Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 7 of 7

Civil War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...

Charles H. Dimmock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 D59
Scope and Contents Papers, 1826-1872, of Charles Dimmock and Charles Henry Dimmock. Includes sketch of the life of Charles H. Dimmock; a manuscript volume containing a journal of a voyage from Norfolk to Madeira and farm journal of "Shabby Hall," Gloucester County, Va.; travel diary, 1826, of Charles Dimmock concerning travels in Venice and Germany; and papers concerning the service of Charles Henry Dimmock in the engineer's corps in the Confederate Army, some of which include work at Yorktown, Va. and having...

Nicolson Family Ledgers and Journals

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 N52, 76 N52 and 93 N52
Scope and Contents Collection contains account journals, some papers and other items of James M. Nicolson, a general merchant in Gloucester County, Virginia (1802-1869), an account book kept by Nicolson and Capt. John L. Hibble as Assistant Quarter Masters of the 26th Virginia Regiment, 1861-1864 (discusses slaves labors); a letter book of H. Yeatman & Co., merchants of Gloucester Court House, 1869-1870, which also contains some of Nicolson's correspondence; and ledger accounts, 1892-1899, for farming at...

Taliaferro Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.609
Scope and Contents

Correspondence, financial, legal and other written material of the John P. Taliaferro Family and Richard P. Taliaferro Family of Gloucester and Ware Neck, Virginia. Richard P. Taliaferro was the son of John P. Taliaferro. Genealogical material on the Fox, Oliver and Read family included. Includes a 1857 letter from a servant, possibly a slave, asking for her "mistress" to bring Patsy for a visit and a 1856 list of hired out slaves.

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...

Virginia Counties Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents

Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.

William E. Wiatt Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap39
Scope and Contents

Account book of William E. Wiatt kept in Gloucester and Mathews counties, Virginia containing accounts, 1861-1874. Includes a record of books lent to soldiers of the 26th Virginia Infantry Regiment August 1862-September 1863 and of marriages, 1856-1881, performed by Wiatt mostly in King and Queen, Gloucester and Mathews counties. There is a list, 1869-1870, of students in his school in Gloucester County and his accounts indicate that he also worked as a land surveyor.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: Gloucester County (Va.)--History X
  • Language: English X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 6
Correspondence 4
Receipts (financial records) 4
Account books 3
Financial records 3
∨ more
Photographs 3
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Virginia--Maps 3
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 26th 2
Diaries 2
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 2
Ledgers (Accounting) 2
Legal documents 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Maps 2
Programs 2
Slave labor 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 2
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
Accounts 1
Advertising cards 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History 1
Amelia County (Va.)--History 1
Amherst County (Va.)--History 1
Anti-slavery movements 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Bedford County (Va.)--History 1
Berkeley County (W.Va.)--History 1
Bible records 1
Blackwater, Battle of, 1863 1
Booklets 1
Botetourt County (Va.)--History 1
Broadsides 1
Brunswick County (Va.)--History 1
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 1
Camp Allen (Jamestown Island, Va.) 1
Campbell County (Va.)--History 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History 1
Catalogs 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History 1
Chesterfield County (Va.)--History 1
Church records and registers--Virginia 1
Circulars (fliers) 1
Clarke County (Va.)--History 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Engineer's Corps 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 1
Criss Cross House (New Kent County, Va.) 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History 1
Daybooks 1
Deeds 1
Deeds--Virginia 1
Dinwiddie County (Va.)--History 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Dunmore County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Education--Virginia--Gloucester County--History 1
Education--Virginia--History 1
Elizabeth City County (Va.)--History 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History 1
Fairfax County (Va.)--History 1
Farm management--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History 1
Fayette County (W. Va.)--History 1
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History 1
Franklin County (Va.)--History 1
Frederick County (Va.)--History 1
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 1
Genealogy 1
General stores--Virginia 1
Germany--Description and travel--19th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Merchants 1
Goochland County (Va.)--History 1
Grain--Milling--Virginia 1
Greenbrier County (Va.)--History 1
Halifax County (Va.)--History 1
Hampton (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Hanover County (Va.)--History 1
Hardy County (W.Va.)--History 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Harrison County (W. Va.)--History 1
Henrico County (Va.)--History 1
Indians of North America--Virginia 1
Isle of Wight County (Va.)--History 1
Italy--Description and travel--19th century 1
∧ less
 
Names
Taliaferro family 2
Taliaferro family. 2
Booth family 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
Dimmock, Charles H. (Charles Henry), 1831-1873 1