01071
Scope and Contents Appointment, 15 February 1796, of Francis T. Brooke to major of a battalion of cavalry annexed to the second division of the Virgina militia (signed by Robert Brooke); and appointment, 14 January 1804, of Brooke as judge of the General Court of Virginia.

2 items.

John Brown Letter to James Brown

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.134
Scope and Contents One letter from John Brown of Philadelphia to his brother, James Brown. The letter concerns life in the military. Brown describes the conduct of Benjamin Logan, Colonel of the Kentucky County, Virginia militia, the sale of Brown's property on Potts Creek in Virginia, and the possible resignation of General Arthur St. Clair from the army.

Captain James Charlton's Infantry Order Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01228
Scope and Contents Dealer Description: Orderly Book from Captain James Charlton's Company, 12th United States Infantry, during the War of 1812.  Records muster rolls, returns, morning reports in one section and  regimental, brigade and divisional general orders in another section. Capt. Charlton's company was recruited primarily from the back county of Virginia (43 soldiers), Pennsylvania (6), Maryland (4), and North Carolina (11).  Against the name of each soldier is recorded his home...

Henry Denison Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F. Cole...

Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...

Walter Jones Letter to the Governor of Virginia

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00535
Scope and Contents Walter Jones to the Governor of Virginia [?William H. Cabell] recommending  his friend, [?] Taylor to be appointed to the command of a regiment of dragoons, a position vacated by Larkin Smith.  November 23, 1807.  Includes a newspaper clipping with biographical information on Walter Jones.

Philip Lightfoot Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L62
Scope and Contents Note to researchers: Due to the fragile condition of the originals, this collection has to be used in microfilm format;[ CS71 .l718, available in the open stacks and by ILL]. Papers of Philip Lightfoot of Culpeper County, Virginia including his commissions as lieutenant in the Second Battalion, 5th Regiment, Virginia militia and as captain in the 8th U. S. Infantry Regiment and papers relating to his service in the U. S. Army including records of a recruiting party, enlistment pledges, muster...

Alexander McRae Commission for Robert H. Warburton

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00550
Scope and Contents Appointment, 1808 December 27, of Robert H. Warburton as Captain of the 68th Regiment, 2nd Brigade, 4th Division of the Virginia militia. Signed by Lt. Gov. Alexander McRae.

Myers-Burrage-Graham Papers (I) Group A

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 98 M99 Group A
Scope and Contents Group A;  Papers of Moses Myers, and his sons Samuel Myers (1790-1829) lawyer in Norfolk and Pensacola, Fla. and John Myers (1787-1830) merchant of Norfolk. Includes papers of Barton Myers (1853-1927), mayor of Norfolk, Va. and his family.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--Militia X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 2
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 2
Virginia. General Court 2
Badgley, John 1
∨ more
Baker family 1
Barber, Levi 1
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 1
Billups, Richard 1
Blow family 1
Brown, John, 1757-1837 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Call, Daniel, 1765 (ca.)-1840 1
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 1
Cole Family 1
Cole, Henry Denison, 1856-1938 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
Doddridge, Philip, 1773-1832 1
Ewell family 1
Ewell, Elizabeth S., 1814- 1
Infant Sanitarium (Virginia Beach, Virginia) 1
Johnson, Chapman, 1779-1849 1
Logan, Benjamin, 1743-1802 1
Madison, James, 1749-1812 1
McRae, Alexander 1
Morgan family 1
Myers family 1
Myers, Barton, 1853-1927 1
Myers, Kate Baldwin 1
Myers, Moses, 1752-1835 1
Myers, R. Baldwin, 1883- 1
Office of the President 1
Preston Family 1
Preston family 1
Preston, Francis 1
Preston, Francis, 1765-1836 1
Preston, John, 1764-1827 1
Preston, William 1
Preston, William, ca. 1729-1783 1
Roberts, William Thomas 1
Rockefeller, Abby Greene Aldrich 1
Rockefeller, John D. (John Davison), 1874-1960 1
Rockefeller, Jr., John D. (Davison), 1874-1960 1
Ruggles, Benjamin, 1783-1857 1
Sheffey, Daniel, 1770-1830 1
Smith, Larkin 1
Taverner, John 1
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
United States. Army. Infantry Regiment, 12th 1
Virginia House of Delegates 1
Virginia. Militia. 68th Regiment 1
Waller family 1
Warburton, Robert H 1
Washington, Booker T., 1856-1915 1
Wilson, Edgar Campbell, 1800-1860 1
Wilson, George Washington, b. 1807 1
Wilson, Thomas, 1765-1826 1
Woods, Archibald, 1764-1846 1
∧ less