Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 151 - 160 of 718

Curtis, Jones & Co. Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame19 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1837-1844, of Curtis, Jones & Co., merchants, Gloucester Court House, Va.

George Washington Parke Custis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C96
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1832-1856, of George Washington Parke Custis of "Arlington." The collection is mostly letters written to Francis Nelson, his farm manager at "White House," New Kent County, Virginia concerning growing and marketing crops, agricultural improvements, the effect of the proposed Richmond and York River Railroad on the plantation, and Robert E. Lee. There are a few additional letters to Nelson from merchants and railroad officials, and photostats of 2 additional Custis letters.

George K. Dakin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00243
Scope and Contents

The papers of George K. Dakin concern his service in the Richmond, Virginia area during the Civil War. Dakin served in voluntary military service in the 1st New Hampshire Battery, from Manchester, New Hampshire, during the Civil War. The collection contains several Muster Rolls (in and out), certificates of promotions, official discharges, and a report written by Dakin's superior, F. M. Edgell, about certain operations of the 1st New Hampshire Battery.

Thomas R. Daley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1994.09
Scope and Contents Portfolio of correspondence to Thomas R. Daley of Porto Bello Farm, ca. 1914-1920. Business records. Letters written to and from Thomas R. Daley regarding land and property investments in Minnesota, Virginia and Florida. Includes property descriptions, business records,orders for shares in the Metropolitan Milk Company in Minneapolis, Minnesota and orders for farm materials. Thomas Daley's properties in Virginia included Porto Bello Farm, Bassetterre and property on Queen's Creek...

John Dalton Papers, circa 1978-1982

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1992.14
Scope and Contents

Unofficial gubernatorial papers of Virginia Governore John Dalton, including press releases, legislation material, and similar material.

Daniel Thomas Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad174-MsV Ad175
Scope and Contents

Account books, 1842-1876, of Rev. Daniel Thomas (a Dunkard minister) of Rockingham County, Virginia and his administrator. Includes agreement, 1850, to discontinue the carding of wool, prescriptions for the treatment of disease, letter written to the Gospel Visitor Church of the Brethren's failure to meet; the expenses of Spring Creek Mill; estate accounts; and account concerning the building of a house.

Darby-Parramore Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 D24
Scope and Contents

Papers, chiefly 1801-1868, of the Darby, Parramore and Higgins families of Accomack and Northampton counties, Va. Includes wills, epitaphs, letters, a list, n.d., of slaves, a certificate of dismissal, 1834, from the College of New Jersey (now Princeton University) and genealogical notes on the families.

David R. Everett Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00375
Content Description

Letter dated 1862 April 18 from Camp on Chessman's Creek addressed to his parents. Everett was in "I" company of the 7th New Jersey Volunteers, 3rd Brigade of Hooker's Division. He describes his unit's travel to Norfolk and then the Yorktown area and the anticipation of a hard battle with the Confederate troops who are assumed to be numerous and well fortified.

William and Thomas Dawson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Pst D32
Scope and Contents

Negative photostats of items from the correspondence of the Rev. William Dawson and the Rev. Thomas Dawson, both of whom were commissaries of the Church of England in Virginia and presidents of the College of William and Mary. Prominent correspondents include Patrick Henry, Samuel Davies, John Blair and Robert Dinwiddie.

Office of the Dean of the College Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 104
Scope and Contents Acc. 1979.031: This accession contains office files from 1920-1942. Acc. 1983.085: This accession contains office files from the 1940s and 1950s. These include reports of the Curriculum Committee, correspondence with the President and others, materials from the faculty protest of 1951, letters of faculty appointments and salaries, and selective service classifications of faculty members. Acc. 1998.091: Records of Kremer Jacob Hoke, 1920s-1930s. This accession contains...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 226
Account books 224
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 123
Financial records 114
Ledgers (Accounting) 76
∨ more
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 76
Legal documents 73
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 71
Receipts (financial records) 59
Photographs 58
Diaries 54
Journals (accounts) 44
Notebooks 44
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 36
Letters (correspondence) 33
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 33
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 33
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 32
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 32
Scrapbooks 31
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 26
Reports 26
Virginia--History 26
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 26
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 25
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 24
Minutes 23
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 21
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 20
Manuscripts (document genre) 20
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 20
Publications 20
Virginia--History--20th century 20
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 19
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 19
Practice of law--Virginia--History 19
Genealogy 18
Daybooks 17
Executors and administrators--Virginia--History--19th century 17
Speeches 17
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 16
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 16
Invoices 16
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 16
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 16
College of William and Mary--Students 15
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 15
Medical practice--Virginia--History 15
Merchants--Virginia--Rockingham County 15
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 15
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 15
Tobacco--Virginia--History--19th century 15
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 15
Virginia--Genealogy 15
Programs 14
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 13
Agendas (administrative records) 13
Education--Virginia--History 13
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 13
Lawyers--Virginia--History 13
United States--History--War of 1812 13
United States--Slavery 13
University of Virginia--History--19th century 13
Virginia--History--19th century 13
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 13
Women--Education--Virginia--History 13
Buckingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 12
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 12
Merchants--Virginia--History--20th century 12
Pamphlets 12
Poems 12
Virginia--Governors 12
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 12
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 11
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History--19th century 11
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 11
Newspapers 11
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 11
Typescripts 11
Virginia--History--18th century 11
Virginia--Religious history 11
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 10
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 10
Practice of law--Virginia--History--19th century 10
Slavery--Virginia--History 10
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 10
Surveys (documents) 10
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 10
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 10
Women--History--Virginia 10
Agriculture--Virginia--History 9
Clippings (information artifacts) 9
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 9
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 9
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 9
Medicine--Virginia--History--19th century 9
Merchants--Virginia--Augusta County 9
Merchants--Virginia--Fauquier County 9
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 9
Photostats 9
∧ less
 
Language
English 715
French 7
Latin 5
German 4
Dutch; Flemish 1
∨ more  
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 21
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 16
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 14
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 9
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 9
∨ more
College of William and Mary. 7
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 7
Virginia State Senate 6
College of William and Mary 5
Democratic Party (U.S.) 5
Gary Alonzo Barranger 5
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 5
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 5
Tyler Family 5
Virginia House of Delegates 5
Brown family 4
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 4
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 4
Galt, James, of Fluvanna County, 1805-1876 4
Henry, Patrick, 1736-1799 4
Madison, James, 1749-1812 4
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 4
Morton family 4
Perrin family 4
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 4
University of Virginia 4
Braxton family 3
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 3
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 3
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 3
Coalter family 3
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 3
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 3
College of William and Mary. School of Education 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Dunmore, John Murray, 4th Earl of, 1732-1809 3
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 3
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 3
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 3
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 3
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 3
Morton, Estelle 3
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 3
Preston Family 3
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 3
Tabb family 3
Taliaferro family 3
Tazewell, Littleton Waller, 1774-1860 3
Tucker family 3
Tyler, Sue Ruffin, 1889-1953 3
United States Congress 3
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 3
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 3
American Red Cross 2
Amherst, Jeffery Amherst, Baron, 1717-1797 2
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 2
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 2
Blair family 2
Blair, James, 1656-1743 2
Blair, James, 1741-1772 2
Blair, John, 1732-1800 2
Botetourt, Norborne Berkeley, Baron de, ca. 1718-1770 2
Brooke, Robert 2
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 2
Campbell family 2
Catlett family 2
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 2
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 2
Cocke Family 2
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 2
Cocke, John Hartwell, fl. 1857-1880 2
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 2
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 2
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 2
Dalton, John N. 2
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 2
Fauquier, Francis 2
French, Samuel Bassett, 1820-1898 2
Galt, James, 1805-1876 2
Garth family 2
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 2
Hart, John, 1860-1937 2
Holmes, George Frederick, 1820-1897 2
Hughes, Robert M. (Robert Morton), b. 1855 2
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 2
Loring, William Wing 2
Maury family 2
Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 2
Maxwell, William, 1784-1857 2
McAllister, J. T. (Joseph Thompson), 1866-1927 2
McCausland, John 2
Morton, Margaret H. 2
Myers, Gustavus Adophus, 1801-1869 2
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 2
Office of the President 2
Preston, Francis 2
Preston, John, 1764-1827 2
∧ less